We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Lovely retreat in Nairobi”
Review of Amani Gardens Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Nairobi
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Amani Gardens Inn
Ranked #5 of 264 Nairobi B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bucharest, Romania
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A Lovely retreat in Nairobi”
Reviewed January 17, 2014

A really warm welcoming place to stay. The grounds are absolutely beautiful, not what we expected in the centre of Nairobi!
The first time we stayed in an en-suite room in the 'new' block and the room was beautiful with a double balcony. When we returned after a few days away we stayed in a cheaper room with a shared bathroom, this was in the older block but still a good room, plenty of space.
We had a couple of evening meals here, both were surprisingly good! Breakfast was fine - simple but filling, the only problem is that it is served from 7.30-8.30 and then they pack it away!
Tea and coffee are always available, and a nice touch is the freshly made coffee and cake at 10am and 4pm!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bousini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MennoGuest, General Manager at Amani Gardens Inn, responded to this review, March 10, 2014
Thanks for your nice review. We are happy you liked your stay here. We aim to be a retreat for people in the middle of a busy city. We have hard-working gardeners who try to preserve the beauty of our grounds.

Come back anytime!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    35
    12
    7
    0
See reviews for
25
15
19
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pretoria, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed January 4, 2014

We stayed here with our two young children and loved it. It is really the best place we know of in Nairobi for families to stay - lots of green space, a playground, a climbing tree and swing. Very affordable, especially for Kenyan residents. The only reason this review isn't "excellent" is because the online reservation did not work.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Colin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MennoGuest, General Manager at Amani Gardens Inn, responded to this review, March 10, 2014
Hi Colin- Thanks for your nice review. We always want to be oriented toward families and have a place were kids can run and play. I'm sure your kids made great use of our tree swings while they were here.

As for our online reservation system, we are sorry there were a few glitches. We recently added this into our registration process and there were a few days of transition. It's fully operational now.

We look forward to seeing you next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cheltenham
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2013

This is a great value place in a convenient part of Nairobi (though a bit further from the airport than some, so make sure you leave plenty of time for the journey there (half an hour if there's no trafffic, very early morning or late night, more than 2 hours otherwise!).

Wonderful gardens, very peaceful, decent food though not very flexible with meal timings; still, they left dinner out for us which was a nice curry to heat ourselves in a microwave. Friendly, quiet, good beds and bathrooms, clean. Exactly what you hope to find in a guesthouse.

Room Tip: the new block is a higher standard than the old colonial building but maybe a bit less atmospheric
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank revieg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MennoGuest, General Manager at Amani Gardens Inn, responded to this review, March 10, 2014
Thanks for the great review. We are glad you stayed with us. Please visit us again when you are in Nairobi.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2013

The rooms were excellent. Hot running water. good beds, room to move, pleasant atmosphere, nice food, a good quiet spot, TV room enjoyable place, cost - very affordable, staff - most helpful, sure, easy to find. Spacious gardens. Pay using America Express - yes.

Feel like you need a place you can be confident about. And any easy to arrange, booking place? Do it!

Room Tip: All seem fine, really.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trevor661
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arusha, Tanzania
1 review
Reviewed August 23, 2013

We have been living in Tanzania for 14 years. We travel to Nairobi a few times a year. There are other places we have stayed, but there are several things that keep us coming back to Mennonite. They have the best gardens and ambiance. The staff has always been professional. They make every effort to accommodate special needs.

Advantage of Mennonite:
1. Good safe location with secure parking.
2. Rooms are simple, but clean.
3. Free Internet.
4. A family room for children to play in, with books and toys.
5. Nice buffet style meals served.
6. Morning and afternoon tea is nice for those who are resting.
7. There is a taxi service that has rates that are quoted depending on location.
8. Walking distance to the bus line, if you want to go to the town center.
10. We meet great people from all around the world every time we go.
11. Very close to some of the most popular shopping malls.
12. Backup generator for constant power.
13. Great library of books.
14. Safes are located in most rooms. You can lock up important stuff.

Love Mennonite!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed February 7, 2013

I spent just one night at the Mennnonite Guest House as I flew in late from Europe and had a meeting in Westlands the next morning. I was really impressed with the place - my booking was handled efficiently by email, the key was left as promised with the watchman, the room was simple but spotless and everything worked. The breakfast was friendly and guests are expected to share tables and chat, which was a pleasure as the place was full of people doing interesting things.

The gardens are beautiful and a tranquil oasis amidst the development of high-rise apartments and office parks in this part of Nairobi.

People should note that the guest house is really designed for missionaries and development workers, and the low prices shouldn't be mis-used by travellers on business trips or safaris that don't fit with that ethos. It's not a regular hotel, and standards of service therefore shouldn't be compared directly.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Africahand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2012

Having read reviews on Mennonite Guesthouse we were slightly dubious about our four night upcoming booking with them, but from the moment we arrived, we noticed that the managers comments on tripadvisor about the improvements and changes he was going to make to the guesthouse were either complete or underway.

At times the place feels a bit boarding school like with a bell for breakfast, tea, lunch and dinner. A breakfast of cereal, toast, jam, tea and coffee then either eggs, beans, sausage, pancakes is at 07:30 then if you want to join for lunch and dinner you have to give two hours notice. Luckily on our first night two people were late for dinner so we managed to eat after arriving from the airport, but had this not happened we would have arrived at 7pm to find we could not eat and there are not too many other options nearby. We did find 'the Royal Kitchen' a 5 minute walk away, who will deliver.

In terms of changes that have been made following previous guests comments on trip advisor, we noticed a very efficient booking system being used by reception staff. The old block is being extended to provide more rooms. Rooms in the old block have been touched up and thoroughly cleaned, making them nearer in standard to the new block.

Room - our room in the new block, overlooking the beautifully kept and large garden, was clean with hot water and plenty of storage space. The bed was firm and comfortable, although the bed sheet was too small so we often found ourselves waking up on the mattress halfway through the night.

Overall we really enjoyed our visit and would most definitely stay at the Mennonite Guesthouse again. It really is as others have described 'an Oasis in Nairobi.'

Room Tip: Make sure you notice when booking that rooms are priced per person, rather than per room. If you wan...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hanna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
The Heron Portico
#5 of 164 in Nairobi
479 reviews
Nairobi Central Business District
Best Western Plus Meridian Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amani Gardens Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amani Gardens Inn

Property: Amani Gardens Inn
Address: 71 Church Road, Westlands, Nairobi 00800, Kenya (Formerly Mennonite Guesthouse)
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 264 B&Bs / Inns in Nairobi
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Amani Gardens Inn, formerly the Mennonite Guest House has a 50-year reputation of warm hospitality and quiet gardens. Located in Westlands, our guest house is situated conveniently close to major shopping malls, banking centers, and restaurants, yet the place still retains the feel of a retreat in the countryside with our old English-style buildings and ancient trees. You can spend the morning quietly reading under a 100-year old jacaranda tree, or hop in a taxi and be exploring down town a few minutes later. Amani means peace in Swahili which is a distinctive of the Mennonites. We hope you will find our gardens a peaceful oasis in the middle of a bustling city. Amani means peace in Kiswahili. Spacious gardens, friendly staff, and traditional American food bring our guests back again and again. Amani Gardens is under the Mennonite Board of East Africa. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Mennonite Guesthouse Hotel Nairobi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing