We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great afternoon get away ”

Tamarind Restaurant
Ranked #3 of 735 Restaurants in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $50 - $100
Cuisines: African, Asian, French, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Nairobi's iconic seafood restaurant which originally opened in August 1977, has recently moved from the Central Business District to the leafy suburbs of Karen at the Karen Blixen coffee Garden. The menu is a blend of the best of French, Asian and African cuisines with specialties such as the famous Prawns Piri Piri, and Chilli Crab which have earned the Tamarind worldwide fame.
Reviewed August 19, 2018 via mobile

Needed a place to relax and quote from the city and relax, we decided to check this joint out. The setting is seclusive for a quiete get away. We sat outside in one of the shaded areas. Staff was welcoming, and service was great.

The food was amazing, both sea food and meats in the menu was mouth watering. Their selection of wine is amazing, price is not too expensive but it’s on the lucrative side of pricing but it’s matched by the services provided.

We went to the bar areas after enjoyed a great mixed drink and had a beautiful walk around the compound checking out some of the local artists paintings displayed on the grass around the compound.

It’s a place worth checking out.

Thank Kenedy O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (591)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

6 - 10 of 591 reviews

Reviewed August 7, 2018

There was an excellent service and really sumptuous meals. I enjoyed this so much and hope to be back soon. The restaurant ambience was particularly excellent. This is coupled with the fact that the hotel location in Karen is a perfect setting for revelers who want to have a feel of out-of town atmosphere.

Thank ssrashid0005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geraldine D, Director of Sales at Tamarind Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2018

Dear Rashid, Thank you for taking the time to review. We are delighted you enjoyed your lunch out with the family at Tamambo Karen Blixen and thought the restaurant ambiance was excellent and the meals sumptuous. It's such a boost for us every time we hear positive reviews such as this and we will be sure to let the team know what a positive impact they made on your dining experience. Many thanks again for the feedback and for the perfect rating. Kind regards Geraldine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2018 via mobile

Tamarind restaurant has a policy not to allowed children under 6 during the late dinner. After one booking we did whithout being informed, they apologized and now we will go to family dinner with our baby between 17.00 and 19.00 ! This is the quality I expected!

Thank Valeria D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geraldine D, Director of Sales at Tamarind Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2018

Dear Valeria, Thank you very much for your fantastic 5 star review. We are sorry that you were not informed initially that children can only eat between 17.00 and 19.00 in the Tamarind as it is a fine dining restaurant. We look forward to your visit between those times. Many thanks for your understanding. Kind regards Geraldine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2018

A friend who's leaving Nairobi made a special request that we dine at Tamarind. The restaurant is set in a colonial house with a huge garden. The restaurant itself was not too big and luckily, not as hectic as the bar next door. There were only a few guests, making dinner a quiet and intimate affair. Their speciality is seafood, but they also have meat and vegetarian dishes. Being allergic to crustaceans, the best dish for me was the goat cheese and fig salad.

I'd love to go back in the daytime and see the garden, as I'm sure it considerably adds to the charm of the place.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Talampakan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geraldine D, Director of Sales at Tamarind Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2018

Dear Talampakan, A big thank you to your friend for choosing to dine at Tamarind. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed the dining experience at Tamarind and even though you are allergic to crustaceans, the goat cheese and fig salad was to your liking. We always aspire to give the best of food and service and we are glad that we were successful and made such a positive impact on your visit. We look forward to welcoming you back to Tamambo which is set in the garden area. Kind regards Geraldine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2018 via mobile

While touring about Nairobi we stopped for lunch at Tamarind. It was very convenient as most all the things we wanted to do were in Karen. We ate outdoors under an umbrella in a beautiful setting. The food and wine were very good and the service efficient. Highly recommended if you are staying in or touring the Karen area.

Thank Mark F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geraldine D, Director of Sales at Tamarind Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2018

Dear Mark, Many thanks for your great five star review. We are delighted to hear that you chose to stop off for lunch with us at Tamambo Karen Blixen and enjoyed the beautiful outdoor setting, the good food and wine and found the service efficient. It is always so encouraging for us every time we hear positive reviews such as this and we will be sure to let the team know what a positive impact they made on your experience. Thank you for recommending us to other visitors. Kind regards Geraldine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tamarind Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Tamarind Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing