We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Stay in Nairobi” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tribe Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Tribe Hotel
Ranked #8 of 156 Hotels in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence
Victoria, British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Stay in Nairobi”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

We arrived in Nairobi the weekend of the terrorist attack. we had no problem on arrival and were picked up at the airport by a Tribe Hotel SUV. Security was high at both the entrance to the hotel and the adjacent Village Market Shopping Centre.

The Tribe is fairly new and very modern in design located in the United Nations area of the city. Reception, bar and restaurant staff were efficient and friendly. Food was good both at the hotel and the various restaurants in the Shopping Centre. I was on business most of the week but my wife was able to book various city excursions through the hotel. She visited the Elephant orphanage, the Giraffe Centre and the Museum of Anthropology and enjoyed them all.

We went on safari the second week which included a day room at the Tribe at the end of the safari prior to catching a late evening flight to London. We would highly recommend the Tribe to anyone visiting Nairobi.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

722 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    400
    225
    64
    17
    16
See reviews for
66
124
54
395
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Alberta
Level Contributor
111 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

We stayed here our last night in Kenya and was the perfect choice. Wished we could stay longer just to stay here! Service was very good and lots of attention to security to ensure guests felt comfortable. The hotel itself is like a piece of art, such attention to detail everywhere. Was stunning. Rooms are beautiful and the most comfortable beds, slept great! Linens and room amentities are very good. There was even a coffee press in room. Breakfast is included and is a large buffet in Jiko Restaurant. Best almond croissant among all the other delicious offerings. Lovely gift shop and spa. Really do nt know what could be improved upon. Staff was all excellent! Hotel is located beside Village Market so easy to pop over if you need anything and are a couple of great coffee shops, a cafe and bakery among shops.

Room Tip: Based on quality and detail expect all rooms are excellent. In the city so not aware is there are be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kimberly29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mombasa, Kenya
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

Apart from the rooms being comfortable, lot of other problems we faced. Receptionist was too rude and despite our booking confirmation voucher, they wouldn't agree with us on pricing saying the price was higher.
The pool was too cold, and the hot pool was too hot, no one uses the pool so it is not well looked after.
The service from rest of the staff was good, but hotel is over rates for its service and hospitality

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BhavMsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alberta
Level Contributor
72 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013 via mobile

I have stayed at the Tribe several times. The hotel is clean and the staff is friendly. The rooms are modern and up to date.

It is secure and is located right next to the village market. The Village has great shopping and many dining options.

The pool area is lacking and doesn't really invite you do lounge and enjoy the poolside. My most recent visit I had issues with my air conditioning. It would keep Turning off after about 20 mins. I had to get up several times in the night to restart it.

I will likely stay at the Tribe again on future visits to Nairobi.

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Mark W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

My wife, daughter and I recently stayed there, 2 nights, (then a safari), and back for another night. We arrived 4 days after the mall attack. Our room wasn't ready, so they gave us a free upgrade. The decor is modern. It has an excellent pool, roof deck bar, the fitness room is excellent, and even the conference facilities looked good. The restaurant was fabulous! We ate most of our meals there. I even got a haircut there by Steve, a top notch stylist. I would definitely stay there again, as all aspects were a cut above. With only one exception. My wife and daughter went to a market, and were told they would be driven there in one of the hotel's land cruisers, which they were. They were told it was free for one hour. Due to the typical Nairobi traffic, they were 10 minutes late. The bell captain charged my wife $50 for the ride. I would suggest walking up to the Village Market and getting a cab which are much cheaper (half the price or more to the airport) than the hotel's transportation. Other than that, it was an excellent experience with friendly service and I would definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HJW82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Addis Ababa, Ethiopia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

My first visit to the hotel was to meet up with a friend. I was already staying at another hotel down town (wouldn't mention which one). The hotel seemed to be new and the decor was stunning. I came back later on and booked a room. I was very satisfied with the room. I stayed with my wife. Our first night together after getting married. We were both amazed. The bed was very comfortable. The room was very very neat. Decor was also on point. The service I received was very very pleasant. I definitely, without any reservations, recommend this hotel to everyone. Worth all the money I spent.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kingsley K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
washington dc
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

i recently stayed at the Tribe for a 4th time in Nairobi; I was involved in the recent events and was caught in the mall for over 6 hours, after I got out. when i went to the center that was setup for helping victims get back home and decompress. I was met by the owner of the TRIBE; he personally came out to get us and insure our safe passage back to the hotel. Later that night the GM took us for anything we wanted for food and drinks on the Tribe; they also had a trey of gourmet candy and drinks at my bed room table. I cannot say enough about the Tribe hotel and its customer service and taking care of there guests. They are truly 1st class hotel and to have the owner of the hotel come and get us after the event at the mall and insure we got back to the hotel was incredible; there is only one hotel to stay at Nairobi its the Tribe outstanding customer service.

Room Tip: it;s all good , they treat you like family.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jim h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
3.1 mi away
Villa Rosa Kempinski Nairobi
3.7 mi away
Fairmont The Norfolk
Fairmont The Norfolk
#4 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 840 reviews
4.2 mi away
Sarova Stanley
Sarova Stanley
#7 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 980 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Sankara Nairobi
Sankara Nairobi
#10 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 739 reviews
10.6 mi away
Hemingways Nairobi
Hemingways Nairobi
#1 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 368 reviews
7.1 mi away
The Boma Nairobi
The Boma Nairobi
#5 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 553 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tribe Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tribe Hotel

Property: Tribe Hotel
Address: Limuru Road | The Village Market, Gigiri, Nairobi 00621, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi > Highridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Nairobi
#6 Spa Hotel in Nairobi
#8 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
#10 Romantic Hotel in Nairobi
#12 Family Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Tribe Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 137
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set apart from the crowded city centre and a modern contrast to a city of colonially-inspired getaways, Tribe Hotel located in the lush suburbs of the city echoes nothing but the ultimate in luxury and tranquility. It’s sleek architecture and crisp lines are sure to set forth a brand new experience in hotel accommodation. Drawing inspiration from its African heritage, the interior of the hotel boasts exquisite art, crafts and furnishings handpicked from the farthest corners of the continent. Each of the 137 rooms is carefully designed to whisk you away from the average mundane hotel room into a world of chic and hip design with an emphasis on detail and luxury. An ideal destination for those craving increased intimacy and comfort with an added dose of personal service. From free high speed internet access, complimentary mini bars, luxury airport transfers, warm welcomes to express check in and check-out facilities, you can be sure that Tribe understands the individual needs of just about any traveler! Adjacent to the hotel is The Village Market, the largest shopping and recreational complex in Eastern Africa, and Nairobi’s premier retail and cultural destination. With over 150 shops and services, set within flowing rivers and waterfalls. It is also home to the weekly Maasai Market which hosts 350 artists for a colorful display of crafts, paintings, beadworks and fabrics every Friday. Bringing a whole new pampering experience to Nairobi is the hotel’s Kaya Spa. Using carefully selected products, Kaya’s uniquely developed treatments are designed to harmonize both the body and mind. The six treatment rooms infuse a sense of tranquility through inspiring design and decor that is sure to contribute to the relaxation and re-invigoration of your entire spa experience. Tribe’s signature restaurant recently launched a brand new menu carefully designed by the Executive Chef and his team. Inspired by the open flame grill, the menu is a tribute to local farmers; paying homage to crisp flavors and fresh, organic ingredients. The Jiko team has also reinvented Tribe’s famous Sunday brunch; the perfectly constructed menu features an extended dessert buffet, unlimited breezy cocktails, amongst an array of other feasts for the entire family. Jiko authentically holds true to the glamour of the hotel while offering guests the delights of whimsy and fantasy through a playful approach to presentation. Located on the lobby level of the hotel, Suite 101, the new pastry offering at Tribe, is a place where you can come at anytime of the day. Using only the finest ingredients, the pastry shop offers an array of hot and cold treats ranging from custom and novelty cakes, decadent French macaroons, designer cupcakes, homemade chocolates and ice creams to bespoke sandwiches made using daily freshly baked bread. Whether it be for some intimate time alone with a tall mug of chai tea latte and a deliciously delectable pastry or a high tea with friends, Suite 101 is definitely a must try for any sweet tooth! Tribe’s serene, charming and charismatic surroundings undoubtedly place it among the most striking, and luxurious boutique properties on the African continent, guaranteeing to meet and exceed the needs of any guest from jet setting celebrities to time constrained business travelers looking to add an urban flair to their Kenya-getaways! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Jovago.com, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda, Travelocity, getaroom.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Tribe Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tribe The Village Market Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing