We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best place for seafood in Nairobi”

Tamarind Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 574 Restaurants in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $50 - $100
Cuisines: African, Asian, French, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Reservations
Description: Nairobi's iconic seafood restaurant which originally opened in August 1977, has recently moved from the Central Business District to the leafy suburbs of Karen at the Karen Blixen coffee Garden. The menu is a blend of the best of French, Asian and African cuisines with specialties such as the famous Prawns Piri Piri, and Chilli Crab which have earned the Tamarind worldwide fame.
Reviewed March 23, 2013

Best place for seafood in Nairobi - pricier than usual but excellent quality. Biggest prawns I've ever seen. Ask for waiter recommendations but all is usually fresh from the Kenyan coast each day. Only downside was we were given a non-too subtle hint about the tip before we paid our bill, which is rare in Kenya to be suggested to us... a bit off putting. But still reat quality and a nice change from all the meat dishes everywhere

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank EDSDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
labinaNairobi, Director of Sales at Tamarind Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2013

Thank you very much for taking the time to post a review about Tamarind Nairobi. We are happy to know that you enjoyed your meal but concerned to larn about the unsubtle hint about the tip which we shall investigate, as we certainly do not encourage this kind of action and we are glad you brought it to our attention.

Your feedback will help us improve and we thank you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (508)
There are newer reviews for Tamarind Restaurant
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

375 - 379 of 508 reviews

Reviewed March 21, 2013

Outstanding seafood and excellent service. I had the spanish octopus (why spanish? There are no octopus in Kenia?) and the tandoori crab. My mate had the steamed crab instead. Everything was very good, the steamed crab is the best option though if you want really enjoy the genuine crab flavour.
Kind of weird the location, in the middle of a bank complex. Wine list can be improved.
A bit pricy but I would really advise a visit

Thank dux64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
labinaNairobi, Director of Sales at Tamarind Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2013

Many thanks for taking the time to post a review on Tamarind Nairobi.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your meal and were pleased with the quality and level of our service.

With reference to your two comments, The reason for 'Spanish Octopus', is that it was introduced and named by a Spanish Celebrity Chef doing a tour at the Tamarind. Also back when Tamarind started, its location was the main hub of Nairobi. Since then many businesses have moved to the suburbs.

Meanwhile we shall share your positive remarks with our staff, to encourage them to higher standards of food and service.

Thank you for choosing to dine at Tamarind and we hope you will visit us again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2013

Raves;
- Great entertainment [the pianist]. Skilled & played popular hits.
- Great service. Very impressive...right from reservations to the host to the waiters..incl. the manager/supervisor who stopped by our table...great job!
- Good food - drinks, garlic bread, starters & desert were great. Entree [sea food platter] was just okay.

Rants;
- Would not discourage anyone from visiting/frequenting the place but IMHO, Tamarind,Nairobi is overrated. Still surprised its rated #3 in Nairobi by Trip Advisor. However, i'd recommend Tamarind,Mombasa & their Dhow dinner experience any day!
- Overpriced. Believe the platter cost Kes 6K pp & this did not correlate to value or variety.
- Ambiance is so 1990. Urgently needs a makeover.
- Poor choice of location. Rarely in CBD coz of bumper;bumper traffic. Prefer malls or out-of-CBD locations.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank FearlessInfluencer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
labinaNairobi, Manager at Tamarind Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded March 17, 2013

Many thanks for taking the time to review Tamarind Nairobi. We are sorry that we did not live up to your expectations and have shared your remarks with our team who will endeavour to improve in all the areas you have mentioned.

Once again, thank you for the feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2013

A bit expensice but the food is above all expectations! A very loveley restaurant with good service.

Thank Asanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
labinaNairobi, Director of Sales at Tamarind Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded March 12, 2013

We would like to thank you very much for taking the time to post a review about Tamarind Nairobi. We appreciate your compliments and take this opportunity to thank you for your support .

We have shared your review with our team, who are encouraged and motivated to continue paying attention to every detail.

Once again,many thanks for the feedback and we look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2013

Good food and service this place is been there for ever and keep it s reputation! lobster as it s best excellent desert good wine selection

Thank FRENCHBIZTRAVELER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
labinaNairobi, Director of Sales at Tamarind Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded March 4, 2013

Many thanks for taking the time to review Tamarind Nairobi. We so appreciate your kind words and would like to take this opportunity to thank you for your support .

We shall share your review with our team, who will be encouraged and motivated to continue working hard and paying attention to every detail.

Once again, thank you for the feedback and we look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tamarind Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Tamarind Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing