We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Good Ambiance” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Panda Chinese Restaurant

Panda Chinese Restaurant
Fedha Towers, Kaunda St, city centre, Nairobi, Kenya (Nairobi Central Business District)
213018
Improve this listing
Ranked #136 of 463 Restaurants in Nairobi
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Nairobi Central Business District
Nairobi, Nairobi Area, Kenya
Level Contributor
70 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Good Ambiance”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Tucked away in the Nairobi CBD, Panda Restaurant is a hidden gem once you discover it. A narrow flight of stairs leads to a beautifully ambianced restaurant with soft soothing music playing in the background. Their food is also delicious and service is quick and courteous.

As you plan to visit, It will do you good to note that the prices on the menus (both food and drink) do not include taxes and service charges. I felt that this is quite odd given that for most if not all establishments in Kenya, what you see is what you pay.

Being conveniently located, it is at a nice place to wait the traffic jam away.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Arthur B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    16
    4
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
133 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Good, solid and very chinese”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

This is one of those good old traditional Chinese places, good size portions, large menu, wicked chilli sauce and great waiters...

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank NaughtyBeagle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Authentic Chinese Taste”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Panda is probably one of the few chinese restaurants that I love to eat at. Whether a family meal, business or just with friends, i find that the taste of the food is constant and you dont have to necessarily stick to the menu. Run by a family from Shanghai they bring the true taste of china to your table.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank GSONNairobi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kl
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Good authentic Chinese food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

We were in Kenya on a safari. While we thoroughly enjoyed our food over 8 days in Kenya, we missed Asian food just a little bit. We were pleasantly surprised to find good and authentic Chinese food in this restaurant in Nairobi.

We are ethnic Chinese from Malaysia, so I guess it counts for something when we said that the food is authentic !

Do give this restaurant a visit.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank kc-kl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Excellent Chinese”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

We always make a point to visit this restaurant. This last visit to Nairobi was no exception we found ourselves there 3 times in one week. Either lunchtime or evening. The food is excellent, the menu is varied and the staff are very attentive. The interior may appear a little tired but after you have tasted the food the visit will have been very worthwhile.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank nigelrev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Panda Chinese Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Panda Chinese Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing