We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Nice food, nice atmosphere” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Furusato Japanese Restaurant

Furusato Japanese Restaurant
Ranked #24 of 511 Restaurants in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Special occasions, Families with children, Business meetings, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Khartoum
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Nice food, nice atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2013

The set menu was a great choice and allowed us to sample lots of different items (tuna pancake, shrimp, lobster, chicken, beef). The waiter was helpful in telling us which sauces went with which food items (meat, fish, veg). Lots of food -- i was satisfied but couldn't finish everything. Seemed to be a good place to bring a family as there several tables of (well-behaved) children -- including a rather embarrassed birthday boy.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Loki_21202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

240 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    81
    115
    32
    4
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nairobi
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A safe bet...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013

I'll start off by saying that my wife believes this restaurant is a Five. I, on the other hand, think its a 4. I'll start with the positives. 1) It's has a fairly large menu and it can be vege friendly. My wife, who is a vegetarian, tends to like their vege sushi and vege box, 2) the items are executed fairly well. Nothing overly sophisticated on the menu, so they get the basics rights, and 3) the service is a big plus here. A very attentive staff can make a big difference!

There are a few reasons why I believe his place is not a Five: 1) The menu is pretty standard, nothing "wows" you, 2) the place is a bit dated inside and could use an upgrade, and 3) I wish they varied the flavors of their teppanyaki (like most places, they just use one sauce).

Overall, I do recommend visiting Furasato. We think its the best Japanese restaurants in Westlands. My wife and I are frequent visitors, just wish sometimes they would take it up a notch with regards to the menu.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank rsidhpura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Good times at Teppanyaki”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2013

We went in a large group. The food was plentiful and offered good value - many of us were too full up to finish up the set courses. As with any teppanyaki experience, there was much chair swopping to catch up with diners on the opposite ends of the table. The service was good - unobtrusive and efficient. I would visit here again

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank BonitaCarr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Addis Ababa, Ethiopia
Level Contributor
50 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“My go-to place for sushi cravings, excellent and efficient”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2013

Quite regularly I end up working in Nairobi and, living in a landlocked country (Ethiopia) and coming from a coastal area (Brittany, France) I really miss my fish, sea fish. Furusato caters for this need like no other. The selection of sushis, sashimis, makis is delicious - although some say the Japanese restaurant in Westgate is even better regarding its all-round offer. A bit on the pricey side perhaps.
Staff are quick to seat you and, while service takes a bit of time, the staff is really good and professional, if not all too warm and friendly.
The decoration is lovely and the restaurant is always full of people, including Japanese and Korean customers, which is a good sign. The garden offers lovely evenings when the night's not too chilly.
All things considered a really good sushi place really. Perhaps not the best restaurant in the world, but a solid reference you can always count on...

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ewenlb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harare, Zimbabwe
Level Contributor
41 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Always busy and good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2013

I don't think I have ever been to Furusato when it hasn't been busy - even on a Monday night. The food is good and reasonably priced. There is teppanyaki, sushi, and a variety of noodle dishes. Also Korean dishes that are very yummy. A very reliable choice.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Diane S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Furusato Japanese Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Furusato Japanese Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing