We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Thorn Tree at the Stanley still alive!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Thorn Tree Cafe

Thorn Tree Cafe
Ranked #66 of 543 Restaurants in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Brunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Delivery, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Nairobi, Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Thorn Tree at the Stanley still alive!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2013

I ventured downtown this week and had an early supper at the famed Thorn Tree Cafe. It has been at least 20 years since my last visit. Still classy, good food, good service. And there is still a message board if you need to leave a message for a friend who is also passing through downtown. A fun trip down memory lane.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Joy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David G, General Manager at Thorn Tree Cafe, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Dear Joy P.

Jambo.

Thank you for visiting with us gain.
It is wonderful to learn that we have maintained the good level of service as you experienced 20years ago. Please visit with us again should you return to Nairobi.

Warm Regards
David Gachuru
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    55
    66
    20
    11
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Shanghai Region, China
Level Contributor
361 reviews
167 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
“Good food, reasonably priced”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2013

All the dishes I've tried are very good! My favorite is the Salmon dish which I used to eat every other day during my 2-week stay in Stanley Hotel. The breakfast is good but it would have been better to have more American food as the hot meal buffet serve more African dishes. At night, the place transforms into a lively bar especially on Friday nights. The price is quite reasonable for a hotel restaurant.

The cafe ambience is inviting especially the outdoor area but it’s quite noisy since it is along the main road in town. The place is always clean and with staff ready to assist you. The service is inconsistent, sometimes they’re quick sometimes it take forever to prepare your meal.. but the food makes up for it!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank wandering_dive_geek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David G, General Manager at Thorn Tree Cafe, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying with us at the hotel on your last trip to Nairobi.

Your feedback is highly regarded and we appreciate all the positive remarks.
We take note of your concerns are looking into the issues raised.

Please visit with us again.

Warm regards
David Gachuru
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi
Level Contributor
57 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Good View”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2013

A wonderful meeting and eating place with clean environment.

It worth a visit anytime you are in Nairobi and you feel taking a lunch in a relaxed place.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Charles S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David G, General Manager at Thorn Tree Cafe, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review our restaurant.
We value your feedback and appreciate your commendation.

Warm Regards
David Gachuru
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lagos
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Lovely !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2013

I loved the food and the ambiance was also very good. I am specially touched by the way they packed b'fast for us as we had a very early plane to catch. Lovely food.....specially the fish. Very courteous staff.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Nilakshi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David G, General Manager at Thorn Tree Cafe, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for visiting with us.
I am pleased that you enjoyed the food, ambience and service.
Thank you for your candid and wonderful remarks on our establishment.
We hope that you visit with us again.

Warm Regards
David Gachuru
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
205 reviews
108 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
“Great Food and Service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2013

Had a great steak here served with a heap of vegetables, which was what I was craving. Prices were reasonable and the service was excellent. The place is super clean and has a nice spot in the cente of the city!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bryce Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David G, General Manager at Thorn Tree Cafe, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Dear Mr. Bryce Y.

Greetings from Sarova Stanley,

We acknowledge your commendation and thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback.

Please patronize with us again should you visit Nairobi.

Warm regards
David Gachuru
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Thorn Tree Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Thorn Tree Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing