We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food”

Tamarind Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 566 Restaurants in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $50 - $100
Cuisines: African, Asian, French, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Description: Nairobi's iconic seafood restaurant which originally opened in August 1977, has recently moved from the Central Business District to the leafy suburbs of Karen at the Karen Blixen coffee Garden. The menu is a blend of the best of French, Asian and African cuisines with specialties such as the famous Prawns Piri Piri, and Chilli Crab which have earned the Tamarind worldwide fame.
Nairobi, Kenya
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great food”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Set in a cosy garden and excellent service this is great for lunch and dinner. Especially the a la carte meny is worthwhile, and good wines also for European tastes.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank JBaekmark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

500 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    320
    144
    28
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Worcester
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Tamarind”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

The coast restaurant is wonderful. Super views and seafood. Book a table near the water. Nairobi city centre excellent too but you will need to take a taxi

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Miriam W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Good choice in downtown”
Reviewed July 28, 2013

If you don't have a reservation, go early. The place doesn't get busy until 9 p.m. Seafood is the specialty here: my lobster was darn tasty (these are Rock Lobsters).

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ellen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great service, great food, bit overpriced”
Reviewed July 28, 2013

I had dinner here with a colleague recently, the restaurant is a little outdated in terms of decor, the service is excellent. I was slightly disappointed, the menu we were given had specials and I was delighted to see my favorite, pork belly, however after placing the order the waiter returned to say sorry, they specials from the previous day (both mine and my colleagues menu was incorrect and the waiter obviously had not been briefed on the specials as he should have known) anyway we both changed our order and were happy with the food that was delivered to our table. I believe the food is overpriced here.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Joanne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Accra, Ghana
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“all very good, but overpriced”
Reviewed July 22, 2013

Visited the Tamarind in Nairobi for a business dinner as a group of ten. We had a private room upstairs. Excellent greeting and drinks service, followed by a good meal with wine and attentive waiters throughout.

On the downside, the place seems tired and could do with freshening up. And it is overpriced.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Grassy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tamarind Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Tamarind Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing