We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good, but not brilliant”
Review of Yaya Centre

Yaya Centre
Ranked #63 of 565 Restaurants in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence
Restaurant details
Cape Town
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Good, but not brilliant”
Reviewed May 20, 2013

The Yaya Centre is obviously popular. It's not big at all, so you can walk through the entire place within about half hour if you want. I didn't really see any anchor tenants, other than Foodplus and Mr Price Home.

Nothing special really, but liked the bread bakery / coffee house on the ground floor (I forgot the name!).

There is a fantastic bookstore on one of the upper levels though, in which you can just get lost in.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank MartinK2409
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    80
    29
    3
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nairobi, Kenya
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great Shopping and Ambience”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

There are many shops to choose from. The location is ideal and the staff in most of the shops are very friendly and professional.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank WanderlustandI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Huge!”
Reviewed May 6, 2013

A great mall to visit and SHOP! I loved the Maasai market in particular. The vibrant coloured beads were so beautiful! Avoid weekends, if possible as it can be crowded.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Abena K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Older shoppping center, but still has some nice shops”
Reviewed May 1, 2013

Yaya is one of the older shopping landmarks in Nairobi and is centrally located. They have a decent food court, nice bakery, and fruit and veg shop. The grocery store here (Chandarana) is a little limited, but they have certain items that are not at the other major chains (Nakumatt and Uchumi).

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jason L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Thanks to Java house”
Reviewed April 13, 2013

I was recommended to go to this center. So i Guess my expectations was high. I got kinda dissapointed.
The mall is nothing special. They have some good stores, and a good supermarket. The Javahouse turned out to be one of my favorite Places to eat.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Palsob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Yaya Centre also viewed

 

Been to Yaya Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing