We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Always a good spot in Nairobi” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mayfield Guest House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Nairobi
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mayfield Guest House
Ranked #36 of 235 Nairobi B&B and Inns
Kisumu, Kenya
Level Contributor
27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Always a good spot in Nairobi”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2011

I have stayed here several times. Staff is helpful. Rooms are clean. Not a fancy place but good for Nairobi. Shared bathrooms. Plenty of them. Hot Showers. Hot breakfast. Airport transport service available. Grounds are nice. Wireless (when it works).

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cmeliw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    9
    5
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
3
5
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Corning, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2010

I thank G'd often for the treatment, the rest and care I had there. I was welcomed and taken care of after my mission trip to Tanzania. The food was wonderfully prepared and there was ample supply. There was protein sources, which lacked in the "bush". It was comfort food leaving out the "junk". I needed to get there to recover from the "bush". A friend needed to recover from working in the Kibera slum, full time. She came for a weekend respite. Hot showers are there, friendly co mission people, praying and conversing, sharing experiences.
This is like a youth hostile, except that born-again beleivers come with service to Jesus in mind and a mission work to do. Doing mission work is taxing on the body, so I wholly recommend Mayfield for the retreat it is especially after or during service to the 'least of these". There is no lack of work to do, only the caring amenities available at Mayfield. CK

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bniceministry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Korr, Kenya
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2010

Mayfield is a wonderful place to stay with friends or as a single traveler. With friends you can enjoy communal or single rooms with a central, homey living room for chatting and even a home-theater for watching movies and television. As a single, you can also take advantage of the friendly atmosphere to meet many fellow travelers around the dining table or relaxing on the compound. Meeting new friends and spending time with old ones is easy in Mayfield. (And if you like solitude, there's a nice, green garden with chairs all around for reading, writing in your journal, or meditating.)

It's in a safe and central part of Nairobi, with malls and superstores within walking distance. The shops are close and easy to find which provides a convenient way of exercising, avoiding cabin fever, and getting shopping done while in town. Only a 20 minute walk away, there is also the Maasai Market on Sundays which is a fun, but very touristy, way of finding souvenirs.

Mayfield's food is great! It’s always hot, served family style, and familiar to the western palate. They also provide complimentary tea at 10 and 4 (traditional Kenyan tea time) with PB&J fixings available all day long.

The staff are gems. They are invaluable in helping you find your way around Nairobi, are quite fond of chatting with visitors, and honest and helpful in sorting your travel plans out. They also provide their own taxi service especially between airports and even to shopping centers if you would rather add these expenses onto your bill instead of using other transport.

The beds, showers, living areas, and toilets are all clean and private. There is also free internet, and while it's slow, Mayfield isn't to blame, as it's like that anywhere you go in Kenya.

I've stayed at Mayfield every time I come into Nairobi (4 times and counting) and have yet to have a bad experience with them. You won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KenyanResident
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL USA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2010

We stayed here for two nights. This was the first night of our Missionary trip to Kenya. Our second night here was on our return, the evening before our flight back.

The first night was admittedly a bit of a culture shock. Fresh from America, the bathrooms seemed a old/outdated. The beds were comfortable. Some in our group shared bunk beds. Others had twin beds. Rooms slept 2-4 people, each room had a sink and mosquito netting. Bar soap was provided. All water from the taps was filtered. The hosts were very friendly. The food was hot and very good. Prices included breakfast, lunch, and dinner. Eating is family style: dishes are shared. There is no ordering off of a menu. No one in the group complained about the food. The lobby has snacks and water/soda/juice. There is internet access. Many others there used their laptops wirelessly. For those without a laptop, there are two Dell desktops in the basement. In addition, in the basement, there is satellite TV, a VHS player, and a DVD player. Guests can sit on the couches to share a movie or read from their extensive library. There is a craft room which we did not utilize. The guest house is fenced in and security guards were present. The group felt safe. The guest house is well maintained.

Depending on what part of the Guest house you are staying, the accommodations seemed different. In some of the bathrooms, there are bathtubs with hand held shower heads. In other bathrooms, there are showers. Of note, the showers had plenty of hot water and great water pressure. All of the bathrooms are tiled and all of the toilets are regular toilets, no "pit" toilets.

Most, if not all, of the guests are missionaries. This is not a resort, this is not a hotel. The accommodations are basic and simple. You can feel safe here, well fed, and can clean off nicely. For our group, the Mayfield Guest House was perfect. Staying here at the tail end of our missionary trip, the place seemed like heaven on earth. We highly recommend the Mayfield Guest House.

  • Stayed August 2010
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kai-Lan-Chicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2010

I stayed in Mayfield Guesthouse with a mission group in April 2010. We were stuck there because of the volcanic ashes. I find the staffs warm, friendly, and helpful. The hosts allow the freedom of hospitality flow around. I find strength and comfort when praying with many missionaries during meal time. I appreciate to have the access to computers and tv room, which helped me to connect to home front during such a critical time. I will certainly recommond this facility to friends and relatives.

  • Stayed April 2010
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LiveinChrist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kisumu, Kenya
Level Contributor
27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2008

I have stayed here a few times. For a guest house it's pretty nice. Breakfast is hot, showers are hot and they have a nice courtyard in the front. The courtyard is restful.

Bottled water, sodas and snacks on hand near the front desk. Be sure to ask for specific bed types when staying here. They have singles and bunks and doubles. Most rooms share a bathrooms and showers but there are plenty to go around.

Taxi's hang out in the front so it's easy to find a safe ride to the mall or the open market (under 10 minutes away). Staff is friendly, very helpful and can arrange for pick up and drop off at the airport.

Not a super fancy place but nice, clean and pleasant for Nairobi.

  • Liked — Taxi service
  • Disliked — It was all good for nairobi
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank cmeliw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
0.1 mi away
Ngong Hills Hotel
Ngong Hills Hotel
#42 of 161 in Nairobi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 25 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Ndemi Place
The Ndemi Place
#50 of 161 in Nairobi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
0.6 mi away
Amber Hotel
Amber Hotel
#20 of 161 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Fairview Hotel
Fairview Hotel
#6 of 161 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,182 reviews
1.1 mi away
LMS Guest House and Conference
0.9 mi away
Hibiscus Guest House
Hibiscus Guest House
#23 of 235 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mayfield Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mayfield Guest House

Property: Mayfield Guest House
Address: Ngong Road, Nairobi 00200, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 235 B&Bs / Inns in Nairobi
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
Mayfield Guest House Hotel Nairobi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing