We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Needs a spring clean” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Tribe Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Tribe Hotel
Ranked #8 of 156 Hotels in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence
Temple, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Needs a spring clean”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014 via mobile

This hotel is a bit over fussy, it tries to be a bit trendy and designer but is too fiddly. The hotel could do with a good clean from top to bottom as it is looking a little sticky and a bit grubby. Having said that everything works ok and the staff are nice.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
Thank gastr0naut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

721 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    399
    225
    64
    17
    16
See reviews for
65
124
54
395
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stavanger Municipality, Norway
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

It’s a very nice hotel with a relaxed atmosphere. It looks chic, it’s clean and it’s well maintained. We had problems with noise 1 night when the World Cup was on as our room was right next to the bar. Besides that it wasn’t a problem. The food in the hotel restaurant was excellent and the staff were super friendly. We wish we could have taken the chef and the staff back to Norway with us!

We stayed at the Tribe for four nights all together. First one night before we went on Safari in the Masai Mara. This was recommended to us by our guide as it was easy to get out of the city. Then we stayed another three nights after the Safari. It is located in the Ambassador district of Nairobi so it feels very safe. There is a shopping centre 2 min walk from the hotel with ok shops and nice places to eat.

If we ever go back to Nairobi we would definitely stay at the Tribe again!

Room Tip: Don't choose the room next to the bar on 4th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Elisabeth S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Egypt
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

Overall a very nice hotel but with a few flaws. Nice - clean room, nicely furnished, good TV stations and nice flat tv, lots of hot water and clean sheets/comfortable bed. Food at the restaurant was good and breakfast buffet was fine with hot and cold dishes, good variety. I liked the gym very much. Spa was nice and the treatment I had was well done.

Be aware the 'complementary minibar' has very few items and there is a charge to refill it. I walked to the very close Village Market mall next door and bought some things to stock. So the flaws - two days they didn't replace my shampoo, some nights I got chocolate with turndown and some nights not, they didn't replace a laundry bag after I put in my first order of laundry service. There was something wrong with my door lock and a couple days I came home to find it didn't lock and was totally unlocked after housekeeping had cleaned my room, maintenance did a quick fix and didn't seem concerned or make a definitive repair. Last thing, housekeeping needs to close windows or not even open them because when they leave them open after cleaning the mosquitoes come into your room and this will ruin a good nights sleep. So 4 out of 5.

Room Tip: My room was by the road, but after 11pm the sounds were much less.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank drpsb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014

Great design ideas in the common areas, very stylish and comfortable. Easy access to the local Village Market. Not sure how often it happens but there was a noisy pool party all evening and into the night on the Saturday night of my stay. Other than that it was peaceful and I will be booking the Tribe again for my next visit to Nairobi.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NBWM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
170 reviews
133 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014

My husband, who works in South Sudan, and I met up for a four-day reunion in Nairobi. We had lived there for 12 years in another lifetime, before the Tribe Hotel was even built. Tribe is located out of Nairobi's center, within the Village Market complex. Staff are excellent, service superb, and rooms quite good. Having said that, I still felt that there could be areas for improvement. Our room had a bathtub in the "open plan" without a door, and ironically there was such poor water pressure in our fourth floor room that even if we had wanted to fill up the tub, it would have taken an hour and the water would have been cold. Also, little things like the coffee grinds provided for our plunger coffee maker were of the wrong kind, and had to be used with a filter (which was not provided.) Breakfast was a nice affair, poolside, and everyone super attentive. I just felt that the Tribe did not live up to the highest standard, considering the cost of the room -- and we got the UN discount which was 250$ a night!

Room Tip: Since there was little view to speak of and it's generally quiet, I don't think it matters...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank worldtravelertrainer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington
Level Contributor
126 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 563 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

This was a great experience. It was convenient to shopping and very quite and secure. I especially enjoyed the pool and the interesting decor in common areas and the rooms.

100% the place to stay for the business traveler.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 4whatitsworth2day
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bulawayo Province, Zimbabwe
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

Thank you to the Tribe Hotel for your warmth and hospitality in the most perfect of surroundings. Elegant, tasteful with exquisite attention to the tiniest detail!! We love your new champagne and chocolate bar!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MagsKriel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
3.1 mi away
Villa Rosa Kempinski Nairobi
3.7 mi away
Fairmont The Norfolk
Fairmont The Norfolk
#4 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 838 reviews
4.2 mi away
Sarova Stanley
Sarova Stanley
#7 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 980 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Sankara Nairobi
Sankara Nairobi
#10 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 737 reviews
10.6 mi away
Hemingways Nairobi
Hemingways Nairobi
#1 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 368 reviews
7.1 mi away
The Boma Nairobi
The Boma Nairobi
#5 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 552 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tribe Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tribe Hotel

Property: Tribe Hotel
Address: Limuru Road | The Village Market, Gigiri, Nairobi 00621, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi > Highridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Nairobi
#6 Spa Hotel in Nairobi
#8 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
#10 Romantic Hotel in Nairobi
#12 Family Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Tribe Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 137
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set apart from the crowded city centre and a modern contrast to a city of colonially-inspired getaways, Tribe Hotel located in the lush suburbs of the city echoes nothing but the ultimate in luxury and tranquility. It’s sleek architecture and crisp lines are sure to set forth a brand new experience in hotel accommodation. Drawing inspiration from its African heritage, the interior of the hotel boasts exquisite art, crafts and furnishings handpicked from the farthest corners of the continent. Each of the 137 rooms is carefully designed to whisk you away from the average mundane hotel room into a world of chic and hip design with an emphasis on detail and luxury. An ideal destination for those craving increased intimacy and comfort with an added dose of personal service. From free high speed internet access, complimentary mini bars, luxury airport transfers, warm welcomes to express check in and check-out facilities, you can be sure that Tribe understands the individual needs of just about any traveler! Adjacent to the hotel is The Village Market, the largest shopping and recreational complex in Eastern Africa, and Nairobi’s premier retail and cultural destination. With over 150 shops and services, set within flowing rivers and waterfalls. It is also home to the weekly Maasai Market which hosts 350 artists for a colorful display of crafts, paintings, beadworks and fabrics every Friday. Bringing a whole new pampering experience to Nairobi is the hotel’s Kaya Spa. Using carefully selected products, Kaya’s uniquely developed treatments are designed to harmonize both the body and mind. The six treatment rooms infuse a sense of tranquility through inspiring design and decor that is sure to contribute to the relaxation and re-invigoration of your entire spa experience. Tribe’s signature restaurant recently launched a brand new menu carefully designed by the Executive Chef and his team. Inspired by the open flame grill, the menu is a tribute to local farmers; paying homage to crisp flavors and fresh, organic ingredients. The Jiko team has also reinvented Tribe’s famous Sunday brunch; the perfectly constructed menu features an extended dessert buffet, unlimited breezy cocktails, amongst an array of other feasts for the entire family. Jiko authentically holds true to the glamour of the hotel while offering guests the delights of whimsy and fantasy through a playful approach to presentation. Located on the lobby level of the hotel, Suite 101, the new pastry offering at Tribe, is a place where you can come at anytime of the day. Using only the finest ingredients, the pastry shop offers an array of hot and cold treats ranging from custom and novelty cakes, decadent French macaroons, designer cupcakes, homemade chocolates and ice creams to bespoke sandwiches made using daily freshly baked bread. Whether it be for some intimate time alone with a tall mug of chai tea latte and a deliciously delectable pastry or a high tea with friends, Suite 101 is definitely a must try for any sweet tooth! Tribe’s serene, charming and charismatic surroundings undoubtedly place it among the most striking, and luxurious boutique properties on the African continent, guaranteeing to meet and exceed the needs of any guest from jet setting celebrities to time constrained business travelers looking to add an urban flair to their Kenya-getaways! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, HotelTravel.com, Jovago.com, getaroom.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Travelocity, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your Tribe Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tribe The Village Market Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing