We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A MUST IN NAIROBI!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tamarind Restaurant

Tamarind Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 476 Restaurants in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $50 - $100
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Families with children, Bar scene, Large groups
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Nairobi's iconic seafood restaurant which originally opened in August 1977, has recently moved from the Central Business District to the leafy suburbs of Karen at the Karen Blixen coffee Garden. The menu is a blend of the best of French, Asian and African cuisines with specialties such as the famous Prawns Piri Piri, and Chilli Crab which have earned the Tamarind worldwide fame.
Lagos, Nigeria
Level Contributor
31 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“A MUST IN NAIROBI!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

Great food. Indulge yourself and do the seafood platter. Service was just as good. Not sure about the location but hey, welcome to Africa.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Colo_mentality
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

401 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    250
    120
    25
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Didn't meet expectation”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

I had heard this restaurant was the best in Nairobi. There is no doubt the service and quality is exceptional, I didnt think it lived up to the reviews. I would go back however, it was a lovely experience, and one of the nicer places we ate at while in Nairobi

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Amber S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
61 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Customer service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

This restaurant was another surprise in Kenya. It was the start of our trip, so we were cautious about food, but didn't have to worry here. The staff were some of the best I have come across, with not only great service, but a great personal touch. They asked us all our names, and when we got deserts, they were written on the plate, with a saying in chocolate. All the food and drinks were fantastic, and we would highly recommend , but expect to pay for it. The restaurant specialises in seafood.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Kingsley S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
88 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

We had dinner here during our stay in Nairobi and it was excellent.
The seafood was absolutely delicious and the service was very good.
It is expensive but I can say this was one of the best meals I ever had in a restaurant. Didn't know that tuna could taste so good.

You should definitely try the dessert.

Strongly recommend it.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicoleta I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Addis Ababa, Ethiopia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Luxury seafood”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

The food is good and the service excellent. the waiter are professionnal, nice and always willing to assist. If you are asked for ur name dont be reluctant, a surprise is getting prepare for you.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Safiatou T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tamarind Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Tamarind Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing