We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“A Must for any Serious Traveller in Nairobi” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Thorn Tree Cafe

Thorn Tree Cafe
Ranked #77 of 512 Restaurants in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Delivery, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
126 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“A Must for any Serious Traveller in Nairobi”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2014

Recently spent the day in Nairobi whilst in transit, so decided to try the legendary Thorn Tree Cafe for lunch. It was a very pleasant experience overall, and the staff were happy for me to spend three leisurely hours reading, eating, drinking and people watching. The Acacia is not the original, but stands on the same spot, and there is a noticeboard with blank papers for you to write your own message if you desire.

Service was fairly good and attentive for the most part. For lunch I ordered the burger, and was not disappointed - absolutely cracking dish; possibly one of the best burgers I've had anywhere, nevermind Africa (or Kenya)! Great choice for lunch, especially when washed down with a Tusker.

There are probably cheaper places around, or more casual places (the cafe is part of the Sarova Stanley hotel), but this place isn't bad value for money, and it's brilliant to sit and absorb the history of one of the legends of old East Africa and the Cairo to Cape Town route - so if you're a traveller of slightly nostalgic inclination, and are looking for great food, this is the place to be at.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Wandering_Saffa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David G, General Manager at Thorn Tree Cafe, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
Dear Wandering_Saffa,

Thank you for choosing to spend your transit period visiting us at the Thorn Tree Café.
We are very humbled and glad that you enjoyed your experience as a whole.

Hearing that the Burger was the best you have tasted – speaks volumes to us and is a compliment that has been extremely well received by the executive chef and team.

We would be happy to welcome you back for a longer stay in the future.

Thank you.
Warm Regards,

David Gachuru.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    49
    65
    19
    10
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
36 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great service and food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2013

Very good service and food. Lively atmosphere. Its a local town meeting spot, great for people watching. Great, breakfast with huge selection and cooked to order eggs. Nice to have a coffee there too.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Belgiantraveller772
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David G, General Manager at Thorn Tree Cafe, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
Dear Belgian Traveller772,

Many thanks for dining and sharing your experience, through Trip Advisor, on your recent experience at The Thorn Tree Café.
We are truly proud to receive your very complimentary review, and appreciate your comments on our meals and service.

Looking forward to hosting you soon.

Warm Regards,
David Gachuru.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Mateo, California
Level Contributor
306 reviews
179 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“a nice cafe for simple, good food!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2013

My wife stayed at the sarova stanley a few nights before our safari and ate here many times and enjoyed it. They have good food for dinner, really good pizza and the breakfast buffet is very good too. The staff here is so nice and helpful and it is a nice, casual place to hang out and eat, drink and relax a while. The food prices area very reasonable and the breakfast buffet is included with your room and has many choices and the coffee here is excellent. The service staff while we were in africa were just great and very pleasant , I recommend having a meal during your stay here.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank brentsf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David G, General Manager at Thorn Tree Cafe, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
Dear Brentsf,

It was our pleasure hosting you at the Sarova Stanley, and we thank you for dining and reviewing The Thorn Tree Café.
We continue to focus on providing our guests with a memorable dining experiance and am very glad that you appreciated the same.
Many thanks for recognising friendliness of the staff; your kind words will be shared with the rest of the team.

We look forward to seeing you again on your next trip to Kenya.

Warm Regards,
David Gachuru
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level Contributor
28 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“THE Thorn Tree Cafe!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2013

Enjoyed several meals here including the talapia fresh from Lake Victoria and the Prawn Salad...so delicious and served perfectly. What I really liked, though was the history of the Cafe, and the Stanley Hotel's efforts to keep an acacia tree growing on the same spot as the original, and the notice board that still carries messages from other travelers!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank CanadaFran4kenya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David G, General Manager at Thorn Tree Cafe, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
Dear CanadaFran4Kenya,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at The Sarova Stanley and indeed dining and reviewing our Legendary Thorn Tree café.
The Tilapia continues to be one of our most popular dishes time and time again, and am truly pleased that you enjoyed many meals here.

We are very proud of our histroy ; and make increased efforts in maintain the heritage feel and ambiance of our establishment – including the oldest café in Nairobi, the Thorn Tree Café.

We look forward to your return, and posting another message on our Thorn Tree board.

Warm Regards,
David Gachuru.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
184 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“A Wonderful Respite”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2013

It was a pleasure to enjoy lunch at the Thorn Tree with a friend. The service was very friendly but a little slow. (This is Kenya, right?) Good selection of meals and desserts. The desserts are visible in a glass case. If you order a piece of cake, you might want to request they cut it from the inside. One side of mine was somewhat dry. I would go back again.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank king238
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David G, General Manager at Thorn Tree Cafe, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Dear King238,

It was indeed a pleasure hosting you at the Thorn Tree Café, thank you for taking the time to review our services.

I would like to thank you for your candid feedback on the service and the cake; indeed your comments are very valuable to us to enable us to continuously improve on our services.

Your comments on menu choice and variety have been well received.

We certainly look forward to having you back again,

Warm Regards,
David Gachuru.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Thorn Tree Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Thorn Tree Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing