We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful, relaxing place to stay”
Review of Amani Gardens Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Nairobi
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Amani Gardens Inn
Ranked #4 of 275 Nairobi B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 10, 2014

Mennonite Guesthouse is a wonderfully relaxing place to stay. It's where my wife and I always go when passing through Nairobi. The grounds are beautiful and well maintained. I have never been disappointed with the meals and you can meet lots of interesting people around the dinner table. The reception staff are always helpful when it comes to planning for meals and taxis and other things.

Room Tip: If possible, get a room in the newer wing, they are a bit nicer.
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank andthebooksays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MennoGuest, General Manager at Amani Gardens Inn, responded to this reviewResponded March 31, 2014

Thanks for your stay with us and your great review. We want to be your comfortable home while you are in Nairobi. As for the rooms in the older wing, we are currently remodeling these rooms and bringing them to a higher standard. We hope you will be pleasantly surprised the next time you are with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (116)
There are newer reviews for Amani Gardens Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

90 - 96 of 116 reviews

Reviewed March 6, 2014

The grounds really are as beautiful as the pictures! The staff is friendly and one feels as though you are in someone's home, rather than an impersonal hotel. The very best part is hearing the stories of the other guests, at meals and tea time. Each day we met fascinating people, mostly missionaries and short term medical personnel, such as surgeons, medical students, and nurses, spending a night or 2 in Nairobi on their way to or from hospitals and clinics further afield.

The beds and pillows are comfortable. The bathrooms are not the level of a Hilton, and you may lose electrical power now and then, but I still give the Mennonite Guest House 5 stars; my stay here was one of the highlights of my trip.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IRKIE68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MennoGuest, General Manager at Amani Gardens Inn, responded to this reviewResponded March 10, 2014

Thank you for your kind review of our guest house. We strive to be welcoming to everyone who stays with us. As you have seen we have people from many different walks of life who stay with us and contribute to the stories around meals and tea times.

We hope to see you again on your next visit to Kenya.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2014

A really warm welcoming place to stay. The grounds are absolutely beautiful, not what we expected in the centre of Nairobi!
The first time we stayed in an en-suite room in the 'new' block and the room was beautiful with a double balcony. When we returned after a few days away we stayed in a cheaper room with a shared bathroom, this was in the older block but still a good room, plenty of space.
We had a couple of evening meals here, both were surprisingly good! Breakfast was fine - simple but filling, the only problem is that it is served from 7.30-8.30 and then they pack it away!
Tea and coffee are always available, and a nice touch is the freshly made coffee and cake at 10am and 4pm!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bousini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MennoGuest, General Manager at Amani Gardens Inn, responded to this reviewResponded March 10, 2014

Thanks for your nice review. We are happy you liked your stay here. We aim to be a retreat for people in the middle of a busy city. We have hard-working gardeners who try to preserve the beauty of our grounds.

Come back anytime!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2014

We stayed here with our two young children and loved it. It is really the best place we know of in Nairobi for families to stay - lots of green space, a playground, a climbing tree and swing. Very affordable, especially for Kenyan residents. The only reason this review isn't "excellent" is because the online reservation did not work.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Colin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MennoGuest, General Manager at Amani Gardens Inn, responded to this reviewResponded March 10, 2014

Hi Colin- Thanks for your nice review. We always want to be oriented toward families and have a place were kids can run and play. I'm sure your kids made great use of our tree swings while they were here.

As for our online reservation system, we are sorry there were a few glitches. We recently added this into our registration process and there were a few days of transition. It's fully operational now.

We look forward to seeing you next time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2013

This is a great value place in a convenient part of Nairobi (though a bit further from the airport than some, so make sure you leave plenty of time for the journey there (half an hour if there's no trafffic, very early morning or late night, more than 2 hours otherwise!).

Wonderful gardens, very peaceful, decent food though not very flexible with meal timings; still, they left dinner out for us which was a nice curry to heat ourselves in a microwave. Friendly, quiet, good beds and bathrooms, clean. Exactly what you hope to find in a guesthouse.

Room Tip: the new block is a higher standard than the old colonial building but maybe a bit less atmospheric
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank revieg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MennoGuest, General Manager at Amani Gardens Inn, responded to this reviewResponded March 10, 2014

Thanks for the great review. We are glad you stayed with us. Please visit us again when you are in Nairobi.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2013

The rooms were excellent. Hot running water. good beds, room to move, pleasant atmosphere, nice food, a good quiet spot, TV room enjoyable place, cost - very affordable, staff - most helpful, sure, easy to find. Spacious gardens. Pay using America Express - yes.

Feel like you need a place you can be confident about. And any easy to arrange, booking place? Do it!

Room Tip: All seem fine, really.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trevor661
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2013

We have been living in Tanzania for 14 years. We travel to Nairobi a few times a year. There are other places we have stayed, but there are several things that keep us coming back to Mennonite. They have the best gardens and ambiance. The staff has always been professional. They make every effort to accommodate special needs.

Advantage of Mennonite:
1. Good safe location with secure parking.
2. Rooms are simple, but clean.
3. Free Internet.
4. A family room for children to play in, with books and toys.
5. Nice buffet style meals served.
6. Morning and afternoon tea is nice for those who are resting.
7. There is a taxi service that has rates that are quoted depending on location.
8. Walking distance to the bus line, if you want to go to the town center.
10. We meet great people from all around the world every time we go.
11. Very close to some of the most popular shopping malls.
12. Backup generator for constant power.
13. Great library of books.
14. Safes are located in most rooms. You can lock up important stuff.

Love Mennonite!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
Nairobi Central Business District
Best Western Plus Meridian Hotel
The Heron Portico
#7 of 167 in Nairobi
501 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
InterContinental Nairobi
#19 of 167 in Nairobi
1,019 reviews
Sankara Nairobi
#9 of 167 in Nairobi
911 reviews
DusitD2 Nairobi
#18 of 167 in Nairobi
407 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amani Gardens Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amani Gardens Inn

Address: 71 Church Road, Westlands, Nairobi 00800, Kenya (Formerly Mennonite Guesthouse)
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 275 B&Bs / Inns in Nairobi
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Amani Gardens Inn, formerly the Mennonite Guest House has a 50-year reputation of warm hospitality and quiet gardens. Located in Westlands, our guest house is situated conveniently close to major shopping malls, banking centers, and restaurants, yet the place still retains the feel of a retreat in the countryside with our old English-style buildings and ancient trees. You can spend the morning quietly reading under a 100-year old jacaranda tree, or hop in a taxi and be exploring down town a few minutes later. Amani means peace in Swahili which is a distinctive of the Mennonites. We hope you will find our gardens a peaceful oasis in the middle of a bustling city. Amani means peace in Kiswahili. Spacious gardens, friendly staff, and traditional American food bring our guests back again and again. Amani Gardens is under the Mennonite Board of East Africa. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Mennonite Guesthouse Hotel Nairobi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing