We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not for an overnight” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Tribe Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Tribe Hotel
Ranked #8 of 156 Hotels in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence
Fareham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“not for an overnight”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2010

Our tour operator booked us in here for an overnight transit stay and we can't understand why? It took two hours to get there due to the traffic. The tour operator must have been aware of that because Nairobi traffic is notorious. After 9 hours travelling another two was ridiculous for an overnight with a very early flight the next morning. Left at 6:30am and that only took 45 minutes by beating the rush hour.
We didn't use much of the facilities in the hotel but can recommend the pizza bar in the village mall.
The rooms were good with large beds and tea making facilities. However, no milk for tea and when we asked for some from room service we were charged £1.50. Never before in 30 years travelling have we been charged for milk!
The breakfast was excellent (though we were rushing to make our connection).
Definitely a hotel catering for business people on expenses.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Polybin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

691 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    381
    215
    63
    16
    16
See reviews for
59
118
54
380
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2010

Tribe is the perfect blend of local and modern, boutique and authentic, luxury and laid back. The service is outstanding. The food and cocktails are perfection. The decor is drop-dead. Whether you're at the pool, the bar, the gym, or in your room, there is no forgetting you're in Africa, surrounded by the classiest statutes and carvings, a tribal edge with all the amenities. There is great shopping a few safe steps from the hotel and a concierge service happy to help you arrange anything from a day excursion to the rift valley to a 10 day safari on the Mara. With Tribe is the perfect place to rest your head in between. I wasn't there for business, but a perfect place to stay for business travelers who are looking for NY or London connection capabilities right in the heart of east Africa. Don''t miss it.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sharonmaya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crowthorne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
128 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2010

Service very poor and slow, food atrocious , so bad we did not have to pay, could not use pool or sit by pool due to as external event.Second stay, no hot water ( not told on arrival), room not clean and bedding smelt of perfume ( had to change rooms at 11.00pm), ask for light meal and was told to go across road to shopping mall etc etc.
Also too far fromm airport , 1.5-2.0 hours in rush our.
Only good part, we got full refund for second night with no arguement.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2010

This was my first time at Tribe Hotel. The hotel looks fabulous and has all the comforts one needs to feel at home. The porters at the entrance were very friendly and helpful all the time. The outside pool area looks amazing. The room is very cozy and has a very warm feel to it. The bed was extremely comfortable. The television channels need to be tuned in better, they are not tuned in back to back and you need to scroll through many channels to actually find one that works. Penina at the front desk is very sweet and helpful, she however made a mistake with payment on check in, we paid $360, she posted it as $340, we then paid an extra $20 as the total for accommodation was $380, she then posted the $20 and had to repost the first mistaken amount as well. These kind of mistakes can be avoided. Penina apologized for the mistake and all was okay. We also had a driver that was supposed to collect us on the morning of check out and take us to the airport, the driver hadn't showed up and Penina was so kind as to call around any try to get hold of the driver or the specific taxi company. The hotel is perfectly situated at the village market, and all I had to do was walk across the road to get some shopping done. Housekeeping staff was very speedy and efficient when I needed something pressed. Overall, I had a great stay and will definitely come back.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ResProteaKla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2010

I stayed at the Tribe Hotel for two weeks in October 2010. I was visiting Kenya for business, and after long work days, the Tribe was a wonderful environment to come back to.

The minimalist and trendy decor, warmed up with African art, friendly and always smiling staff, heavenly comfortable rooms/beds, free internet access, good food and a beautiful pool area, were all key factors in making my stay a memorable one. Also, the Village Market, a posh and secure shopping mall, which is located only a few steps away from the hotel, made for very efficient last minute shopping before I headed back home to Canada.

This hotel is not located in the downtown area, but this was not a key point for me, as I was driving to various remote areas almost everyday.

In a nutshell, I would strongly advise you consider this hotel, should you want a peaceful and comfortable stay if you ever visit Nairobi!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank IamLili
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando
Level Contributor
92 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2010

"They make you feel like royalty" my 9 year old daughter summed it up perfectly.
This small hotel is located outside the city of Nairobi. The hotel is gated & has security guards. The staff is amazing. The decor is beautiful. The hotel is designed with every comfort in mind.
We had a small suite, which included a king bed, a large shower & bathroom, a sitting area, a large screen tv, and a desk. We also had a small fridge, and they supplied bottled water. The only negative comment is the shower floor was super slippery, they need to fix that.
The hotel has a restaurant that serves very good food, very reasonable prices, excellent service. The menu is limited, but everything is good. The ambiance is amazing. You are seated overlooking the fabulous pool area. You can eat lunch outside by the pool if you like. You can also order room service. They have a private dining room within the dining room, super elegant!
The pool area is a series of waterfalls, stepping stones, and swimming area. The only thing negative I can say is that pool was not heated, and the water was freezing. Too bad! The pool area was spectacular in design.
The hotel offers laundry service with a fast return time.
This is the place where no request is too much.
A very short walk from the hotel is a large shopping complex. The shopping is also in a security gated, guarded area. There are souvenier shops & two money exchanges & a food court.
A word about exchanging the US $: Be sure to check the "series" number on all your bills! Nobody wants to accept any bills older than the "2000" series! You will have a hard time exchanging them. Be sure your bills are "2000" series!
On Fridays there is a Masi Market at the shopping complex. The sellers are VERY aggressive, so if this will bother you, don't go. The prices were very high, you have to bargain hard!
Our stay at the Tribe Hotel was truly amazing. I highly recommend this property.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank witwisAlex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2010

I stayed at Tribe for three separate nights in late Sept/early Oct, on my way in and out of the Masi Mara and my experiences were mixed.
There is no doubt that this is trying to be an extremely stylish hotel and something different for Nairobi. Having stayed at sister hotel Melrose Arch in Jo'burg I was excited to be staying here and had high hopes. The design, on the surface, is pretty similar but it is just not *quite* as slick.
High points were the pool and the general entrance lobby and the manager introducing himself to me on my first visit. Food in the restaurant was also very good and they had decent wine by the glass.
Reception however seemed pretty stressed and chaotic whenever I arrived or left, which could just be a symptom of new staff in a new hotel. On my third visit they didn't remember me at all which is a shame as it is that kind of touch that makes a hotel stand out. Then, despite my booking clearly stating I required a twin room I was quizzed about whether that really meant two beds as my room had been set up as a double. After a wait of half an hour while they sorted it out (with a free glass of wine which was nice) we arrived in our room and discovered that the air con had packed up and there was an unsightly, noisy portable unit in there. When I complained I had to wait again and eventually was upgraded to a business suite. This was appreciated but I actually thought, particularly for a new hotel, that the room was pretty scruffy with scratched woodwork and also a view of the building work still going on outside. I heard two other guests also complaining about their rooms not being ready or simply not good enough. We were also affected by a Microsoft conference going on which meant there were no outside tables available for lunch.
The concierge service was also patchy, with emails not necessarily being followed up, although the lady was very sweet and helpful when I went to the desk to find out what was going on.
An important thing to be aware of is how far the hotel (particularly with Nairobi traffic) is from the airport. I was advised by reception to allow three hours to get there in the rush hour and while in fact it took an hour and a half, I wouldn't stay there again if I had an early morning flight.
I want to like and recommend Tribe and I hope that the teething problems will be sorted out. I do think however that for the international prices they are charging that the hotel is not yet living up to its international aspirations which is a shame.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Blondeonwine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
3.1 mi away
Villa Rosa Kempinski Nairobi
2.5 mi away
Sankara Nairobi
Sankara Nairobi
#10 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 699 reviews
3.7 mi away
Fairmont The Norfolk
Fairmont The Norfolk
#4 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 792 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.6 mi away
Hemingways Nairobi
Hemingways Nairobi
#1 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 330 reviews
4.2 mi away
Sarova Stanley
Sarova Stanley
#6 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 939 reviews
7.1 mi away
The Boma Nairobi
The Boma Nairobi
#5 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 522 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tribe Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tribe Hotel

Property: Tribe Hotel
Address: Limuru Road | The Village Market, Gigiri, Nairobi 00621, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi > Highridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Nairobi
#6 Spa Hotel in Nairobi
#8 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
#10 Romantic Hotel in Nairobi
#12 Family Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Tribe Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 137
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set apart from the crowded city centre and a modern contrast to a city of colonially-inspired getaways, Tribe Hotel located in the lush suburbs of the city echoes nothing but the ultimate in luxury and tranquility. It’s sleek architecture and crisp lines are sure to set forth a brand new experience in hotel accommodation. Drawing inspiration from its African heritage, the interior of the hotel boasts exquisite art, crafts and furnishings handpicked from the farthest corners of the continent. Each of the 137 rooms is carefully designed to whisk you away from the average mundane hotel room into a world of chic and hip design with an emphasis on detail and luxury. An ideal destination for those craving increased intimacy and comfort with an added dose of personal service. From free high speed internet access, complimentary mini bars, luxury airport transfers, warm welcomes to express check in and check-out facilities, you can be sure that Tribe understands the individual needs of just about any traveler! Adjacent to the hotel is The Village Market, the largest shopping and recreational complex in Eastern Africa, and Nairobi’s premier retail and cultural destination. With over 150 shops and services, set within flowing rivers and waterfalls. It is also home to the weekly Maasai Market which hosts 350 artists for a colorful display of crafts, paintings, beadworks and fabrics every Friday. Bringing a whole new pampering experience to Nairobi is the hotel’s Kaya Spa. Using carefully selected products, Kaya’s uniquely developed treatments are designed to harmonize both the body and mind. The six treatment rooms infuse a sense of tranquility through inspiring design and decor that is sure to contribute to the relaxation and re-invigoration of your entire spa experience. Tribe’s signature restaurant recently launched a brand new menu carefully designed by the Executive Chef and his team. Inspired by the open flame grill, the menu is a tribute to local farmers; paying homage to crisp flavors and fresh, organic ingredients. The Jiko team has also reinvented Tribe’s famous Sunday brunch; the perfectly constructed menu features an extended dessert buffet, unlimited breezy cocktails, amongst an array of other feasts for the entire family. Jiko authentically holds true to the glamour of the hotel while offering guests the delights of whimsy and fantasy through a playful approach to presentation. Located on the lobby level of the hotel, Suite 101, the new pastry offering at Tribe, is a place where you can come at anytime of the day. Using only the finest ingredients, the pastry shop offers an array of hot and cold treats ranging from custom and novelty cakes, decadent French macaroons, designer cupcakes, homemade chocolates and ice creams to bespoke sandwiches made using daily freshly baked bread. Whether it be for some intimate time alone with a tall mug of chai tea latte and a deliciously delectable pastry or a high tea with friends, Suite 101 is definitely a must try for any sweet tooth! Tribe’s serene, charming and charismatic surroundings undoubtedly place it among the most striking, and luxurious boutique properties on the African continent, guaranteeing to meet and exceed the needs of any guest from jet setting celebrities to time constrained business travelers looking to add an urban flair to their Kenya-getaways! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, getaroom.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Tribe Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tribe The Village Market Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing