We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Beautiful place, great staff” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tribe Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Tribe Hotel
Ranked #9 of 161 Hotels in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Beautiful place, great staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2014

The staff is super and the amenities are very nice. It's a beautiful hotel and they focus on customer service. The location is adjacent to a major mall, with a great food court and some fantastic shops, so it's very convenient. The only drawbacks are the very slow Internet (strange in a country that prides itself as a major IT hub for Africa), and the apparent dislike for air conditioning below about 74 degrees--I had to ask on several occasions when the air conditioner seemed to refuse to cool the room.

Room Tip: The corner room I had was small, but sufficient--others (and I'm not sure how they laid them out...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank James T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

750 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    415
    232
    68
    18
    17
See reviews for
68
132
54
410
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia, USA
Level Contributor
106 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2014

This is a unique hotel. It's one of those boutique hotels that you would expect to find in the Alps or Colorado. The rooms are modern and the amenities are exceptional. I also received exceptional service. Note that I was also the very first paying guest in this hotel the day that it opened a few years back. It's improved considerably since.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelingTartar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
330 reviews
117 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2014

I have stayed at the Tribe Hotel on numerous occasions and they keep disappointing considering the costs of the rooms here. As one of the high end Nairobi hotels, I would think they would try to improve their property. The wifi still remain dismal, electrical outlets in the room are sparse and often out of order. The rooms are quickly getting worn but seems like updates are few and far between. The best staff there are the gentlemen at bell desk as they are attentive and seem to know the guests, which is more than I can say for the desk staff. The breakfast is average and the rest of the hotel food menu is unremarkable. I keep hoping they will improve but I haven't seen any indication that they will.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheMulv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
US
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2014

Short business stay but, cannot say enough about the staff and the service they provide. Clean and comfortable. Only drawback was the spotty internet which can cause some issues when you absolutely need a reliable connection.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank islandbaird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
87 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2014

I cannot recommend this hotel enough for tourists or business travellers. The staff are professional and highly efficient in everything they do. The design of the hotel is impressive and the rooms are well appointed.

Apart from the spotty WIFI, which I believe they are working on, I only have positive things to say about this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Loveoftravel1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
142 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2014

This is an upscale boutique hotel located in the Embassy section of Nairobi just across from one of Nairobi’s nicer malls. The Tribe is quite expensive but not a five star hotel in the tradition of the Four Seasons or Ritz Carlton. The rooms are small, storage space is limited, the towels are not luxurious, and amenities are modest. The sheets were clean and comfortable, however, and there was a good mattress.

There are some definite design and construction flaws in the rooms. The lighting is so dim that working is difficult because you can’t see. It can be hard to read, too. The floors are a very thin, cheap veneer, and were already showing buckling near the bathroom areas in all three of the rooms our group occupied. The large tub and lavatory open into the bedroom. The toilet and shower are enclosed only by frosted glass, and all of us objected to the lack of toilet privacy.

There is a definite difference between the temperature in the rooms during the day and that at night. Our control stayed set on the same temperature, but we were too warm and the room became stuffy every night during our two week stay.

Service was friendly and good, and the staff was responsive to our requests and needs. The day to day service in our room was good. The room was quiet, even on week-ends.

We found the restaurant to be excellent. The breakfast buffet was plentiful and varied; the menu at other times met our needs with no problems. The music piped into the restaurant and lobby was annoying in the evenings because the volume was too loud for comfortable conversation. For that reason, we rarely ate at the restaurant and that is too bad.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SoFudie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2014

I stayed at the Tribe for an extended period of time (over 40 days), so I truly feel as though I know every nook and cranny of the place.

The good: This is a lovely hotel if you are passing through Nairobi for a short period of time. First off, the staff is wonderful. They truly get to know you and are very, very accommodating. I was sick at this hotel, and the staff checked up on me constantly. The hotel is also very convenient to several Embassies, NGOs, and the U.N. Village Market--a mall within two steps of (very safe) walking distance has literally everything you could need. Tons of restaurants, a grocery store, and the Masai Market on Fridays. However, the hotel is not centrally located in Nairobi--it is far away from many of the touristy sites in Karen or the Central Business District, for example--although you will be in a beautiful, upscale, leafy suburb.

The bad: For business travelers, this hotel has a lot to improve upon. Wifi is spotty at best. Lighting in the rooms is so dim it makes it difficult to work, and an awkardly shaped desk (oval-shaped with "basins" of sort) makes it harder to get anything done comfortably. The lobby constantly blasts loud house music--and even when everyone in the lobby is on their laptops and working (and someone requests the music be turned down). The restaurant is extremely inconsistent: the same dish can be delicious one day, terrible the next--and can also take (literally) 1.5 hours to arrive one day, or 15 minutes the next.

The hotel needs some upgrades, particularly to their air conditioning system (I had two rooms with faulty air conditioning)--they are currently doing construction to the lobby and ostensibly are working to fix the wifi.

Overall, I am giving this hotel a good score due to its staff as well as convenient location. But business travelers who don't need to stay in this neighborhood might be better suited elsewhere.

Room Tip: Ask for a "quiet" room. Rooms facing the pool are often very very very loud, particularly...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Yael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
3.1 mi away
Villa Rosa Kempinski Nairobi
3.7 mi away
Fairmont The Norfolk
Fairmont The Norfolk
#4 of 161 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 878 reviews
4.2 mi away
Sarova Stanley
Sarova Stanley
#8 of 161 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,014 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
DusitD2 Nairobi
DusitD2 Nairobi
#12 of 161 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 332 reviews
10.6 mi away
Hemingways Nairobi
Hemingways Nairobi
#1 of 161 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 397 reviews
2.5 mi away
Sankara Nairobi
Sankara Nairobi
#11 of 161 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 771 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tribe Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tribe Hotel

Property: Tribe Hotel
Address: Limuru Road | The Village Market, Gigiri, Nairobi 00621, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi > Highridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Nairobi
#6 Spa Hotel in Nairobi
#9 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
#10 Romantic Hotel in Nairobi
#12 Family Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Tribe Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 137
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set apart from the crowded city centre and a modern contrast to a city of colonially-inspired getaways, Tribe Hotel located in the lush suburbs of the city echoes nothing but the ultimate in luxury and tranquility. It’s sleek architecture and crisp lines are sure to set forth a brand new experience in hotel accommodation. Drawing inspiration from its African heritage, the interior of the hotel boasts exquisite art, crafts and furnishings handpicked from the farthest corners of the continent. Each of the 137 rooms is carefully designed to whisk you away from the average mundane hotel room into a world of chic and hip design with an emphasis on detail and luxury. An ideal destination for those craving increased intimacy and comfort with an added dose of personal service. From free high speed internet access, complimentary mini bars, luxury airport transfers, warm welcomes to express check in and check-out facilities, you can be sure that Tribe understands the individual needs of just about any traveler! Adjacent to the hotel is The Village Market, the largest shopping and recreational complex in Eastern Africa, and Nairobi’s premier retail and cultural destination. With over 150 shops and services, set within flowing rivers and waterfalls. It is also home to the weekly Maasai Market which hosts 350 artists for a colorful display of crafts, paintings, beadworks and fabrics every Friday. Bringing a whole new pampering experience to Nairobi is the hotel’s Kaya Spa. Using carefully selected products, Kaya’s uniquely developed treatments are designed to harmonize both the body and mind. The six treatment rooms infuse a sense of tranquility through inspiring design and decor that is sure to contribute to the relaxation and re-invigoration of your entire spa experience. Tribe’s signature restaurant recently launched a brand new menu carefully designed by the Executive Chef and his team. Inspired by the open flame grill, the menu is a tribute to local farmers; paying homage to crisp flavors and fresh, organic ingredients. The Jiko team has also reinvented Tribe’s famous Sunday brunch; the perfectly constructed menu features an extended dessert buffet, unlimited breezy cocktails, amongst an array of other feasts for the entire family. Jiko authentically holds true to the glamour of the hotel while offering guests the delights of whimsy and fantasy through a playful approach to presentation. Located on the lobby level of the hotel, Suite 101, the new pastry offering at Tribe, is a place where you can come at anytime of the day. Using only the finest ingredients, the pastry shop offers an array of hot and cold treats ranging from custom and novelty cakes, decadent French macaroons, designer cupcakes, homemade chocolates and ice creams to bespoke sandwiches made using daily freshly baked bread. Whether it be for some intimate time alone with a tall mug of chai tea latte and a deliciously delectable pastry or a high tea with friends, Suite 101 is definitely a must try for any sweet tooth! Tribe’s serene, charming and charismatic surroundings undoubtedly place it among the most striking, and luxurious boutique properties on the African continent, guaranteeing to meet and exceed the needs of any guest from jet setting celebrities to time constrained business travelers looking to add an urban flair to their Kenya-getaways! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Priceline, Jovago.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Tribe Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tribe The Village Market Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing