We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good, but not fantastic”
Review of Marble Arch Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Marble Arch Hotel
Ranked #81 of 164 Hotels in Nairobi
Nairobi, Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Good, but not fantastic”
Reviewed May 4, 2014

Located at the heart of Nairobi city, Marble Arch hotel is worth considering if you have something to do late atmnight within the NCBD. If you are looking for a cozy place, look elsewhere. It is practical, not cossy. If you are paranoid, about your security, this is not for you, even though it is not insecure. Food is amazing. The staff is very courteous.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aroundtheworldformak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    14
    7
    5
    2
See reviews for
4
8
5
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Harrisburg
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2013

I have stayed at the Marble Arch, Nairobi, Kenya, every year since 2008. The service is the best ever, and the staff is the most courteous I've ever encountered. In addition, the food is WONDERFUL! The hotel is quaint but beautiful.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sondra S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Imma2013, General Manager at Marble Arch Hotel, responded to this review, November 26, 2014
Thanks Pastor Sondra for the compliments.
It is always a joy and a blessing to have you all in our hotel. looking forward to your coming visit.

The lord Bless you and keep you.

Immaculate

Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2013

I stayed here one night on a layover. I arrived at the Marble as the hotel I was booked at, had no rooms after booking on Bookings.com (nightmare). I checked on line for other options under 150USD and the Marble came up. The Marble hotel is right in Nairobi town. It’s easy to get to depending on the traffic and they have an airport shuttle service. Now, the room is basic and the bathroom old style, but things were general clean and tidy, TV forget it.
The staff where the real winners for me, I had European cheese/sausage to put in the restaurants fridge overnight, which the staff looked after for me. The restaurant was OK with a good mash and chicken dish i ordered late, approx 1130pm and the check-in staff were helpful. reception staff repeated several times not to leave anything valuable in the room, they have a safe at reception. This made me a little uncomfortable.
Unfortunately in the morning at 5 am there were Christian evangelists on a megaphone, next to the hotel, or in a church, I don’t know which one, the room had no insulation, so needless to say I was wide awake listening to evangelists in full swing. At 5am it was really loud!
This hotel was ok for me as a quick fix, but I will not be staying again, if I can help it.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AidanandLucia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Imma2013, Manager at Marble Arch Hotel, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Dear esteemed client,

Thank you very much for your review and valuable feedback on your stay with us. We are glad that you liked the hotel and we will talk with our neighbors about the noise and contain it.
It was nice hosting you. Wishing you all the best.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
93 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2013

I always try to give a chance to hotels, whenever I travel, specially when its for business...I had booked 4 days in this hotel but on the first night I decided to leave and moved to the LAICO Regency.
The hotel is very cheap, but from the entrance to the room its freaking dirty and ugly!
The room itself is very dark and it sometimes resembled a room from those African movies where they hold hostages in tense scenes.
The location of the hotel is very central, but its right in the middle of a main bus station...a little bit scary to go outside by myself and it was incredibly loud!
The only plus is that the waiter of the breakfast was nice enough to be teach me about Kenyan food and shared a little bit about his land! The city itself is lovely, but I think people should avoid this hotel!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Suzano_BR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Nairobi hotels

Pasco, Washington
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2013

Marble Arch is a nice hotel with very friendly and helpful staff. I have stayed there on a couple of occasions and plan on staying there again this year. Traveler's must be aware that at the airport there are some very helpful people who have been hired by other agencies to scam people into going to other motels or even use a different taxi service. Marble Arch has always had driver's at the airport awaiting our arrival, and get us back to the airport in plenty of time for our next flight. We were scammed last year by helpful transportation people who steered us away from our hotel pick up, made a false call to the hotel and assured us the hotel had sent transport for a different group of people...we believed them and allowed them to transport us only to arrive at the hotel and discover we had left our ride standing on the sidewalk.....

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank lalanluv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2012

I didn't stay there, but - was travelling in December 2011 and booked a room for 2 nights in Marble Arch Hotel, however (!) in the airport my guide told that this hotel was bombed the night before (some Somalian fanatics threw a grenade in a window) and we are going to go to another place

Marble Arch is in official list of places to avoid by tourist because of it proximity to the mosque - popular place for attacks by Al-Qaeda. Be careful if you decide to stay there

Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
Helpful?
4 Thank Yarrilo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
Nairobi Central Business District
Mvuli Suites
Mvuli Suites
#46 of 164 in Nairobi
49 reviews
Kenya Comfort Hotel
#62 of 164 in Nairobi
209 reviews
Hotel Central Park Nairobi
#105 of 164 in Nairobi
39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nairobi Central Business District
West Breeze Hotel
West Breeze Hotel
#52 of 164 in Nairobi
69 reviews
Nairobi Central Business District
Decasa Hotel
Decasa Hotel
#90 of 164 in Nairobi
45 reviews
Nairobi Central Business District
The Clarion Hotel
The Clarion Hotel
#95 of 164 in Nairobi
45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marble Arch Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marble Arch Hotel

Property: Marble Arch Hotel
Address: Lagos Road | off Tom Mboya Street, Nairobi 00400, Kenya
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Nairobi > Nairobi Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #81 of 164 Hotels in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Marble Arch Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Marble Arch Hotel is a three-star facility located right within Nairobi City Centre. It has been a convenient choice for visitors to Kenya since it opened its doors in 1995. The hotel is located 30 minutes away from the Jomo Kenyatta International Airport and 10 minutes away from the world-famous Nairobi National Park, The Giraffe Centre and within walking distance of attractions such as the National Museum, the Railway Museum, Kenyatta International Convention Centre (KICC) and shopping malls. The hotel's unique architectural design reflects the warm opulence while still retaining a contemporary feel. The rooms are spacious and tastefully furnished with modern amenities to offer you a quiet, comfortable stay that is uncommon with many city hotels. Guests seeking a secure, pocket-friendly hotel for an overnight stay or long stay while in Nairobi find the Marble Arch Hotel an obvious choice. Our ample parking and business centre are just some of the additional bonuses. At Marble Arch Hotel our friendly, well trained staff is always on hand to meet your needs. We welcome you to enjoy our distinct brand of Kenyan hospitality whenever you are in town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Jovago.com, Agoda, Cancelon and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Marble Arch Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing