We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“too focused on being niche” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tamarind Restaurant

Tamarind Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 480 Restaurants in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $50 - $100
Cuisines: European, African
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Romantic, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Brunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Nairobi's iconic seafood restaurant which originally opened in August 1977, has recently moved from the Central Business District to the leafy suburbs of Karen at the Karen Blixen coffee Garden. The menu is a blend of the best of French, Asian and African cuisines with specialties such as the famous Prawns Piri Piri, and Chilli Crab which have earned the Tamarind worldwide fame.
Gurgaon, Haryana, India
Level Contributor
79 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“too focused on being niche”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

famous for its seafood, we visited in a group. Good service, Good concept (s), personalized service....food was good

what can improve is portion size and vegetarian options. Interiors also need refresh

  • Visited November 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank InstinctiveTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

408 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    255
    121
    25
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
302 reviews
201 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Worth a visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

This is a fairly upmarket seafood restaurant in the CBD. The service was fine and so it should have been because it was almost empty. The food was very good, we tried the Prawn Masala Curry which was very tasty and a decent sized portion. The wine was expensive and not the best quality so perhaps avoid the wine list. Overall I would dine here again but its not the most exciting choice.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Martin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
madrid
Level Contributor
150 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Great crab dishes”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

We went there because we'd heard about their quality, mainly seafood dishes.
We tried two different kind of crabs, really good, also tomato soup, and we enjoyed the hole night. Is worth it

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank jetaramon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballarat, Australia
Level Contributor
383 reviews
138 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 294 helpful votes
“A Bit Disappointing!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

I'd heard great things about this seafood restaurant, so went with high expectations.
I started with a wonderful Masai Martini, followed by lovely appetisers of oysters and prawns done in various exciting ways.
My biggest gripe, is that my mixed seafood platter was overcooked. The lobster was sad and stringy, oily and frankly tastless. Sacrillege!
The fish and prawns suffered the same fate, but the calamari was exquisite. Maybe it was their chef's night off.
Desserts were novel, but a bit bland.
Wines were good.
For such a fine restaurant, with an enviable reputation for fine fare, our group had it pretty much to ourselves. Not a good sign. Or did they open especially for us? It was a Sunday night, after all.
Wines were good, the range excellent and the stained glass windows were worth a visit in their own right.
I wouldn't say don't go there. Others in our group made different choices and were delighted with their meal. However, a number that had the mixed seafood platter were of the same opinion as I was and very disappionted our precious seafood was overcooked!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank fional943
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Quite a surprise!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

First time at this restaurant and it sure as hell will not be my last.. Loved the ambiance, service, serenity and how exclusive the place is in the middle of such a busy area. The food was just amazing; no cell phone use is allowed and "if you must smoke, don't exhale"... Worth every penny spent.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank titkat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tamarind Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Tamarind Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing