We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“One Planet - One Tribe” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tribe Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Tribe Hotel
Ranked #10 of 164 Hotels in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence
Bloomfield Hills, Michigan
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“One Planet - One Tribe”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2010

Tribe (The Village Market Hotel)
The theme, “One Planet – One Tribe”, describes the philosophy of this hotel’s management. From one’s first steps into the lobby, the art and architecture brings out the spirit of Africa. The hotel’s rooms, pools, gardens, reception areas and restaurants reflect a highly modern approach. I couldn’t believe I was staying in a hotel in the middle of Africa. Accompanying this high quality is the service which was exceptional. It is no wonder the Tribe Hotel continues to receive awards from media and organizations from around the world. It is 5-stars +. You really can’t get any better than that.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Carole_Herdegen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

814 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    454
    246
    76
    20
    18
See reviews for
72
146
58
445
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
washington D.C.
Level Contributor
98 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2010

Just stayed at this hotel and I was very impressed. Really really hip--great bars and very nice rooms--somewhat akin to a 'W' Hotel in the States. Kind of expensive, but Nairobi is pricey at times. Very good security and positioned within the Village Market, which is a very ritzy set of restaurants and stores--2 minute walk from the hotel. Could be a very romantic spot and its away from the downtown area. Would love to stay here again. Apparently partially owned by Iranian interests though.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank doberman32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2010

Fantastic hotel in Nairobi. We usually stay at the Norfork, but from now on we'll be returning to the Tribe. Lovely room and common areas. My only question mark is the restaurant. Breakfast was good but we had some friends over for dinner one night and each of us found the portions to be tiny or nothing exceptional. The Spa is not yet up and running. They have just one massage room and I wasn't able to get an appointment.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Walkabout77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banff, Canada
Level Contributor
136 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2010

This hotel ranks as one of the most interesting I've ever experienced, anywhere. And I've been everywhere (except Antarctica). Accent lighting, the use of decorative pieces, clever breaking up of visual lines and creative use of materials give this hotel a funky, edgy take on Africana.

The food is very good. The service is very good.

The rooms are nicely appointed, with the only drawback being the typically African neglect of correct water drainage from the shower. (I haven't been to a hotel anywhere in Africa that has ever gotten this correct - they just can't do grading/plumbing I guess).

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank windsandandstars
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2010

I was in awe of the modern architecture when i first stepped inside. It is full of hundreds of african art, each one really interesting to look at with deco-art furnitures to match. The hotel gives that homey feel which is something not common among other hotels. You can stay in every corner and will be comfortable. The staff are very hospitable and friendly too. It is a spot worth a tour

Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank LadyJaniz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2010

As said, this is easily the best exoerience I have ever had in a hotel, and I have stayed in many. The staff are totally attentive, the rooms are spacious and in mint condition (they check the room twice a day to ensure everything is in order), and the setting is totally idyllic. Daily breakfast is served with a huge array of goodies, lunch and supper are usually buffet-style but you have the option to choose off the menu.
Big, comfortabnle couches and chairs surround the pool and is a great place to just get lost in your thoughts. I spent so much time out there! Also upstairs is the Moroccan-style cocktail bar. If you go there be sure to try the watermelon cosmo! Divine!
It is also situated right next to the Village Market, where all types of shopping can be done while bands jam in the courtyard, and a Masai Market is set up each Friday for all the gifts for everyone at home. Any taxi's needed are organised quickly by the staff, which was very refreshing for me, and the concierge is very helpful to point you in the right direction for whatever it is you need or wherever you want to go..
100% the place to stay if you're visiting Nairobi. Ive already sent a whole group of people there to stay after their stay on the Masai Mara!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank antheascholtz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Airborne
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2010

I've had the pleasure of spending a couple days at the Tribe - Village Market Hotel in Nairobi this week. Since my occupation requires around 120 hotel nights each year, I was pleasantly surprised with the quality of this recent addition to the Nairobi hotel scene. Not only is The Tribe a huge improvement over the dire hotel situation in Kenya's capital, but it rates as one of my favourites worldwide.

It's location in the Northwest suburbs of Nairobi was initially a concern to me when looking at the map. In reality it is not far at all, and a 15 minute drive to downtown, and 35 minutes to the Jomo Kenyatta Int'l Airport. It is literally steps away from the Village Market Mall which offers even better shopping than one finds downtown. It has a nice open-air food court where you can enjoy a tea or coffee or lunch after buying fresh fruit at Zucchini's farm market, catching a movie at the cinema or a game at the bowling alley.

I usually avoid eating at hotels, and prefer to venture into the various cities I visit for a meal. However, due to my late arrival, my colleagues and I had no choice (or energy) to go on teh road and we went downstairs for the dinner buffet, sitting outside poolside. It was a good decision, as the buffet was delicious. All the meats are cook to order, so really and truly its not a traditional buffet. The starches and vegetables were nice and hot, and the deserts (which I wasn't going to have, but couldn't resist) were supreme. All for a very decent price.

The first thing that you notice as you enter the lobby is the spaciousness and high quality African art everywhere you look. I later discovered that The Tribe boasts the second-largest private art collection in the world. This is both in public areas and in the rooms.

However, it is the smartly appointed rooms that will win you over! In addition to unique and beautiful art that's in your room, it has a perfect balance of modern designs, African feel, and a homely feeling. The rooms are ergonomic and the bed is very comfortable with a nice duvet and comfortable pillows. That, combined with a high thread count bedding resulted in myself sleeping right through breakfast the first morning!
My biggest pet peeve in hotels is usually the shower, and the only competition for The Tribe's shower is the shower at Hilton Sydney. It has what's often referred to as the 'rainfall showerhead'. With excellent water pressure a nice hot shower at the Tribe after a long trip is delightful.

My room had a view of the lush hill where the International School of East Africa is located, although I understand you can have different views depending where you are located. There's free Wi-Fi in the room, which is great. You can also borrow DVDs from their library to watch in your room.

On the 4th floor rooftop, there's a Shisha spot/ bar where you can enjoy the mild Nairobi nights on the rooftop and enjoy a drink or a shisha on the comfortable oversize couches.

One pleasant surprise, especially for those used to the surly service at the Intercontinental or the atrocious Regency Grand, the staff at the Tribe is exceptional. From the welcome at check in, restaurant and bar staff, and the efficient and quick checkout, the staff was friendly, helpful and efficient.

The only complaint I have with The Tribe, is that their fitness centre is not ready yet. You do get access to the gym at the Village Market for a nominal fee, but that was an axcuse for me not to excercise. Had the gym been ready, I would have certainly went.
However, I had a nice walk in the neighbourhood. The upstale area is very pleasant and safe for a stroll as many embassies as well as the UN mission is just around the corner.

I was informed that the equipment has arrived and is being installed. So I hope that it will be ready when I return to Nairobi in May. While I dreaded my business trips to Nairobi before because of the hotels, I'm actually looking forward to returning.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OnTheMove876
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
3.1 mi away
Villa Rosa Kempinski Nairobi
3.7 mi away
Fairmont The Norfolk
Fairmont The Norfolk
#6 of 164 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 925 reviews
4.2 mi away
Sarova Stanley
Sarova Stanley
#7 of 164 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,075 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.6 mi away
Hemingways Nairobi
Hemingways Nairobi
#1 of 164 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 450 reviews
2.5 mi away
Sankara Nairobi
Sankara Nairobi
#11 of 164 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 819 reviews
3.0 mi away
DusitD2 Nairobi
DusitD2 Nairobi
#12 of 164 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 367 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tribe Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tribe Hotel

Property: Tribe Hotel
Address: Limuru Road | The Village Market, Gigiri, Nairobi 00621, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi > Highridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Nairobi
#6 Spa Hotel in Nairobi
#10 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
#10 Romantic Hotel in Nairobi
#12 Family Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Tribe Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 137
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set apart from the crowded city centre and a modern contrast to a city of colonially-inspired getaways, Tribe Hotel located in the lush suburbs of the city echoes nothing but the ultimate in luxury and tranquility. It’s sleek architecture and crisp lines are sure to set forth a brand new experience in hotel accommodation. Drawing inspiration from its African heritage, the interior of the hotel boasts exquisite art, crafts and furnishings handpicked from the farthest corners of the continent. Each of the 137 rooms is carefully designed to whisk you away from the average mundane hotel room into a world of chic and hip design with an emphasis on detail and luxury. An ideal destination for those craving increased intimacy and comfort with an added dose of personal service. From free high speed internet access, complimentary mini bars, luxury airport transfers, warm welcomes to express check in and check-out facilities, you can be sure that Tribe understands the individual needs of just about any traveler! Adjacent to the hotel is The Village Market, the largest shopping and recreational complex in Eastern Africa, and Nairobi’s premier retail and cultural destination. With over 150 shops and services, set within flowing rivers and waterfalls. It is also home to the weekly Maasai Market which hosts 350 artists for a colorful display of crafts, paintings, beadworks and fabrics every Friday. Bringing a whole new pampering experience to Nairobi is the hotel’s Kaya Spa. Using carefully selected products, Kaya’s uniquely developed treatments are designed to harmonize both the body and mind. The six treatment rooms infuse a sense of tranquility through inspiring design and decor that is sure to contribute to the relaxation and re-invigoration of your entire spa experience. Tribe’s signature restaurant recently launched a brand new menu carefully designed by the Executive Chef and his team. Inspired by the open flame grill, the menu is a tribute to local farmers; paying homage to crisp flavors and fresh, organic ingredients. The Jiko team has also reinvented Tribe’s famous Sunday brunch; the perfectly constructed menu features an extended dessert buffet, unlimited breezy cocktails, amongst an array of other feasts for the entire family. Jiko authentically holds true to the glamour of the hotel while offering guests the delights of whimsy and fantasy through a playful approach to presentation. Located on the lobby level of the hotel, Suite 101, the new pastry offering at Tribe, is a place where you can come at anytime of the day. Using only the finest ingredients, the pastry shop offers an array of hot and cold treats ranging from custom and novelty cakes, decadent French macaroons, designer cupcakes, homemade chocolates and ice creams to bespoke sandwiches made using daily freshly baked bread. Whether it be for some intimate time alone with a tall mug of chai tea latte and a deliciously delectable pastry or a high tea with friends, Suite 101 is definitely a must try for any sweet tooth! Tribe’s serene, charming and charismatic surroundings undoubtedly place it among the most striking, and luxurious boutique properties on the African continent, guaranteeing to meet and exceed the needs of any guest from jet setting celebrities to time constrained business travelers looking to add an urban flair to their Kenya-getaways! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Jovago.com, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your Tribe Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tribe The Village Market Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing