We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Art within art!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tribe Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Tribe Hotel to your Saves list
Tribe Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Limuru Road | The Village Market, Gigiri, Nairobi 00621, Kenya (Highridge)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 156 Hotels in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence
Manama, Bahrain
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Art within art!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2010

I Have just returned from a 9 day trip to Kenya, filled with safaris and what may. my trip started and ended with a night in Nairobi at the Tribe hotel.

Tribe hotel was listed by Conde Nast Traveler as one of the hot hotels for 2010 and I couldn't agree more!

The hotel architecture, textures, colors, layout and more importantly, collection of artwork, is surprising. hundreds of antique and original African Artwork pieces are displayed throughout the hotel with amazing taste. Attention to details is everywhere and the vibe is modern yet ancient.

The staff is extremely capable and well trained; Always present without being over present; Always smiling and ready to assist and serve.

I was given an upgrade to one of their two story penthouses and didn’t want to leave the room!

The pool area is very well thought out and the water at a perfect temperature.

Food was also exquisite and rich. The Sunday brunch outside, with a live band playing just the right music, not too loud and not too low, made my last day in Kenya wonderful and made it very difficult for me to get into one of the hotel’s comfortable limousines back to the airport, and to real life.

I highly recommend this hotel to anyone going to Nairobi. I would even recommend you take a detour to Nairobi if you are somewhere around, and enjoy the hotel’s amenities and service.

Two thumbs up Tribe !

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cghammachi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

689 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    380
    214
    63
    16
    16
See reviews for
59
118
54
378
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kathmandu
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2010

Moved here from another hotel for a few nights just to check it out as had heard it was great but that was a big mistake! Tribe has a facade of 5 star hotel, but its a very thin facade and you start to see through it fast! service is HIGHLY friendly but inept, room amenities are inconsistent, food is average to bad (don't try room service) and the noise is VERY LOUD all over the hotel. there is music, boring, same beat all the time background music EVERYWHERE, you can't get away from it. its at the gym, the pool, the restaurants, the lounges, everywhere. even when a live band was playing at the pool they left all the background music on so you heard them both at once! Awful!

Also, if you are in a room on the 4th floor, you might feel like you are in a nightclub until 1am as the rooftop bar is pumping loud music till then., If you are near the pool you might have same problem as they have live events there. THIS IS NOT A GOOD BUSINESS HOTEL as it you cant get any rest. Its a great hotel if you want to party all night and "be seen" in a fake posh location, but that's really all it is.

lastly, the gym is half way done, the spa isn't open, and the hotel feels unfinished. the rooms are gorgeous but small, and not very functional. the swimming pool is pretty but small, no laps just bar stools throughout!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank einsomalia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
678 reviews
129 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1,772 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2010

Tribe Hotel is an amazing work of art. It is a business type hotel, but feels so Africa. We were amazed by the intricate details put into every part of the hotel. Everything from the curtains to the walls to the lighting to the decor was just impressive. We just walked around the hotel and admired the architecture and decorations for quite some time. There are really no views from the hotel, so don't worry about where your room is located too much.

LOCATION - Tribe is located next door to the Village Market, which is an outdoor shopping mall. It is on the outskirts of Nairobi in the posh embassy district of town, on the opposite side of town as the airport, so check what time you're arriving. If it's at rush hour plan on a good 1.5 hours to get there. If it's at other times, then probably 40 minutes. It's not really that far, but the traffic in Nairobi is just a nightmare. You can walk next door to the Village Market and do some shopping, get your cell phone or blackberry set up at Safaricom, catch a movie or get set up with supplies. The one thing they don't have is anywhere selling safari-type clothing. The surrounding area is posh and wooded, lovely actually. There are mansions all around, and the road winds through the forest. Just plan around the traffic.

ROOMS - We were in a Superior Room, which I guess differs from a deluxe room only in size and size of the TV. The room was lovely, spotless, spacious and very attractive. There were a couple of small maintenance issues, but a phone call to the front desk got those fixed right away. The bathroom is separated from the rest of the room by frosted glass, so consider that if you're into your privacy in the bathroom. Our room was on the bottom floor, which was convenient for breakfast and the pool area, but at 8:00 AM every day they vacuumed outside, waking us up. I'd ask for a higher floor next time. Large flat-screen TV, nice desk for working, and very African decor made for a nice stay.

SERVICE - With the exception of the front desk, the staff was all extraordinarily friendly, especially the security guards outside. We were always met with a "jambo" and a smile. The front desk was not overly friendly or helpful, and when we made requests they were slow to respond, but they were not bad, just not as friendly as the rest of the staff. We were called also by the guest relations manager to ask if we were enjoying our stay and if there was anything they could do for us, which we appreciated. Overall slow, but that is typical in Kenya, so you can't be too hard on them.

AMENITIES - There is a beautiful pool area just outside the restaurant, perfect to sit and have a cocktail and relax. The restaurant was very nice, with mostly good food, and a lovely ambience. We wished for a bit more African food, as it was pretty generic international selections, but we ate there twice and were satisfied. The breakfast was decent, nothing to write home about but fine. There is a rooftop hookah lounge which was nice in the evening. A bit of music, and if you like to smoke hookah there were lots of different flavors.

BUSINESS - There is free wi-fi throughout the hotel, which was very nice. This is a comfortable business hotel, particularly popular with the diplomatic set due to its location.

Overall, we loved the Tribe hotel. It had all the amenities we needed, a lovely ambience particularly for a business type hotel, and the staff was very nice. A beautiful place. Would stay there again for sure.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Johann&Sandra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beverly Hills, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2010

I was thoroughly impressed with Tribe Hotel from their remarkable décor to their impeccable service. To start, the building is in a beautiful setting surrounded by green foliage and varied landscape. Once you are greeted by genuine smiling faces at the door you walk into such a tasteful and modern hotel that it’s hard to remember you are in Africa! The food is exceptional with a wide range of choices available. Their gym is great--they have a machine I had never seen before where you can do over 200 exercises! I usually like to workout on my own but their gym experts are so knowledgeable and friendly I couldn’t leave without asking them to set up a workout for me. I used their business center also. Their internet was faster than I expected, I got more work done there than any other place during my trip. My favorite spot in the hotel was the beautiful rooftop lounge, suitably called Nest, with comfortable couches and just the right ambiance where I could enjoy the vibe from a crowd but also relax and take in the scenery. And the proximity to Village Market is so convenient; there, I found all sorts of good places to shop and get souvenirs, I could even do my nails! Anddd they have the best food court I have ever tried in any mall. But back to the hotel…It’s fabulous! The place was so beautiful and their staff so attentive, I did not want to leave. I am already trying to plan a second visit! With Tribe Hotel in Nairobi, there’s no other place worth going!!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank travelgirl90210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kragujevac
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2010

The hotel web site says its 25 minutes from the airport. May in a private helicopter. It took us two and a half hous to get from JKIA to the Tribe which is ALL the WAY across town. For 230$ a night the duvet had holes init, the electric sockets were coming out of the walls, house keeping did not answer the phone on three different tries letting th ephone ring 50 ties. Had to eventually hand carry the laundry to the desk. Checking out they conveniently "could not find the credit card impression for extras they took" but I "was not to worry" although I was double charged in Guinea and my colleguae was just double charged in Zambia for the same thing. Coupled with the fact that you are basically a hotel prisoner in Nairobi becasue of the crime it just is not worth it.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kraguman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
40 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2010

Just perfect. End of story!

  • Stayed September 2010
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sefarebsb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
152 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2010

Stunning hotel - amazing design, good trendy rooms and excellent staff.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anon100001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
3.1 mi away
Villa Rosa Kempinski Nairobi
2.5 mi away
Sankara Nairobi
Sankara Nairobi
#10 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 696 reviews
3.7 mi away
Fairmont The Norfolk
Fairmont The Norfolk
#4 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 790 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.6 mi away
Hemingways Nairobi
Hemingways Nairobi
#1 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 325 reviews
4.2 mi away
Sarova Stanley
Sarova Stanley
#6 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 936 reviews
7.1 mi away
The Boma Nairobi
The Boma Nairobi
#5 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 519 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tribe Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tribe Hotel

Property: Tribe Hotel
Address: Limuru Road | The Village Market, Gigiri, Nairobi 00621, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi > Highridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Nairobi
#6 Spa Hotel in Nairobi
#8 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
#10 Romantic Hotel in Nairobi
#12 Family Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Tribe Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 137
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set apart from the crowded city centre and a modern contrast to a city of colonially-inspired getaways, Tribe Hotel located in the lush suburbs of the city echoes nothing but the ultimate in luxury and tranquility. It’s sleek architecture and crisp lines are sure to set forth a brand new experience in hotel accommodation. Drawing inspiration from its African heritage, the interior of the hotel boasts exquisite art, crafts and furnishings handpicked from the farthest corners of the continent. Each of the 137 rooms is carefully designed to whisk you away from the average mundane hotel room into a world of chic and hip design with an emphasis on detail and luxury. An ideal destination for those craving increased intimacy and comfort with an added dose of personal service. From free high speed internet access, complimentary mini bars, luxury airport transfers, warm welcomes to express check in and check-out facilities, you can be sure that Tribe understands the individual needs of just about any traveler! Adjacent to the hotel is The Village Market, the largest shopping and recreational complex in Eastern Africa, and Nairobi’s premier retail and cultural destination. With over 150 shops and services, set within flowing rivers and waterfalls. It is also home to the weekly Maasai Market which hosts 350 artists for a colorful display of crafts, paintings, beadworks and fabrics every Friday. Bringing a whole new pampering experience to Nairobi is the hotel’s Kaya Spa. Using carefully selected products, Kaya’s uniquely developed treatments are designed to harmonize both the body and mind. The six treatment rooms infuse a sense of tranquility through inspiring design and decor that is sure to contribute to the relaxation and re-invigoration of your entire spa experience. Tribe’s signature restaurant recently launched a brand new menu carefully designed by the Executive Chef and his team. Inspired by the open flame grill, the menu is a tribute to local farmers; paying homage to crisp flavors and fresh, organic ingredients. The Jiko team has also reinvented Tribe’s famous Sunday brunch; the perfectly constructed menu features an extended dessert buffet, unlimited breezy cocktails, amongst an array of other feasts for the entire family. Jiko authentically holds true to the glamour of the hotel while offering guests the delights of whimsy and fantasy through a playful approach to presentation. Located on the lobby level of the hotel, Suite 101, the new pastry offering at Tribe, is a place where you can come at anytime of the day. Using only the finest ingredients, the pastry shop offers an array of hot and cold treats ranging from custom and novelty cakes, decadent French macaroons, designer cupcakes, homemade chocolates and ice creams to bespoke sandwiches made using daily freshly baked bread. Whether it be for some intimate time alone with a tall mug of chai tea latte and a deliciously delectable pastry or a high tea with friends, Suite 101 is definitely a must try for any sweet tooth! Tribe’s serene, charming and charismatic surroundings undoubtedly place it among the most striking, and luxurious boutique properties on the African continent, guaranteeing to meet and exceed the needs of any guest from jet setting celebrities to time constrained business travelers looking to add an urban flair to their Kenya-getaways! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Booking.com, HotelTravel.com, getaroom.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your Tribe Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tribe The Village Market Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing