We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The very best sushi in the region”

Furusato Japanese Restaurant
Ranked #36 of 564 Restaurants in Nairobi
Cuisines: Japanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Kigali Rwanda
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“The very best sushi in the region”
Reviewed February 2, 2013

I've now eaten here a few times in the past couple of months and have found the quality to be the best I've had in Africa. The butter fish and salmon are exceptional; tuna with avocado salad extraordinary, and service is first rate. There's a hibachi area as well that I haven't tried yet.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jayinkigali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

265 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    86
    127
    37
    5
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nairobi, Kenya
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good...getting better with time”
Reviewed January 25, 2013

I had visited Furusato several time 2012 and they seem they are getting better with time. They used to serve the wrong items, rude waiters and when ordering for take always it would take forever to be delivered. But with time they have really improved and I would recommend it.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Nayma L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Nice place with good outdoor seating”
Reviewed January 22, 2013

We had a nice meal here. My colleagues were not as adventurous eaters as I am and we all shared food, so I wasn't able to be as adventurous as I would have liked, but what we had was good quality.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Brian K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Best Japanese food in Kenya”
Reviewed January 17, 2013

Title explains it all. Expect to pay western prices; the plus side being, expect western quality and service. The place is always packed with the Japanese diaspora, which is a good sign. The interior is beautiful, as is the building itself. If you go after sundown, you might have to wait for a table. I guess you could also just make a reservation, but I'm not sure if they take them.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank coyot9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitchener, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
194 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Excellent sushi”
Reviewed December 27, 2012

Loved this place and visited it often. The sushi is excellent and the service is impecable. I would love to come back for my next trip to Nairobi.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank laurence_baird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Furusato Japanese Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Furusato Japanese Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing