We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Good place for food and basic shopping” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Yaya Centre

Yaya Centre
Ranked #56 of 511 Restaurants in Nairobi
Cuisines: Fast Food, European, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
118 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Good place for food and basic shopping”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2014

It is one of the safest places in Nairobi to spend your time and shop. You can get all sorts of basic necessities in addition to good food here. It also hosts the weekly markets on its rooftops.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank virajgada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    74
    27
    2
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ammersbek, Germany
Level Contributor
81 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Nice Atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2014 via mobile

I am often there. I get what I want. Thete are several ATM, Food Lounge, Cafés, Chandarama Supermarket, Fruit and Vegetable Corner, Woolworth and so many shop's more. The Prices are up, but it is cheaper than Nakumatt Junction. Security changed. Now it looks like at the Airport. But not everyone is wollong to follow up the security guards and I don't like, that I have to bring my wallet and other worthy things into a box where everyone can take it. More security would be great.

Helpful?
Thank Gudrun H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rabat, Morocco
Level Contributor
50 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Good shops and restaurants”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2014

Despite being possibly one of the ugliest buildings in Nairobi, no thanks to the hilariously incomplete second tower. This is a must for a couple of shops: Yaya has the best butcher in Nairobi, the best bookshop bar none, probably in Africa (Bookstop), the excellent Alexandre bakery and the Healthy U store. As for food, Alexandre is good, as is the Indian restaurant at the Food Court (regularly purchase take-away) and Sierra is not bad. Only complaints are the oppressing awfulness of the building and the overpriced toy store....

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
25 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Over New Year's YaYa Centre Turned Into a Prison”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2014

I have lived in Kenya since 2011 and used to live across the street from YaYa Centre. It is a lovely little vertical mall with several shops, restaurants, book shops and ATM machine that I use regularly.

Today I was quite chagrined to find that YaYa installed metal detectors as the doors over New Years, and the guards now insist that you empty your pockets and let them stick their hands inside your backpack or purse in order to enter. They force you to put your cell phone, wallet keys and money in the plastic tray and walk through the metal detector, where you cannot watch your belongings. Other customers are milling about and it creates an ideal situation to have one's phone or wallet get lifted by a guard or a bystander.

When it was my turn, the guard asked to open my backpack, and I told him he was welcome to feel it from the outside, but not to open it. This made him angry and he insisted that it be opened. I told him no and was refused entry.

No bank that I have ever been to subjected its customers to such indignities. I don't see why entering a shopping mall should be like entering a prison. Metal detectors certainly don't make anyone safer as the Westgate tragedy proved.

While all customers desire to have a safe shopping experience, having the guards open your bags and look into them is a violation of my personal security, and an invitation for theft by the guard or a bystander.

Rather than have my bags and person rifled through, I would prefer to shop at Prestige or Junction and I recommend others do the same. YaYa Centre's security screen is offensive. No other mall in Nairobi subjects its customers to such indignity.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kenneth G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YayaCentre_Nairobi, Manager at Yaya Centre, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
Thank you for your valued feedback. We are constantly looking at new ways to improve our services and safety to enhance the shopping experience at Yaya Centre. Please do not hesitate to come and see us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Saffron Restaurant, Yaya Food Court”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2014 via mobile

On 3rd January 2014 my wife and I went for lunch at the Food Court and we decided to have Indian food at Saffron Restaurant, it was the most terrible dining experience I've ever had!! The waiter was shabbily dressed, we couldn't help but notice how filthy his shoes were plus he reeked of alcohol! The food took half an hour to come and it was cold when it arrived; it was bland and tasteless - it was obviously not freshly cooked! It was obviously one of those supermarket curries. It was a lousy lousy experience and I will definitely NEVER be going back there any time soon. I'd caution anyone planning to go there to give it a wide berth!

Helpful?
3 Thank geofflus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Yaya Centre also viewed

 

Been to Yaya Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing