We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Not for me” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Tamarind Restaurant

Tamarind Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 474 Restaurants in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $50 - $100
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Bar scene, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Brunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Nairobi's iconic seafood restaurant which originally opened in August 1977, has recently moved from the Central Business District to the leafy suburbs of Karen at the Karen Blixen coffee Garden. The menu is a blend of the best of French, Asian and African cuisines with specialties such as the famous Prawns Piri Piri, and Chilli Crab which have earned the Tamarind worldwide fame.
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Not for me”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2013

I had great expectations.
But the restaurant itself is quite dark, no windows and for me, I d like to have open spaces and nice views.
Food...probably just hardly average.
Pricing: over priced.
I hope to visit the one on Mombasa to give better rating.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maesparz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

399 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    249
    119
    25
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
136 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Excellent Fine Dining option”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2013

One of the best foods I had during my stay in Nairobi.
- The service is excellent.
- The breads served with the foods are really hot and delicious.
- I had T-bone steak, which was excellent.
- My friends had Bombay Fish and Prawns and they were blown away.
- The desserts platter was lovely
- We had the fish soup which was a little average
- Did I appreciate the service enough!

If I am in Nairobi again for a day, this is the place that will top my list!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Talha K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurgaon, Haryana, India
Level Contributor
79 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“too focused on being niche”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

famous for its seafood, we visited in a group. Good service, Good concept (s), personalized service....food was good

what can improve is portion size and vegetarian options. Interiors also need refresh

  • Visited November 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank InstinctiveTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
297 reviews
198 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“Worth a visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

This is a fairly upmarket seafood restaurant in the CBD. The service was fine and so it should have been because it was almost empty. The food was very good, we tried the Prawn Masala Curry which was very tasty and a decent sized portion. The wine was expensive and not the best quality so perhaps avoid the wine list. Overall I would dine here again but its not the most exciting choice.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Martin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
madrid
Level Contributor
150 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Great crab dishes”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

We went there because we'd heard about their quality, mainly seafood dishes.
We tried two different kind of crabs, really good, also tomato soup, and we enjoyed the hole night. Is worth it

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank jetaramon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tamarind Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Tamarind Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing