We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Very Disappointing Tribe !!!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Tribe Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Tribe Hotel
Ranked #8 of 156 Hotels in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
69 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Very Disappointing Tribe !!!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

I have stayed at the Tribe many many times in the past and frequently recommend this hotel to friends. However the last time I stayed at the tribe which was 18 Sept 2013, it was extremely disappointing. I arrived at the hotel after being in the traffic for about two hours, reception handed me the room key but when I got to the room the bed was not yet made up. Housekeeping were informed and took an hour to rectify. The television was not working, this tool maintenance 2 hours to get there and fix. In the morning, at breakfast, I ordered two fried eggs, which I waited about 40 minutes, when I enquired the "chef" had forgotten, I was late so could not waite any longer, so I left, and proceeded to check out of the tribe and move to another hotel in Nairobi.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ElleVee288
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TribeHotel, Manager at Tribe Hotel, responded to this review, November 9, 2013
Dear ElleVee288,

Thank you for your review dated October 31, 2013. I would like to take this opportunity to sincerely apologize for your experience at Tribe. As you may be aware from your previous stays with us, at Tribe we strive to maintain a high level of service in all our offerings. Unfortunately we fell short of our own as well as your expectations.

I have addressed the issues with the relevant departments and i assure you that the required action will be taken to rectify the issues. I hope that you are able to give us another chance as we would be delighted to host you again.

Please contact me directly at marketing@tribehotel-kenya.com the next time you plan on coming to Nairobi.

Kind Regards,

Alina Haq
Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

691 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    381
    215
    63
    16
    16
See reviews for
59
118
54
380
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ry, Denmark
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

Visited the Tribe hotel during a business trip with a group of colleagues. We spent 4 days having a workshop, and both the facilities, the rooms as well as the restaurant was very good. All in all a splendid hotel for business.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Preben R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
58 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

I would suggest this hotel to anybody traveling to Nairobi. The hotel is beautiful. The staff is always helpful and friendly. The security is top notch. The pool is nice, but I never had to the chance to swim. The fitness center has some very interesting equipment, and is very nice for a hotel gym, It's not Lifetime fitness, but it is a hotel.

The access to the marketplace next store is one of its best attributes. It is not close to downtown, but the market has all you need (try the italian restaurant).

Overall, I would suggest this to anybody who travels here!

Room Tip: Do not get room 405, it is nice, but right across the hall from the upstairs bar! It gets loud on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelDude555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abidjan, Cote d'Ivoire
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

The Tribe is I believe one of just a handful of Design Hotels in Africa. It's attention to decor and design definitely shows. The pool is gorgeously laid out between slabs of free standing stone. Each room is well decorated with an overall African, tribal theme. The food is quite good, and I've heard the spa treatments are excellent. Location is fantastic, with lots of available shopping right next door at Village Market. The daily chocolate turn down service is a really nice touch.The Tribe is a favorite.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank anhalverson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dar Es Salaam
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

i was for 2 days holiday to nairobi and i was at tribe hotel, Though the price is quite high but i had a pleasnt stay at Tribe.i was amazed to see all staff so polite always smiling be it early morning or late night, breakfast was excellent room service was above standard and efficient. Ill recommend tribe hotel to everyone , i felt i should extend my stay so welcoming and a pleasant place to be.

Security guards were full time active on their duty Mr John (security guard) ull definetly see me soon.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank zea786
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

We arrived in Nairobi the weekend of the terrorist attack. we had no problem on arrival and were picked up at the airport by a Tribe Hotel SUV. Security was high at both the entrance to the hotel and the adjacent Village Market Shopping Centre.

The Tribe is fairly new and very modern in design located in the United Nations area of the city. Reception, bar and restaurant staff were efficient and friendly. Food was good both at the hotel and the various restaurants in the Shopping Centre. I was on business most of the week but my wife was able to book various city excursions through the hotel. She visited the Elephant orphanage, the Giraffe Centre and the Museum of Anthropology and enjoyed them all.

We went on safari the second week which included a day room at the Tribe at the end of the safari prior to catching a late evening flight to London. We would highly recommend the Tribe to anyone visiting Nairobi.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Alberta
Level Contributor
111 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

We stayed here our last night in Kenya and was the perfect choice. Wished we could stay longer just to stay here! Service was very good and lots of attention to security to ensure guests felt comfortable. The hotel itself is like a piece of art, such attention to detail everywhere. Was stunning. Rooms are beautiful and the most comfortable beds, slept great! Linens and room amentities are very good. There was even a coffee press in room. Breakfast is included and is a large buffet in Jiko Restaurant. Best almond croissant among all the other delicious offerings. Lovely gift shop and spa. Really do nt know what could be improved upon. Staff was all excellent! Hotel is located beside Village Market so easy to pop over if you need anything and are a couple of great coffee shops, a cafe and bakery among shops.

Room Tip: Based on quality and detail expect all rooms are excellent. In the city so not aware is there are be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kimberly29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
3.1 mi away
Villa Rosa Kempinski Nairobi
2.5 mi away
Sankara Nairobi
Sankara Nairobi
#10 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 697 reviews
3.7 mi away
Fairmont The Norfolk
Fairmont The Norfolk
#4 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 790 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.6 mi away
Hemingways Nairobi
Hemingways Nairobi
#1 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 326 reviews
4.2 mi away
Sarova Stanley
Sarova Stanley
#6 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 938 reviews
7.1 mi away
The Boma Nairobi
The Boma Nairobi
#5 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 520 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tribe Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tribe Hotel

Property: Tribe Hotel
Address: Limuru Road | The Village Market, Gigiri, Nairobi 00621, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi > Highridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Nairobi
#6 Spa Hotel in Nairobi
#8 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
#10 Romantic Hotel in Nairobi
#12 Family Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Tribe Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 137
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set apart from the crowded city centre and a modern contrast to a city of colonially-inspired getaways, Tribe Hotel located in the lush suburbs of the city echoes nothing but the ultimate in luxury and tranquility. It’s sleek architecture and crisp lines are sure to set forth a brand new experience in hotel accommodation. Drawing inspiration from its African heritage, the interior of the hotel boasts exquisite art, crafts and furnishings handpicked from the farthest corners of the continent. Each of the 137 rooms is carefully designed to whisk you away from the average mundane hotel room into a world of chic and hip design with an emphasis on detail and luxury. An ideal destination for those craving increased intimacy and comfort with an added dose of personal service. From free high speed internet access, complimentary mini bars, luxury airport transfers, warm welcomes to express check in and check-out facilities, you can be sure that Tribe understands the individual needs of just about any traveler! Adjacent to the hotel is The Village Market, the largest shopping and recreational complex in Eastern Africa, and Nairobi’s premier retail and cultural destination. With over 150 shops and services, set within flowing rivers and waterfalls. It is also home to the weekly Maasai Market which hosts 350 artists for a colorful display of crafts, paintings, beadworks and fabrics every Friday. Bringing a whole new pampering experience to Nairobi is the hotel’s Kaya Spa. Using carefully selected products, Kaya’s uniquely developed treatments are designed to harmonize both the body and mind. The six treatment rooms infuse a sense of tranquility through inspiring design and decor that is sure to contribute to the relaxation and re-invigoration of your entire spa experience. Tribe’s signature restaurant recently launched a brand new menu carefully designed by the Executive Chef and his team. Inspired by the open flame grill, the menu is a tribute to local farmers; paying homage to crisp flavors and fresh, organic ingredients. The Jiko team has also reinvented Tribe’s famous Sunday brunch; the perfectly constructed menu features an extended dessert buffet, unlimited breezy cocktails, amongst an array of other feasts for the entire family. Jiko authentically holds true to the glamour of the hotel while offering guests the delights of whimsy and fantasy through a playful approach to presentation. Located on the lobby level of the hotel, Suite 101, the new pastry offering at Tribe, is a place where you can come at anytime of the day. Using only the finest ingredients, the pastry shop offers an array of hot and cold treats ranging from custom and novelty cakes, decadent French macaroons, designer cupcakes, homemade chocolates and ice creams to bespoke sandwiches made using daily freshly baked bread. Whether it be for some intimate time alone with a tall mug of chai tea latte and a deliciously delectable pastry or a high tea with friends, Suite 101 is definitely a must try for any sweet tooth! Tribe’s serene, charming and charismatic surroundings undoubtedly place it among the most striking, and luxurious boutique properties on the African continent, guaranteeing to meet and exceed the needs of any guest from jet setting celebrities to time constrained business travelers looking to add an urban flair to their Kenya-getaways! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Odigeo, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Tribe Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tribe The Village Market Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing