We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Village Market" African Dishes Stall=Food Poisoning!”
Review of Village Market

Village Market
Ranked #44 of 566 Restaurants in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery
Neighborhood: Highridge
Nairobi
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“"Village Market" African Dishes Stall=Food Poisoning!”
Reviewed March 11, 2013

In Nairobi, I ate at the African food stall in the food court a few weeks ago in the village market, the chicken served with the rice was competely RAW! Had the taste of blood in my mouth, then looked down to see blood on the chicken-and that after only ONE BITE! I showed the waiter who took the plate away and never returned! Went to the counter and the lady there said there was nothing they could do about it, I either eat it, or make my peace and leave! I am a Chef and Lecturer of Gastronomy for goodness sake! Well, told her we would meet on the net - so here I am! BEWARE all about the cuisine found at this disgustingly annoying joint! Sorry about your rep, V.M!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Wanjiru M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

250 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    93
    99
    49
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nairobi
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Wonderful Experince”
Reviewed March 8, 2013

A Must if you are visiting Nairobi. Good eating places very cosmopolitan.
You have not completed Nairobi tour without going to the village MARKET.
Its based in the diplomatic side of town

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank PBaraka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Level 6 Contributor
137 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“All-Purpose Mall”
Reviewed February 25, 2013

What do you feel like doing today? Swimming, water slides, miniature golf, bowling, pool, movies, eating, shopping, banking, or just strolling? Well, Village Market has it all and does it all. It's a nice place to go any time of the week. I prefer the weekdays because it is less crowded. It definitely is a popular joint as it accommodates a diverse range of food vendors and restaurants. The outdoor set-up of its food court is quite unique and refreshing especially if it's a nice day. You need to experience it as I can barely do justice - seeing is believing!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank alkenya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
158 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Good shopping centre + good food court”
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Go for the food court, has everything from curry, grilled steaks to bratwurst, you order and it is brought to your table...Also has a 'Masai' market on Fridays...every fake trinket/curio you can think of but they will fool the folks back home, so an ideal one-stop place before you fly out.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank NaughtyBeagle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Swimming area is gorgeous!”
Reviewed February 14, 2013

Nice place to hang out with kids as there is a pool and a slide. Some corporate bodies like banks also hold their annual parties for their young clients. There a swimming areas for adults as well.

Helpful?
8 Thank VirginiaNairobi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Village Market also viewed

 
Nairobi, Kenya
 

Been to Village Market? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing