We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Huge!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Yaya Centre

Yaya Centre
Ranked #54 of 480 Restaurants in Nairobi
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Huge!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

A great mall to visit and SHOP! I loved the Maasai market in particular. The vibrant coloured beads were so beautiful! Avoid weekends, if possible as it can be crowded.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Abena K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    72
    25
    2
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
125 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Older shoppping center, but still has some nice shops”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

Yaya is one of the older shopping landmarks in Nairobi and is centrally located. They have a decent food court, nice bakery, and fruit and veg shop. The grocery store here (Chandarana) is a little limited, but they have certain items that are not at the other major chains (Nakumatt and Uchumi).

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jason L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
35 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Thanks to Java house”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

I was recommended to go to this center. So i Guess my expectations was high. I got kinda dissapointed.
The mall is nothing special. They have some good stores, and a good supermarket. The Javahouse turned out to be one of my favorite Places to eat.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Palsob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
197 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“A Good Shopping Center in a Convenient Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

The Ya Ya Center is located between the Junction and the Center. There are three cafes, a juice bar, and several up market restaurants. There is also a very good book shop with plenty of titles on Africa. There is a well stocked fruit market as well as a very good supermarket. There is a sporting goods store. There is public transportation available from Ya Ya Center as well as plenty of taxi cabs. The security is excellent. However, I must comment that prices at Ya Ya aren't cheap.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
Helpful?
Thank africanman_840
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great Supermarket & Nice Cafes”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

Upmarket shopping centre. Very pleasant with good parking - a few nice cafes and a well stocked supermarket. Aimed at foreigners and wealthy Kenyans.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Dan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Yaya Centre also viewed

 

Been to Yaya Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing