We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Great Shopping and Ambience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Yaya Centre

Yaya Centre
Ranked #54 of 480 Restaurants in Nairobi
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great Shopping and Ambience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

There are many shops to choose from. The location is ideal and the staff in most of the shops are very friendly and professional.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank WanderlustandI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    72
    25
    2
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Huge!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

A great mall to visit and SHOP! I loved the Maasai market in particular. The vibrant coloured beads were so beautiful! Avoid weekends, if possible as it can be crowded.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Abena K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
125 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Older shoppping center, but still has some nice shops”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

Yaya is one of the older shopping landmarks in Nairobi and is centrally located. They have a decent food court, nice bakery, and fruit and veg shop. The grocery store here (Chandarana) is a little limited, but they have certain items that are not at the other major chains (Nakumatt and Uchumi).

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jason L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
35 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Thanks to Java house”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

I was recommended to go to this center. So i Guess my expectations was high. I got kinda dissapointed.
The mall is nothing special. They have some good stores, and a good supermarket. The Javahouse turned out to be one of my favorite Places to eat.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Palsob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
197 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“A Good Shopping Center in a Convenient Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

The Ya Ya Center is located between the Junction and the Center. There are three cafes, a juice bar, and several up market restaurants. There is also a very good book shop with plenty of titles on Africa. There is a well stocked fruit market as well as a very good supermarket. There is a sporting goods store. There is public transportation available from Ya Ya Center as well as plenty of taxi cabs. The security is excellent. However, I must comment that prices at Ya Ya aren't cheap.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
Helpful?
Thank africanman_840
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Yaya Centre also viewed

 

Been to Yaya Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing