We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Not what I expected, but very good” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Thorn Tree Cafe

Thorn Tree Cafe
Ranked #49 of 480 Restaurants in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
145 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Not what I expected, but very good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013 via mobile

I saw this place rated in a Lonely Planet guide and was expecting a backpacker joint. Far from it, this place is swanky and the house burger is great. No backpacker can afford to eat here...so thumbs up from me.

Helpful?
Thank NaughtyBeagle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David G, General Manager at Thorn Tree Cafe, responded to this review, March 2, 2013
Dear Mr. Jonathan L,

Thank you for reviewing the Thorn tree restaurant.
It is a delight to learn that you were pleasantly surprised as we surpassed your expectations.
We appreciate your sentiments and your feedback is very helpful to us.
Please patron with us again.

Warm Regards
David Gachuru
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    49
    63
    17
    9
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
118 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Best T Bone Steak”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

The T-Bone Steak at the Thorn Tree Cafe is to die for. The chef does a wonderful job and will leave you craving for more. I can advice any meat lover to try this experience.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Hjkenya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David G, General Manager at Thorn Tree Cafe, responded to this review, March 2, 2013
Dear Ms. Hjkenya

Thank you for taking time to post your review.

We note your appreciation for the T- Bone stake and thank you for your commendation.
Please patron at The Thorn tree restaurant again and we promise to exceed your expectations once again.

Warm Regards
David Gachuru
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Thorn Tree at the Stanley still alive!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

I ventured downtown this week and had an early supper at the famed Thorn Tree Cafe. It has been at least 20 years since my last visit. Still classy, good food, good service. And there is still a message board if you need to leave a message for a friend who is also passing through downtown. A fun trip down memory lane.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Joy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David G, General Manager at Thorn Tree Cafe, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Dear Joy P.

Jambo.

Thank you for visiting with us gain.
It is wonderful to learn that we have maintained the good level of service as you experienced 20years ago. Please visit with us again should you return to Nairobi.

Warm Regards
David Gachuru
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai Region, China
Level Contributor
339 reviews
156 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
“Good food, reasonably priced”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

All the dishes I've tried are very good! My favorite is the Salmon dish which I used to eat every other day during my 2-week stay in Stanley Hotel. The breakfast is good but it would have been better to have more American food as the hot meal buffet serve more African dishes. At night, the place transforms into a lively bar especially on Friday nights. The price is quite reasonable for a hotel restaurant.

The cafe ambience is inviting especially the outdoor area but it’s quite noisy since it is along the main road in town. The place is always clean and with staff ready to assist you. The service is inconsistent, sometimes they’re quick sometimes it take forever to prepare your meal.. but the food makes up for it!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank wandering_dive_geek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David G, General Manager at Thorn Tree Cafe, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying with us at the hotel on your last trip to Nairobi.

Your feedback is highly regarded and we appreciate all the positive remarks.
We take note of your concerns are looking into the issues raised.

Please visit with us again.

Warm regards
David Gachuru
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi
Level Contributor
57 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Good View”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

A wonderful meeting and eating place with clean environment.

It worth a visit anytime you are in Nairobi and you feel taking a lunch in a relaxed place.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Charles S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David G, General Manager at Thorn Tree Cafe, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review our restaurant.
We value your feedback and appreciate your commendation.

Warm Regards
David Gachuru
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Thorn Tree Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing