We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Peaceful oasis, but far from the city center” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tribe Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Tribe Hotel
Ranked #8 of 156 Hotels in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
77 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Peaceful oasis, but far from the city center”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2009

The hotel is a relatively new addition to 5 star hotels in Nairobi. It is located next to the village market and the UN and various embassies.

The hotel can be described as "boutique" as there are only 130 or so rooms and the decor is very modern and chic. The staff are very friendly and attentive.

The rooms are nicely furnished with flat screen TV, and free wi-fi. The connection speed is very good for Kenya.

Did not have any meals except for breakfast. Breakfast was very good, with fresh fruit, the usual egg station and various pastries.

You can walk to the Village Market, which is a pretty decently sized mall with a grocery store, food court, a movie theater and other up-scale shops.

It does take some time - around 45 minutes or more to get in and out of the city center. I tried to stay here while attending a meeting at the convention center, but gave up after a few days. Too much traffic.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Steven Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

720 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    398
    225
    64
    17
    16
See reviews for
65
124
54
395
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
British Columbia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2009

Tribe Hotel is an amazing place. It has a wonderful blend of artistry, moderness, and a quiant charm in it. The rooms are spectacular and more importantly incredibly comfortable, the service is impeccable, and the amenities are perfect. Tribe surpassed all my expectations. Favorite parts: service there is out-of-their way friendly and attentive, there are king sized beds..in EVERY room, and we had the most incredible gourmet breakfast every morning, which was built into the price of the room. This hotel really did make our trip.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MALBritishColumbia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
40 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2009

This place just oozes uber cool… The rooms are stylish and functional, we loved the massive egg bath, the concepts of the entire hotel are fresh, sexy and current. Epic Restaurant is divine with a fantastic menu and wine list to complement the tasty meals. We were in Nairobi for three days relaxing at the end of Safari/Climbing Mt. Kilimanjaro and only left the hotel to visit the nearby Village Market shopping complex. Not often do you stay in a hotel where you want to buy all the furniture and African artifacts that are strategically placed throughout. The sound room used as a chill out zone is a perfect post checkout location to watch a movie or TV on the big screen. You can only imagine the Spa once it opens will be amazing. Make sure you book the airport transfers via limo. This is the way hotels are meant to be, and we will be avid followers of any future expansion of the Tribe Brand. Simply awesome...!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ExpatJetsetter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level Contributor
162 reviews
135 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2009

It is easy to go along with previous reviewers who welcome this handsome addition to Nairobi's hotel choices. The Tribe still looks fresh and new, with beautiful design features, such as walls of local stone and attractive/impressive African (though not Kenyan) artifacts. The staff is well trained, and the rooms, though small, are carefully laid out and comfotable.

The whole operation gives the impression of attention to detail and to customers' needs. Free internet acces is a plus, and I found the airport pickup convenient, even if it was pricey at the "reduced" price of $40.

The location is near the UN and US compounds, and to the sprawling Village Market shopping mall. It is a long way from the airport and not ideal for excursions to other attractions.

Not everything works well. The pool was designed by someone who likes to look at pools, not swim in them. The pool was only half finished and not suited to swimming laps or much of anything else aquatic. There is no gym on the premises, though a voucher for a nearby fitness center is available, pending the completion of a fitness center in house. Although the facility is new, it is odd that a hotel that caters to up-market business visitors and tourists from the US and Europe would not give fitness a higher priority. The key card malfunctioned a few times, and while my room facing the pool had a pleasant view, conversations at the poolside bar tables were fully audible if I opened the window. The outdoor space is poorly lighted, which is a safety hazard, even if it sustains a game lodge atmosphere.

Definitely several steps up from the Holiday Inn and other chains, I hope the Tribe can maintain the pleasant atmosphere and high quality.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Xamb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2009

This is an oasis. I was blown away walking into the hotel. The physical space in the lobby is incredible - modern, sleek and very chic. What's interesting is how homely you feel but not surprising with such a friendly staff. The food is excellent and a great cocktail list (and mocktail list which is non-alcoholic). But what struck me the most is how they seemed to know me from the first day - the doormen knew my name, the waitress remembered what I had for breakfast the day before and even the housekeeping staff was warm and friendly.

I'm back in a month and can not wait.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mel2LDN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2009

I decided to try Tribe at the Village Market on my last business trip to Nairobi...without a doubt one of the best hotel experiences I've ever had in Kenya.

My colleague and I checked in after midnight - the reception staff were efficient and had an international adaptor sent up to my room within minutes of my request. Feeling a little peckish after the long flight I was pleasantly surprised to find the full restaurant menu available...even at 1am! The sashimi on the bar menu was very fresh and the baby shrimp in pernod was fantastic.

The rooms are modern yet still reflect the attention to detail in the art pieces and amenities. The free wifi is very welcome and the connection speeds are impressive. I also appreciated the large shower space...much more comfortable than standing in a bathtub as I'm taller than the average traveller.

The staff are extremely well trained - very attentive and I had a sense that they are proud to be part of such a professional establishment. We held a 2 day conference at the hotel with local counterparts and the business facilities met our requirements. When I needed documents courriered back to my office I only had to give them the address and they handled the rest.

We also had dinner at a great italian restaurant at the Village Market (I forget the name)...highly recommended. The complex has many shopping options but more importantly, a reliable forex bureau and several banks. We were fortunate enough to catch the weekly friday market before our flight.

I've already booked my next stay at Tribe.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rastaman321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2009

Had heard about this hotel from colleagues and decided to try it instead of my usual Holiday Inn Nairobi. The main thing this hotel has going for it is the location. It is right next to the Village Market which offers a variety of entertainment and food which is not to be discounted in Nairobi where exploring on your own is not recommended due to security concerns. If you don't need to be in this hotel for location purposes (it is convenient for people working for the UN, US Embassy, and Botswana High Commission), consider somewhere else downtown. The Holiday Inn is quite comfortable.

Once you get past the fashionable looks of the hotel, you'll see it leaves a lot to be desired.

Small rooms: Luckily I was traveling alone. Otherwise, there would not have been enough room for two people to fit comfortably. There is only room for you to store two suitcases comfortably. If you're traveling as a couple with a total of 3 or 4 suitcases, there wouldn't be enough room to store the suitcases out of the way.

Lack of follow through from Staff: The staff are very polite and welcoming but follow through is lacking. There were several days where I needed minor things - an extra towel, additional water, etc. I had to call at least three times before I actually received a response to my requests.

Lack of storage space: The sleek armoire wall unit houses only a closet and LCD tv. There are no drawers in the room leaving one at a loss for storing underwear, t-shirts, socks, etc. Even the space in the closet is severely cut off by the placement of the secure safe. Probably the most annoying thing about this is that drawers could easily have been added to all the extra wall space there is under the TV.

Lack of privacy in the bathroom: The open floor plan looks beautiful but isn't very practical. No matter how close you are to someone, even if you're married, it would be nice to have a way to put a little distance between yourself and the other person's toilet activities.

Terrible Sewage Odor from Bathroom: Tied to the lack of privacy is the issue of a terrible sewage smell coming up from the pipes. This is fairly common in hotels in Nairobi and really is beyond the control of the hotel. However, because of the open floor plan of the bathroom, you can't even close the bathroom door to keep the odor contained to one area. Instead, the odor permeates the entire room. I put towels over every drain and open pipe in an attempt to curb the odor.

Overdoing the starch: The sheets are starched to the point of being scratchy and uncomfortable.

No Gym in Hotel: In order to have access to gym facilities, you must purchase a voucher from the reception area and turn it into the gym at the Village Market.

Positives about the hotel include:

A good breakfast bar: You can get eggs made to order and have a wide selection of fruits, muffins, and other assorted items.

Lots of recreational space: If you don't want to be cooped up in your room, the Tribe offers many alternatives including a room where a group could watch TV, a beautiful pool area, and a nice sundeck on the 4th floor that is very relaxing. There are comfortable chairs tucked here and there too.

DVD and Book Library: Guests can borrow DVDs or books for a small or no fee. There is a DVD player built right into the TV in your room.

Free Wi Fi: You can access the hotel's wifi for free. For a small fee you can get high speed. The free wifi served my purposes.

Location, location, location: The food court at the Village Market offers a nice alternative to cheaper and more varied food options than other hotels.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jahmekajersey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
3.1 mi away
Villa Rosa Kempinski Nairobi
3.7 mi away
Fairmont The Norfolk
Fairmont The Norfolk
#4 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 837 reviews
4.2 mi away
Sarova Stanley
Sarova Stanley
#7 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 978 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Sankara Nairobi
Sankara Nairobi
#10 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 737 reviews
10.6 mi away
Hemingways Nairobi
Hemingways Nairobi
#1 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 369 reviews
7.1 mi away
The Boma Nairobi
The Boma Nairobi
#5 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 550 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tribe Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tribe Hotel

Property: Tribe Hotel
Address: Limuru Road | The Village Market, Gigiri, Nairobi 00621, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi > Highridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Nairobi
#6 Spa Hotel in Nairobi
#8 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
#10 Romantic Hotel in Nairobi
#12 Family Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Tribe Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 137
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set apart from the crowded city centre and a modern contrast to a city of colonially-inspired getaways, Tribe Hotel located in the lush suburbs of the city echoes nothing but the ultimate in luxury and tranquility. It’s sleek architecture and crisp lines are sure to set forth a brand new experience in hotel accommodation. Drawing inspiration from its African heritage, the interior of the hotel boasts exquisite art, crafts and furnishings handpicked from the farthest corners of the continent. Each of the 137 rooms is carefully designed to whisk you away from the average mundane hotel room into a world of chic and hip design with an emphasis on detail and luxury. An ideal destination for those craving increased intimacy and comfort with an added dose of personal service. From free high speed internet access, complimentary mini bars, luxury airport transfers, warm welcomes to express check in and check-out facilities, you can be sure that Tribe understands the individual needs of just about any traveler! Adjacent to the hotel is The Village Market, the largest shopping and recreational complex in Eastern Africa, and Nairobi’s premier retail and cultural destination. With over 150 shops and services, set within flowing rivers and waterfalls. It is also home to the weekly Maasai Market which hosts 350 artists for a colorful display of crafts, paintings, beadworks and fabrics every Friday. Bringing a whole new pampering experience to Nairobi is the hotel’s Kaya Spa. Using carefully selected products, Kaya’s uniquely developed treatments are designed to harmonize both the body and mind. The six treatment rooms infuse a sense of tranquility through inspiring design and decor that is sure to contribute to the relaxation and re-invigoration of your entire spa experience. Tribe’s signature restaurant recently launched a brand new menu carefully designed by the Executive Chef and his team. Inspired by the open flame grill, the menu is a tribute to local farmers; paying homage to crisp flavors and fresh, organic ingredients. The Jiko team has also reinvented Tribe’s famous Sunday brunch; the perfectly constructed menu features an extended dessert buffet, unlimited breezy cocktails, amongst an array of other feasts for the entire family. Jiko authentically holds true to the glamour of the hotel while offering guests the delights of whimsy and fantasy through a playful approach to presentation. Located on the lobby level of the hotel, Suite 101, the new pastry offering at Tribe, is a place where you can come at anytime of the day. Using only the finest ingredients, the pastry shop offers an array of hot and cold treats ranging from custom and novelty cakes, decadent French macaroons, designer cupcakes, homemade chocolates and ice creams to bespoke sandwiches made using daily freshly baked bread. Whether it be for some intimate time alone with a tall mug of chai tea latte and a deliciously delectable pastry or a high tea with friends, Suite 101 is definitely a must try for any sweet tooth! Tribe’s serene, charming and charismatic surroundings undoubtedly place it among the most striking, and luxurious boutique properties on the African continent, guaranteeing to meet and exceed the needs of any guest from jet setting celebrities to time constrained business travelers looking to add an urban flair to their Kenya-getaways! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Jovago.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, getaroom.com, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your Tribe Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tribe The Village Market Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing