We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“great escapade” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tribe Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Tribe Hotel
Ranked #8 of 156 Hotels in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence
S
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“great escapade”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2010

clean room, good linens, great service,very polite n helpful staffs.free wifi - yipeee
gd security... set backs:-far frm town :( & a little bit pricey for nairobi

Stayed February 2010, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank HARFA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

720 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    398
    225
    64
    17
    16
See reviews for
65
124
54
395
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2010

I'm on my last night of business in the Tribe Hotel. The electricity has just gone off for at least the tenth time this evening. The room wasn't made up when I got back from my meeting today. Laundry not done. Everything I tried to order on the restaurant's menu wasn't available. The meal that finally arrived wasn't what I ordered. Gym not ready for use - but there was a building site outside my bedroom window in its place!

I really want to like this hotel because it is beautifully and thoughtfully decorated and the staff are genuinely well meaning. But it is simply missing the mark on so many areas that I wouldn't return.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank herecomesthesun_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2010

I stayed for 3 nights at the Tribe Village end August - beginning of September, and there is simply nothing to add to everything that has already been written by others. This is simply an amazing hotel, where everything and anything is top quality. Truly a five star hotel at all levels. Room, restaurant, service, location. You name it and it lives up to all possible expctations. Don't stay at any other hotel in Nairobi.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SamsungGeneva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2010

I'm not usually compelled to write reviews unless a hotel is so good that I want the world to know (see La Reserve Geneve), or so unsuspectingly bad that I want to warn people (see Sonoma Fairmont Mission Hotel). In this instance, I had such a great experience, I felt this hotel really deserves to be noticed.
I stayed at the Tribe Hotel for 5 nights after reading on Tripadvisor that it was rated the No.1 hotel rated in Nairobi. It being my first time in Africa, I did not know what to expect from hotels, but Tribe exceeded all of my expectations.
Standard room: quite sizable with a large glass bathroom, shower, and very inviting bathtub. 30 inch (I think) flat-screen TV mounted on wall, plenty of closet space, free wi-fi, and free drinks and snacks in the minibar. The bed was comfortable with down duvets. I'm a big fan of variable lighting and the room had different lamps to suit your needs - I especially liked the ambient one built into the bed's headboard. Most of all, I appreciated the details that made this room feel like home: the shape is curved so as not to feel like an insitutional box, and the room has the artwork of african sculptures and pottery that I liked so much that I purchased some of the same ones at the gift shop.
Restaurant/Bar: The day I arrived, a chef from the Morrocan royal family was at the hotel so I had the most amazing Morrocan lamb meal. Subsequently, all of my meals were both interesting and delicious. The Thai food was also special, and when I asked why they had Thai food on the menu, I was told it was a recipe from the royal Thai chef that had also traveled to the hotel with the royal family. Most hotels have very predictable menus to accommodate the general food preference of business travelers, so this was a very welcome change. The drink menu was just as adventurous and tasty - no wonder there were regular local expats who would go to Tribe just for an evening cocktail in a chic atmosphere. There
Staff: The doormen at the entrance were warm and inviting each time I entered and left the hotel, and with very good memories! The restaurant/bar waiters also seemed genuinely friendly and attentive but discreet in their service. In addition to the concierge that helped me arrange a safari, the hotel also had a very knowledgeable VIP Liason staff member who helped me with some important work details.
Security: I really appreciated the many measures the hotel had in place to secure the property both inside and out. I also noticed personal body guards of VIP guests discreetly stationed at he hotel. And yet it still felt open and friendly and the hotel treated everyone equally.
I could go on and on about their drivers, spa masseuse, pool, live music, etc. but I think I hit the important points that most travelers are looking for on this site.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank globetrotter212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, MO
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2010

I can not say enough wonderful things about the Tribe Hotel! The hotel itself is SO beautiful, clean and in a great location. Very safe area, great security and a WONDERFUL staff! My stay in Nairobi was for business and leisure. I was in this hotel for 2 months and there is no where else I would want to stay! The staff treats you like royalty. It is a quiet hotel, yet there are events during the week and on weekends that you can attend at the hotel. The nights that the events took place if I was in my room I could not hear what was happening outside of my room. It was very quiet and the owners/managers make sure everyones needs are met. (Note: a perfomer you HAVE to see while in Nairobi is a local performer named Maia. Ask the hotel staff and they can tell you where she will be performing during your visit) One thing about it you leave Nairobi not only receiving a wonderful cultural experience but you also leave with a lot of friends. If you want an amazing experience while in Kenya the Tribe hotel should be your first stop.....

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lbay36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
43 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2009

This is not your typical African experience. The Tribe is impeccably appointed and has a boutique hotel price. It's very chic, and hip, glossy and cool. But there is no warmth to the hotel, you could be anywhere in the world, the only thing reminding you that you are in Kenya is the decor, with its African statues and fabrics here and there. My room was beautiful. When you turned off the a/c however, you could smell the drains. If you are transiting through Nairobi and need a place to stay for a night, the Tribe is a good choice. Adjacent (and safe to walk to) the VIllage Market shopping center, you can eat, drink and shop - the mall is your back yard. If you want to discover Nairobi, however, you may find this hotel a little too remote. The hotel is the Latest Thing, though, so for trendsetters, expats and oil execs it's a must-do. At the time of the visit, the spa was still in the works, though in-room massages were available.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jolielaide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Townsville, Australia
Level Contributor
50 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2009

What a suprise! Having prepared myself for paying top dollar for a tired old establishment in Nairobi, up popped Tribe hotel. At a similar rate as older and less impressive hotels, Tribe absolutely lifts the bar. Looks like a funky primo-city digs, feels uber-friedly like only Africa can. Arcitectually impressive, the lobbyimpresses with a jazzy vibe and cool bar. The standard room has plenty of room, king size bed, desk with Internet options and free WIFI, cable TV and handmade chocs on folddown area nice touch. Breakfast at Epic is lush and the service is "whatever it takes". A generous restaurant mgr arranged gift vouchers for me at 10pm on a Sat night, no problem! Normally $320US a night, but snagged it for $150US. Try Googling "Ballantynes PR" for a referral to Tribes reservation dept at the discounted rate.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Global2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
3.1 mi away
Villa Rosa Kempinski Nairobi
3.7 mi away
Fairmont The Norfolk
Fairmont The Norfolk
#4 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 837 reviews
4.2 mi away
Sarova Stanley
Sarova Stanley
#7 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 978 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Sankara Nairobi
Sankara Nairobi
#10 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 736 reviews
10.6 mi away
Hemingways Nairobi
Hemingways Nairobi
#1 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 369 reviews
7.1 mi away
The Boma Nairobi
The Boma Nairobi
#5 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 550 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tribe Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tribe Hotel

Property: Tribe Hotel
Address: Limuru Road | The Village Market, Gigiri, Nairobi 00621, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi > Highridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Nairobi
#6 Spa Hotel in Nairobi
#8 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
#10 Romantic Hotel in Nairobi
#12 Family Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Tribe Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 137
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set apart from the crowded city centre and a modern contrast to a city of colonially-inspired getaways, Tribe Hotel located in the lush suburbs of the city echoes nothing but the ultimate in luxury and tranquility. It’s sleek architecture and crisp lines are sure to set forth a brand new experience in hotel accommodation. Drawing inspiration from its African heritage, the interior of the hotel boasts exquisite art, crafts and furnishings handpicked from the farthest corners of the continent. Each of the 137 rooms is carefully designed to whisk you away from the average mundane hotel room into a world of chic and hip design with an emphasis on detail and luxury. An ideal destination for those craving increased intimacy and comfort with an added dose of personal service. From free high speed internet access, complimentary mini bars, luxury airport transfers, warm welcomes to express check in and check-out facilities, you can be sure that Tribe understands the individual needs of just about any traveler! Adjacent to the hotel is The Village Market, the largest shopping and recreational complex in Eastern Africa, and Nairobi’s premier retail and cultural destination. With over 150 shops and services, set within flowing rivers and waterfalls. It is also home to the weekly Maasai Market which hosts 350 artists for a colorful display of crafts, paintings, beadworks and fabrics every Friday. Bringing a whole new pampering experience to Nairobi is the hotel’s Kaya Spa. Using carefully selected products, Kaya’s uniquely developed treatments are designed to harmonize both the body and mind. The six treatment rooms infuse a sense of tranquility through inspiring design and decor that is sure to contribute to the relaxation and re-invigoration of your entire spa experience. Tribe’s signature restaurant recently launched a brand new menu carefully designed by the Executive Chef and his team. Inspired by the open flame grill, the menu is a tribute to local farmers; paying homage to crisp flavors and fresh, organic ingredients. The Jiko team has also reinvented Tribe’s famous Sunday brunch; the perfectly constructed menu features an extended dessert buffet, unlimited breezy cocktails, amongst an array of other feasts for the entire family. Jiko authentically holds true to the glamour of the hotel while offering guests the delights of whimsy and fantasy through a playful approach to presentation. Located on the lobby level of the hotel, Suite 101, the new pastry offering at Tribe, is a place where you can come at anytime of the day. Using only the finest ingredients, the pastry shop offers an array of hot and cold treats ranging from custom and novelty cakes, decadent French macaroons, designer cupcakes, homemade chocolates and ice creams to bespoke sandwiches made using daily freshly baked bread. Whether it be for some intimate time alone with a tall mug of chai tea latte and a deliciously delectable pastry or a high tea with friends, Suite 101 is definitely a must try for any sweet tooth! Tribe’s serene, charming and charismatic surroundings undoubtedly place it among the most striking, and luxurious boutique properties on the African continent, guaranteeing to meet and exceed the needs of any guest from jet setting celebrities to time constrained business travelers looking to add an urban flair to their Kenya-getaways! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, getaroom.com, Priceline, Agoda, Jovago.com, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Tribe Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tribe The Village Market Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing