We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

“Beautiful, but....” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Tribe Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Tribe Hotel
Ranked #8 of 156 Hotels in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence
Ballston
Level Contributor
89 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Beautiful, but....”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2010

As a boutique hotel, it is beautiful -- the architecture, the decor. No doubt about it. But....

RE: The hotel WIFI -- and the signal strength is "very low". VERY LOW? This is the hotel's network. Their signal ought to be "very good". I can understand that the ISP into which they feed being overloaded or otherwise unreliable, but the internal network being bad?

The hotel is several miles outside of Nairobi and be prepared to be isolated, except for the Village Market. The "shopping mall" is the cat's pajamas to the locals and pretty ho hum to me and my party. The hotel prides itself on everything that I hate about it. It is a niche, boutique hotel. Minimalist everything. Hyper modern everything. The trouble is, while some of this stuff look really neat on the cover of Architectural Digest, it is not functional in real life. There is no bathroom, but there is vanity area at one end of the room. The vanity itself is a low table in green glass; no underneath, no drawers, just space. On top of it sits a porcelain bowl, the sink. It is deep and not very wide. The water comes out of a chrome pipe that comes to the side of the bowel; there is a joystick on top to control water flow. So, every time you want to adjust the water flow, you reach over, outside the sink, and get water all over everything. Not to mention that the little joystick is not finely calibrated, so you tend to get too much or too little of whatever you want whenever you touch it. Oh yes, I looked for 24 hours to find how to close the sink stopper -- no little lever or button or pull -- you have to press on the stopper to close it, then bop it smartly to make it pop open. I really don't like plunging into the scum to open the drain, then maneuvering the joystick to clean off my hand.

One entire end of the room is the john. You enter and to your right is this ugly green vanity table with the big white sink bowl, and to the right of that is a glass wall, with the toilet proudly sitting there to be seen from all across the room. There is no tub, just a shower, with a glass partition that does not stop the shower water from splashing all over the toilet area floor and out into the sink area. I come back to the room at the end of the day feeling like a shower and ask what is worse -- being grimy until the morning, or putting up with cleaning up the bloody mess a shower makes. Grime won. At least in the morning I was able to walk away from the mess and the staff would put it right.

There is no chair except for an economic desk chair; the only way to watch the wall mounted TV is to sit on the bed. The banquette, very uncomfortable, had to serve as the luggage rack. No dresser, just a couple of very small shelves in the closet to put your undies and such.

My room overlooked the pool -- the site of the Friday evening buffet, live disco, and huge crowd. Then the Saturday night wedding party. Then the Sunday buffet with band (1000 until 1630.) LOTS of noise. As the window was broken and wouldn't shut properly, it was even worse than normal.

There are two lifts. One is fine. The other one has no lights. I reported this to management, who told me that actually, these are stars on the ceiling -- the dark and the stars are to remind me of the immensity of the African night sky. (Seriously. I couldn’t make this up.) Blank the African night sky -- I couldn't see to push the bloody buttons.

light switch on-off pads are gunmetal grey with the name of the pad ("Hall"; "Master"; "Bed") etched subtly into the plastic in -- gunmetal grey! Unless you have a flashlight and can hit the etching at an angle, you can't see the label.

Beautiful, but in the rooms, not practical.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rover1313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

722 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    400
    225
    64
    17
    16
See reviews for
66
124
54
395
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Naij
Level Contributor
29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2010

The Tribe is a beautiful hotel! The Interior Decor is lovely. I liked eveything about this hotel except there was no bath tub in the room. The staff are very warm and friendly. I enjoyed my time there though it was short. I look forward to going back.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Yasmina9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DXB
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2010

I stayed at the tribe for one night and found the staff excellent, very friendly and courteous, right from the GM thro to the car park attendants, the hotel itself is fantastic the décor very rustically African. I stayed in the new section and the room was brilliant , awesome bathtub and open bathroom. The only criticism is have is that the menu on the 4th floor bar is rather limited, and the lack of any entertainment at the hotel itself. Apart from hat I would definitely recommend this hotel. Good work guys keep it up

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MoeZDxb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
US
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2010

Everything about the hotel is updated to what you'd expect in a high quality modern establishment. Although it is stylized very nouveau, there are touches of African art decor that add culture and a uniqueness. Many of the hotels in Kenya focus on the leisurely resort appearance, but the Tribe is more of a class act.

I know people normally read these reviews for the negatives. I really enjoyed this hotel, and recommend it. With that in mind, here are a list of problems I faced:

1. Power. I've traveled a lot in Kenya and other parts of Africa, and I can tell you that you will normally encounter the same problem no matter where you go. When there are power issues, the hotel will go off the grid and run a generator. Some hotels will not tell you that during the day this is a normal occurrence. In fact, some hotels will automatically switch to a generator during the day if there are not power issues.

2. AC. The AC in the room will run continuously (if on) when the hotel is connected to the city grid. However, when they switch to the generator, it will run for a short period and turn off. This is so that the generator is not overtaxed. You will have to either keep turning it on, open a window, or go out of your room.

3. Shower. I like that my room had a standing shower with a large "rain" faucet. That is a personal opinion...I've never liked having to climb in and out of a tub just so I could take a shower. The shower is a plus for me. Unfortunately the glass that separates the bathroom from the shower is not sealed. Water leaks under the glass and will not drain. Even turning on the water for a short period of time will cause this.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelingReviewerGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level Contributor
69 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2010

Highly recommend this beautiful hotel. The staff and management were wonderful. Each floor of the hotel has different types of African art. The restaurant is well staffed and the foodis very good. The rooms were comfortable and well maintained. The wi-fi was a bit spotty but manageable. Overall a great experience.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fad3449
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2010

"I don't understand your problem". This is the best the staff of this hotel will be able to do if you ask them why a room without a bathtub and a direct view on the noisy central air conditioning unit is as expensive than another spacious room with a pool view and a bathtub. You would not pay more than $40 dollars a night for some of the rooms, although others are acceptable.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tomjones10150
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
normiego
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2010

From the second you are driven through the gates of this incredible property you feel like you have been transported to another world -- and in some ways you have. Just outside the chaos of Nairobi, this oasis awaits. The modern yet inherently African architecture and design are literally awe-inspiring. The staff -- incredibly warm, knowledgeable, and helpful - by the second day you feel like they are your local friends more than employees. The food and amenities are also beyond compare. Having traveled the world and been lucky enough to stay in some of the finest hotels, I rate Tribe among the very very best!

Stayed February 2010, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank normiego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
3.1 mi away
Villa Rosa Kempinski Nairobi
3.7 mi away
Fairmont The Norfolk
Fairmont The Norfolk
#4 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 840 reviews
4.2 mi away
Sarova Stanley
Sarova Stanley
#7 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 980 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Sankara Nairobi
Sankara Nairobi
#10 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 740 reviews
10.6 mi away
Hemingways Nairobi
Hemingways Nairobi
#1 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 368 reviews
7.1 mi away
The Boma Nairobi
The Boma Nairobi
#5 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 554 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tribe Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tribe Hotel

Property: Tribe Hotel
Address: Limuru Road | The Village Market, Gigiri, Nairobi 00621, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi > Highridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Nairobi
#6 Spa Hotel in Nairobi
#8 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
#10 Romantic Hotel in Nairobi
#12 Family Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Tribe Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 137
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set apart from the crowded city centre and a modern contrast to a city of colonially-inspired getaways, Tribe Hotel located in the lush suburbs of the city echoes nothing but the ultimate in luxury and tranquility. It’s sleek architecture and crisp lines are sure to set forth a brand new experience in hotel accommodation. Drawing inspiration from its African heritage, the interior of the hotel boasts exquisite art, crafts and furnishings handpicked from the farthest corners of the continent. Each of the 137 rooms is carefully designed to whisk you away from the average mundane hotel room into a world of chic and hip design with an emphasis on detail and luxury. An ideal destination for those craving increased intimacy and comfort with an added dose of personal service. From free high speed internet access, complimentary mini bars, luxury airport transfers, warm welcomes to express check in and check-out facilities, you can be sure that Tribe understands the individual needs of just about any traveler! Adjacent to the hotel is The Village Market, the largest shopping and recreational complex in Eastern Africa, and Nairobi’s premier retail and cultural destination. With over 150 shops and services, set within flowing rivers and waterfalls. It is also home to the weekly Maasai Market which hosts 350 artists for a colorful display of crafts, paintings, beadworks and fabrics every Friday. Bringing a whole new pampering experience to Nairobi is the hotel’s Kaya Spa. Using carefully selected products, Kaya’s uniquely developed treatments are designed to harmonize both the body and mind. The six treatment rooms infuse a sense of tranquility through inspiring design and decor that is sure to contribute to the relaxation and re-invigoration of your entire spa experience. Tribe’s signature restaurant recently launched a brand new menu carefully designed by the Executive Chef and his team. Inspired by the open flame grill, the menu is a tribute to local farmers; paying homage to crisp flavors and fresh, organic ingredients. The Jiko team has also reinvented Tribe’s famous Sunday brunch; the perfectly constructed menu features an extended dessert buffet, unlimited breezy cocktails, amongst an array of other feasts for the entire family. Jiko authentically holds true to the glamour of the hotel while offering guests the delights of whimsy and fantasy through a playful approach to presentation. Located on the lobby level of the hotel, Suite 101, the new pastry offering at Tribe, is a place where you can come at anytime of the day. Using only the finest ingredients, the pastry shop offers an array of hot and cold treats ranging from custom and novelty cakes, decadent French macaroons, designer cupcakes, homemade chocolates and ice creams to bespoke sandwiches made using daily freshly baked bread. Whether it be for some intimate time alone with a tall mug of chai tea latte and a deliciously delectable pastry or a high tea with friends, Suite 101 is definitely a must try for any sweet tooth! Tribe’s serene, charming and charismatic surroundings undoubtedly place it among the most striking, and luxurious boutique properties on the African continent, guaranteeing to meet and exceed the needs of any guest from jet setting celebrities to time constrained business travelers looking to add an urban flair to their Kenya-getaways! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Jovago.com, Odigeo, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your Tribe Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tribe The Village Market Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing