We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Food”

Tamarind Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 557 Restaurants in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $50 - $100
Cuisines: African, Asian, French, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Description: Nairobi's iconic seafood restaurant which originally opened in August 1977, has recently moved from the Central Business District to the leafy suburbs of Karen at the Karen Blixen coffee Garden. The menu is a blend of the best of French, Asian and African cuisines with specialties such as the famous Prawns Piri Piri, and Chilli Crab which have earned the Tamarind worldwide fame.
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
38 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Good Food”
Reviewed April 28, 2014

The fish was amazing. It is pricey. Their garlic bread is divine! and the crocodile in the sky cocktail is great. Great starters but the desserts left alot to be desired. The key lime pie was disappointing.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank kerubo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

485 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    309
    140
    28
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Change of location???”
Reviewed April 3, 2014

My husband booked a table at this restaurant for 8.30pm on Monday 31st March. When we finally arrived after having braved several major city centre traffic jams, the place was closed and we were told by a security guard that they had relocated to Karen. Now why on earth is there no mention of this on their website (which lists the National Bank Building address) and, what's more, why were we not told about this by the person who took our booking???? Shame on you Tamarind, we were so looking forward to this special treat! I'm sure we'll have another go at trying this establishment once we get over our disappointment, and then I'm looking forward to be able to write another review. In the meantime, this stands!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Connybee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
1 review
“always good”
Reviewed April 1, 2014

this is one of my fav in nairobi, great seafood great ambience. we always come here to celebrate special occasions or simple have a great date night leaving the kids at home.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank charlesmw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GCD51, Director of Sales at Tamarind Restaurant, responded to this review, April 2, 2014
Thank you for posting such a complimentary review about Tamarind Nairobi. We regret to tell you that we have had to close Tamarind Nairobi in the CBD after 37 years of service. Our last day was 28th March. But all is not lost as we shall be opening for dinner at The Karen Blixen Coffee Garden in the leafy suburb of Karen and we hope we hope that we will welcome back to the new venue.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
37 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Still the Best Seafood Restaurant in East Africa”
Reviewed March 11, 2014

Last visited March 2014. Been here more than 20 times over the years. Its expensive by local standards but well worth the treat.

Note - If in Mombasa North Coast. The Tamarind Mombasa is even better!!!

The oysters although smaller than Pacific/Atlantic Oysters are divine: raw or cooked mambrui if you prefer.

The Prawns Piri Piri are not as hot as the name depicts and are spiced just right so you can still taste the flavour of Indian Ocean tiger prawn. Queen size are the tastiest. King or Jumbo size also prime.

But the best is the whole mangrove crab - simply steamed is my favourite. But also Crab in ginger or chilli (Thai style) Crab for those who want more spice. Mangrove crab comes from the Kenya coastal mangrove swamps and is truly the tastiest crab on earth and Tamarind get the biggest crab from the auctions. So I prefer to just enjoy the natural crab flavour with the plain steamed crab with dipping sauces on the side. Note: With the crab you need to be prepared to work for your meal - cracking and breaking shells and the supply all the tools. But the rewards are fantastic.

Would not waste time with lobster as these are really Langoustes and don't compare with Atlantic Lobsters at all. Not Tamarind's fault but Indian Ocean Langoustes just don't cut it.

If you want a bit of everything then the seafood platter is FANTASTIC and they serve baby lobster (langoustine) which has the better flavour. They could be a bit more adventurous on the dipping sauces which are still very 70ish but the natural seafood flavours are so good, it doesn't matter.

Tamarind maintains standards by ensuring they have the freshest and best seafood there is to have from the Indian Ocean.

Desserts - take your pick. All good. The fresh coconut ice-cream is a great way to cool off after all the warm seafood.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank zippy_travelling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
labinaNairobi, Director of Sales at Tamarind Restaurant, responded to this review, March 14, 2014
Thank you very much for posting such a wonderful review. We really appreciate your comments and are thrilled that you enjoyed t your experience at Tamarind Nairobi. I should mention that Tamarind Nairobi will be moving to Karen Blixen Coffee Garden on 28th March, so do try and visit us one more time before we make the move. Thank you again for giving us such a boost.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
732 reviews
272 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 271 helpful votes
“Hard to find, but well worth the effort”
Reviewed March 3, 2014

A colleague of mine insisted we come downtown to Tamarind, based on the memories of a great meal 18 years ago! We were skeptical, but the food and drinks were excellent (try the Zanzibari seafood casserole), as was the service. A dessert sampler came on plates decorated with our names and philosophical sayings etched in chocolate icing. Definitely the place to go if you want seafood.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Wanderlust777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tamarind Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Tamarind Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing