We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Special dinner”

Tamarind Restaurant
Ranked #3 of 735 Restaurants in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $50 - $100
Cuisines: African, Asian, French, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Description: Nairobi's iconic seafood restaurant which originally opened in August 1977, has recently moved from the Central Business District to the leafy suburbs of Karen at the Karen Blixen coffee Garden. The menu is a blend of the best of French, Asian and African cuisines with specialties such as the famous Prawns Piri Piri, and Chilli Crab which have earned the Tamarind worldwide fame.
Reviewed August 5, 2018

A friend who's leaving Nairobi made a special request that we dine at Tamarind. The restaurant is set in a colonial house with a huge garden. The restaurant itself was not too big and luckily, not as hectic as the bar next door. There were only a few guests, making dinner a quiet and intimate affair. Their speciality is seafood, but they also have meat and vegetarian dishes. Being allergic to crustaceans, the best dish for me was the goat cheese and fig salad.

I'd love to go back in the daytime and see the garden, as I'm sure it considerably adds to the charm of the place.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Talampakan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geraldine D, Director of Sales at Tamarind Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2018

Dear Talampakan, A big thank you to your friend for choosing to dine at Tamarind. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed the dining experience at Tamarind and even though you are allergic to crustaceans, the goat cheese and fig salad was to your liking. We always aspire to give the best of food and service and we are glad that we were successful and made such a positive impact on your visit. We look forward to welcoming you back to Tamambo which is set in the garden area. Kind regards Geraldine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (591)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

9 - 13 of 591 reviews

Reviewed August 2, 2018 via mobile

While touring about Nairobi we stopped for lunch at Tamarind. It was very convenient as most all the things we wanted to do were in Karen. We ate outdoors under an umbrella in a beautiful setting. The food and wine were very good and the service efficient. Highly recommended if you are staying in or touring the Karen area.

Thank Mark F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geraldine D, Director of Sales at Tamarind Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2018

Dear Mark, Many thanks for your great five star review. We are delighted to hear that you chose to stop off for lunch with us at Tamambo Karen Blixen and enjoyed the beautiful outdoor setting, the good food and wine and found the service efficient. It is always so encouraging for us every time we hear positive reviews such as this and we will be sure to let the team know what a positive impact they made on your experience. Thank you for recommending us to other visitors. Kind regards Geraldine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2018 via mobile

Just walked in for a quick lunch... Great meals, good portioning and presentation, wonderful ambience and lively waiters with a speedy service.
I really loved it

Thank MuchEarlier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geraldine D, Director of Sales at Tamarind Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2018

Hello, Thank you for your wonderful 5 star review. We are delighted to hear that you had a good lunch and enjoyed the food, the presentation, the ambiance and the lively waiters offering speedy service. It's definitely a boost for us every time we hear positive reviews such as this and we will be sure to let the team know what a positive impact they made on your experience. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Kind regards Geraldine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2018 via mobile

We went here for dinner on Friday night. Stunning surrounds and gardens before entering the beautiful old building. The only downside to the atmosphere was the noise from the pub and carnivores next door.
The restaurant is beautifully furnished, the staff and their service immaculate.
Our waiter Jackson, was polite, friendly and quick to serve. Both himself and the manager were apologetic over our entrees being late - we hadn’t even noticed or become concerned!
The food is divine and well presented.
Highly recommend dining here!

Thank Jessica M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geraldine D, Director of Sales at Tamarind Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2018

Dear Jessica, Many many thanks for the most amazing five start review. Your enthusiastic comments are music to our ears and we are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your dining experience and that not only was the food you chose divine and well presented but it is also pleasing to hear that the staff and their service was immaculate. It's definitely a boost for us every time we hear positive reviews such as this and we will be sure to let Jackson and the rest of the team know what a positive impact they made on your experience. Once again huge thanks for the positive feedback and for recommending us to other diners. Kind regards Geraldine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2018

Had a lovely evening at the Tamarind restaurant in Karen outside Nairobi after we visited the Karen Blixen house. First we enjoyed drinks on the patio area heated by charcoal Frazier as we waited for our table. Our dining experience started with delicious grilled calamari. I particularly appreciated our waiter Jackson, who gave the perfect level of service, attentive without being intrusive. All four of us found our meals delicious. The chef surprised us at the end with three bite-sized deserts on a plate decorated in chocolate with our names and a saying. What a perfect evening!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank MissusPhysics
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geraldine D, Director of Sales at Tamarind Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded July 20, 2018

Hello, Thank you for your 5 star review. We are delighted to hear that you had a perfect evening at Tamarind enjoying the delicious food and the surprise decorated plate at the end of the meal. It's such a boost for us every time we hear positive reviews such as this and we will be sure to let Jackson know what a positive impact he made on your dining experience. Many thanks for taking the time to review and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Kind regards Geraldine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tamarind Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Tamarind Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing