We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Average food, attentive staff.” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Alan Bobbe's Bistro

Alan Bobbe's Bistro
Ranked #426 of 523 Restaurants in Nairobi
Cuisines: French, European
Dining options: Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Level Contributor
34 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Average food, attentive staff.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2013 via mobile

Recently stayed at Andrews Apartments and therefore sampled pretty much everything on the menu. In general it is akin to the usual mid range hotel fayre. Not a great selection of wine, or anything for that matter. Since it is out of the way and never seems to be that busy. The starters are better than the main meals, obviously food is prepared in advance and chilled / frozen before cooking or re-hearing for service. That said, it's a fine place if you want some privacy and the waiting staff are friendly.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Exitroute
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    8
    6
    8
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
New York, NY
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Meh.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2013

Location is tucked away and atmosphere is nice, but the coq au vin I make at home is worlds better than what they serve here.
Also came by once when we lived close by and tried to order a dessert to takeaway for my children and was told that there was nothing on the menu that could be served as takeaway. Umm... how about ice cream? I left with two kids in tears.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank shaslau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
35 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Leaves you Wanting”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2013

Simply expensive for no reason. Have a strong brand reputation. Could do a lot better by simply reinventing their Menu. The price tag does not translate to 'food value'. Good place to go to if you want some privacy and do not care much about the food.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Nimish H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent French food in average atmosphere”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2012

The French food was excellent, but the restaurant would deserve a more comfortable atmosphere. The poolside tables were nice, but otherwise the surroundings of Andrew's apartments did not match the great kitchen.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Tapio P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Cold as Ice”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2012

Went following some reviews. The place was empty and we got served food cold as Ice. Quality was also average. I won't be back...

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank sibadeben
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Alan Bobbe's Bistro also viewed

 

Been to Alan Bobbe's Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing