We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outdated & Overated”

Tamarind Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 564 Restaurants in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $50 - $100
Cuisines: African, Asian, French, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Nairobi's iconic seafood restaurant which originally opened in August 1977, has recently moved from the Central Business District to the leafy suburbs of Karen at the Karen Blixen coffee Garden. The menu is a blend of the best of French, Asian and African cuisines with specialties such as the famous Prawns Piri Piri, and Chilli Crab which have earned the Tamarind worldwide fame.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Outdated & Overated”
Reviewed April 24, 2013

We visited the restaurant at the weekend, and were surprised by the lack of custom, most of the tables were empty. We only visited this restaurant, as the Talisman was full (Why is this not on the list?)
The location is poor, it requires a complete refurbishment (appears nothing has changed in 38 years), service is good, if a little over attentive. The food was ok, nothing to shout about.
I would recommend this restaurant for a special occasion (formal setting) or an intimate meeting, although the waiters will be asking you how's food or changing plates every minute.
A particular disappointing aspect was the waiter pushing for a tip on presenting the bill. I was going to give a good tip, until he became pushy.
Seven Seas is by far a better restaurant for fish. The Octopus and seafood platter are clearly better than the Tamarind offering.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Tim J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

498 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    319
    143
    28
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Pricey but food is good”
Reviewed April 18, 2013

Loved the octopus starter and prawns piri piri. The service was very good. However, it was a bit pricey for the amount of food provided. Nice for a night out but can find other places that provide more value for money.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank traveler8188
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“The Sea in the City”
Reviewed March 27, 2013

For your fresh sea food in the city go to Tamarind Restaurant. The food was fresh and so lovely. I had the fruits of the sea platter. This is so good and feels like just harvested from the sea. I recommend the Tamarind over and over again.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Hjkenya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
labinaNairobi, Director of Sales at Tamarind Restaurant, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
We truly appreciate you taking the time to post a review about Tamarind Nairobi.

We are so delighted you enjoyed meal and were pleased with the food and service.

We have shared your review with our team, who will be really motivated by your remarks.

Once again,many thanks for the feedback and we look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level 5 Contributor
41 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Best place for seafood in Nairobi”
Reviewed March 23, 2013

Best place for seafood in Nairobi - pricier than usual but excellent quality. Biggest prawns I've ever seen. Ask for waiter recommendations but all is usually fresh from the Kenyan coast each day. Only downside was we were given a non-too subtle hint about the tip before we paid our bill, which is rare in Kenya to be suggested to us... a bit off putting. But still reat quality and a nice change from all the meat dishes everywhere

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank EDSDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
labinaNairobi, Director of Sales at Tamarind Restaurant, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to post a review about Tamarind Nairobi. We are happy to know that you enjoyed your meal but concerned to larn about the unsubtle hint about the tip which we shall investigate, as we certainly do not encourage this kind of action and we are glad you brought it to our attention.

Your feedback will help us improve and we thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A must if you are in Nairobi”
Reviewed March 21, 2013 via mobile

Outstanding seafood and excellent service. I had the spanish octopus (why spanish? There are no octopus in Kenia?) and the tandoori crab. My mate had the steamed crab instead. Everything was very good, the steamed crab is the best option though if you want really enjoy the genuine crab flavour.
Kind of weird the location, in the middle of a bank complex. Wine list can be improved.
A bit pricy but I would really advise a visit

Helpful?
Thank dux64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
labinaNairobi, Director of Sales at Tamarind Restaurant, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Many thanks for taking the time to post a review on Tamarind Nairobi.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your meal and were pleased with the quality and level of our service.

With reference to your two comments, The reason for 'Spanish Octopus', is that it was introduced and named by a Spanish Celebrity Chef doing a tour at the Tamarind. Also back when Tamarind started, its location was the main hub of Nairobi. Since then many businesses have moved to the suburbs.

Meanwhile we shall share your positive remarks with our staff, to encourage them to higher standards of food and service.

Thank you for choosing to dine at Tamarind and we hope you will visit us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tamarind Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Tamarind Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing