We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Convenient shopping mall”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Yaya Centre

Yaya Centre
Ranked #49 of 542 Restaurants in Nairobi
Cuisines: Fast Food, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Mauritius
Level Contributor
60 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Convenient shopping mall”
Reviewed August 17, 2013

Yaya centre is a good size mall popular with locals and expats. The mall has a good selection of shops that cover a broad range of products: fresh produce, clothing, sporting goods, shoes, leather products, chemists, bookshop with a very large variety of books on Africa, and local curios. You can even find shop selling musical instruments. Service providers cover banking, travel, unisex beauty parlor, mobile phone services. Food court on second floor with italian, indian, and chinese; bakery and coffee shops. The mall feels secure and appears to be well run. Stores open everyday. Masai market on Sundays. Got there by hotel taxi but parking seems to be adequate with outdoor and basement parking, automated ticketing.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank DnSGlobeTrotters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    80
    27
    2
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Yaya - Modern style shopping”
Reviewed August 7, 2013

A small shopping but with the essential, very clean and with a nice food court. I like the two christian shops there. Find christian music, inspirational books, bags, fridge magnets, postcards, DVDs, posters and many other items. Nice place to go.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank MrsStork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
“Yaya Apartments”
Reviewed August 5, 2013

Yaya Apartments are very overpriced. The building is presented nicely but the service appalling. Problems are not addressed or solved. It's a too bad approach. Walls paper thin and staff must hear the noise before they may THINK about doing something. It is appalling. They are constantly renovating other apartments, they call it works. The noise is so loud you can't hear on the phone or your TV. This is 6 days per week. 8am to 6pm. I would highly recommend not staying here.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rich B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Khartoum
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“one of my favorite places to shop”
Reviewed July 25, 2013

Yaya Centre seems a bit cleaner and more modern than some of the other malls like Sarit Centre and I can find most things I am looking for here when I come into Nairobi to stock up on special supplies. The Chemists have been extremely helpful when I contacted them to confirm that they would have my hard to find prescription on hand. And the health food store has lots of good stuff like brown rice, cans of refried beans (mexican style) and a helpful staff. The grocery store doesn't always have the special items I am looking for but for the basics -- it is more than adequate.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Loki_21202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
46 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Feels like you're in the States”
Reviewed July 6, 2013

Super Americanized and overpriced. However, it is a convenient one-stop-shopping as there are dozens of stores and wares under one roof.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank TiffanyinBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Yaya Centre also viewed

 

Been to Yaya Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing