We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Great accommodation and excellent service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tribe Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Tribe Hotel
Ranked #8 of 156 Hotels in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great accommodation and excellent service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

Stayed for 5 nights in September 2013, found staff very friendly and helpful. I would recommend the hotel to anyone that has a need for business stay in Nairobi. The hotel restaurant had an great breakfast and the internet connection was excellent.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SHW042
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

722 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    400
    225
    64
    17
    16
See reviews for
66
124
54
395
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for three nights last week.

The hotel interior design has this nice touches and comfy fusion of ethnic and modern designs and decorations.

We were booked on a standard room but decide to try the Ambassador suite for the next days. Standard room room is decent and has a comfortablrle bed though a bit small and feels cramp

The next day when we were supposed to shift, they were only able to prepare the room for us to shift at 6pm. 4 hours after were supposed to checked-in. The lack of urgency particularly the front desk was a let down. I have to call more than 4 times to check and they don't even try to atleast update you on the status.

Their only Ambassador suite or perhaps the only available, as per Front Desk, was on the second floor and smelled weird. We were not comfortable with it and requested for us to find another room. We found out from the staff that the room is facing the sewerage outside. Nice! : ( They shifted us to a Junior suite though better, aircon wasn't working properly and has to be fixed the next day.

Epic restaurant in the hotel is a redeeming part of the hotel, menu selections are fantastic and the staff are attentive and friendly.

We wanted to extend for another day but, decided to just go home.

Yes, the place is near Village market and Epic Restaurant is great but, if that's the only good factors for staying in- it's not worth it for me.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank J P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Level Contributor
185 reviews
105 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

This is a modern and comfortable hotel located in the diplomatic section of Nairobi.
All the amenities are provided in a lovely atmosphere. The rooftop bar is lovely. We found the food good, but the service lacking.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank liseuc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodstock, Georgia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

The Tribe Hotel is nothing less than pure eye candy! Gorgeous African relics and artwork abound throughout this beautiful hotel. The staff is pleasant, the food is good and the beds are very comfortable. The bar has a happening scene and I would not hesitate to book here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank srogers06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mauritius
Level Contributor
122 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

I went to a Saturday "Sundowner" Pool party here back in July, and it was a great crowd, and a funky place with excellent music.

Did not stay here, so cannot comment about the rooms, but the overall feel and service at the hotel was good.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank niknpatel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puerto Cayo, Ecuador
Level Contributor
78 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

What can I say - thanks to all of the staff. The rooms are great, spa treatment was professional, and breakfast has a great selection. The Wifi in the rooms is weak. Also the laundry service is expensive compared to the rest of the services available. The location is convenient to a mall where one can shop for just about anything. If you are there on a Friday - go to the artesian market. It is fun to see. I would recommend not buying out there as the same items are available in the shops in the mall and for a fair and reasonable price.

Room Tip: Get a room away from the front entry. People leave for safaris really early in the morning. They a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DrBublak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

We stayed at this hotel recommended by our friends. Check In was very very slow. It took us almost 45 minutes to do so. They could not find our reservation which had been reconfirmed by our friends an hour before. The person at the counter was very slow. Then some mix up with our needing a non smoking room and they did not have one free so said they would try and get one so a further delay.
We finally did make it to our rooms and were pleasantly surprised at the size. It was very small with no view. Anyways then we had a plumbing issue with the whole sink leaking into our room. They did manage to sort it out.
Anyways interiors of the hotel are very nice and modern. The light switches were a little confusing .
The village shopping market is just a two minute walk away in the same enclosure. So lots of options for shopping and restaurants. We did try the art caffe which was excellent.
Breakfast is the only meal we had in the hotel which was quite good. But we would have enjoyed some more vegetarian options. Service was not as friendly as we had oped for since Africa is known for their service.
There is nice small pool outside but it is not heated and since it was cold when went could not use it.
Wifi is available and not very good connectivity and expensive.
The concierge were quite helpful.
Overall a nice stay. Would stay again as a couple but not with children.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Darshikaajoomal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TribeHotel, Manager at Tribe Hotel, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Dear Darshikaajomal,

Thank you for your review dated September 8, 2013.
I would like to apologize for your check in experience, we strive to maintain a 5 minute check in policy for all our guests and it is disappointing that you did not receive this. I have taken up the matter with our front office team.

Thank you for your compliments regarding the interiors of our hotel, the proximity to the village market and our breakfast buffet. I will share your feedback with our chef regarding a larger variety of vegeterian options.

I am pleased to inform you that our swimming pool is now heated, I hope you can enjoy this on your next visit to Nairobi.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Tribe soon.

Kind Regards,
Alina Haq
Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
3.1 mi away
Villa Rosa Kempinski Nairobi
3.7 mi away
Fairmont The Norfolk
Fairmont The Norfolk
#4 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 840 reviews
4.2 mi away
Sarova Stanley
Sarova Stanley
#7 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 980 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Sankara Nairobi
Sankara Nairobi
#10 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 739 reviews
10.6 mi away
Hemingways Nairobi
Hemingways Nairobi
#1 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 368 reviews
7.1 mi away
The Boma Nairobi
The Boma Nairobi
#5 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 553 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tribe Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tribe Hotel

Property: Tribe Hotel
Address: Limuru Road | The Village Market, Gigiri, Nairobi 00621, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi > Highridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Nairobi
#6 Spa Hotel in Nairobi
#8 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
#10 Romantic Hotel in Nairobi
#12 Family Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Tribe Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 137
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set apart from the crowded city centre and a modern contrast to a city of colonially-inspired getaways, Tribe Hotel located in the lush suburbs of the city echoes nothing but the ultimate in luxury and tranquility. It’s sleek architecture and crisp lines are sure to set forth a brand new experience in hotel accommodation. Drawing inspiration from its African heritage, the interior of the hotel boasts exquisite art, crafts and furnishings handpicked from the farthest corners of the continent. Each of the 137 rooms is carefully designed to whisk you away from the average mundane hotel room into a world of chic and hip design with an emphasis on detail and luxury. An ideal destination for those craving increased intimacy and comfort with an added dose of personal service. From free high speed internet access, complimentary mini bars, luxury airport transfers, warm welcomes to express check in and check-out facilities, you can be sure that Tribe understands the individual needs of just about any traveler! Adjacent to the hotel is The Village Market, the largest shopping and recreational complex in Eastern Africa, and Nairobi’s premier retail and cultural destination. With over 150 shops and services, set within flowing rivers and waterfalls. It is also home to the weekly Maasai Market which hosts 350 artists for a colorful display of crafts, paintings, beadworks and fabrics every Friday. Bringing a whole new pampering experience to Nairobi is the hotel’s Kaya Spa. Using carefully selected products, Kaya’s uniquely developed treatments are designed to harmonize both the body and mind. The six treatment rooms infuse a sense of tranquility through inspiring design and decor that is sure to contribute to the relaxation and re-invigoration of your entire spa experience. Tribe’s signature restaurant recently launched a brand new menu carefully designed by the Executive Chef and his team. Inspired by the open flame grill, the menu is a tribute to local farmers; paying homage to crisp flavors and fresh, organic ingredients. The Jiko team has also reinvented Tribe’s famous Sunday brunch; the perfectly constructed menu features an extended dessert buffet, unlimited breezy cocktails, amongst an array of other feasts for the entire family. Jiko authentically holds true to the glamour of the hotel while offering guests the delights of whimsy and fantasy through a playful approach to presentation. Located on the lobby level of the hotel, Suite 101, the new pastry offering at Tribe, is a place where you can come at anytime of the day. Using only the finest ingredients, the pastry shop offers an array of hot and cold treats ranging from custom and novelty cakes, decadent French macaroons, designer cupcakes, homemade chocolates and ice creams to bespoke sandwiches made using daily freshly baked bread. Whether it be for some intimate time alone with a tall mug of chai tea latte and a deliciously delectable pastry or a high tea with friends, Suite 101 is definitely a must try for any sweet tooth! Tribe’s serene, charming and charismatic surroundings undoubtedly place it among the most striking, and luxurious boutique properties on the African continent, guaranteeing to meet and exceed the needs of any guest from jet setting celebrities to time constrained business travelers looking to add an urban flair to their Kenya-getaways! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Jovago.com, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, getaroom.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Tribe Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tribe The Village Market Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing