We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Cool & HIp Hotel on the outskirts of Nairobi, great Saturday Pool party” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tribe Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Tribe Hotel
Ranked #7 of 156 Hotels in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence
Mauritius
Level Contributor
109 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Cool & HIp Hotel on the outskirts of Nairobi, great Saturday Pool party”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

I went to a Saturday "Sundowner" Pool party here back in July, and it was a great crowd, and a funky place with excellent music.

Did not stay here, so cannot comment about the rooms, but the overall feel and service at the hotel was good.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank niknpatel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

714 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    396
    222
    63
    17
    16
See reviews for
63
123
54
392
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Puerto Cayo, Ecuador
Level Contributor
73 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

What can I say - thanks to all of the staff. The rooms are great, spa treatment was professional, and breakfast has a great selection. The Wifi in the rooms is weak. Also the laundry service is expensive compared to the rest of the services available. The location is convenient to a mall where one can shop for just about anything. If you are there on a Friday - go to the artesian market. It is fun to see. I would recommend not buying out there as the same items are available in the shops in the mall and for a fair and reasonable price.

Room Tip: Get a room away from the front entry. People leave for safaris really early in the morning. They a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DrBublak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

We stayed at this hotel recommended by our friends. Check In was very very slow. It took us almost 45 minutes to do so. They could not find our reservation which had been reconfirmed by our friends an hour before. The person at the counter was very slow. Then some mix up with our needing a non smoking room and they did not have one free so said they would try and get one so a further delay.
We finally did make it to our rooms and were pleasantly surprised at the size. It was very small with no view. Anyways then we had a plumbing issue with the whole sink leaking into our room. They did manage to sort it out.
Anyways interiors of the hotel are very nice and modern. The light switches were a little confusing .
The village shopping market is just a two minute walk away in the same enclosure. So lots of options for shopping and restaurants. We did try the art caffe which was excellent.
Breakfast is the only meal we had in the hotel which was quite good. But we would have enjoyed some more vegetarian options. Service was not as friendly as we had oped for since Africa is known for their service.
There is nice small pool outside but it is not heated and since it was cold when went could not use it.
Wifi is available and not very good connectivity and expensive.
The concierge were quite helpful.
Overall a nice stay. Would stay again as a couple but not with children.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Darshikaajoomal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TribeHotel, Manager at Tribe Hotel, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Dear Darshikaajomal,

Thank you for your review dated September 8, 2013.
I would like to apologize for your check in experience, we strive to maintain a 5 minute check in policy for all our guests and it is disappointing that you did not receive this. I have taken up the matter with our front office team.

Thank you for your compliments regarding the interiors of our hotel, the proximity to the village market and our breakfast buffet. I will share your feedback with our chef regarding a larger variety of vegeterian options.

I am pleased to inform you that our swimming pool is now heated, I hope you can enjoy this on your next visit to Nairobi.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Tribe soon.

Kind Regards,
Alina Haq
Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Stroudsburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

I have stayed at the Tribe at least 3 times for business. My colleagues and I like its location since it is so close to Village Market. The first time we stayed there it was ok, but we thought the hotel was loud. The hotel is not well designed in terms of noise reduction. We didn't sleep very well because of the constant doors slamming, hearing people through the walls, etc, however we chose to stay there again because of the location and some of the staff.

On our second stay, we were quite disappointed, rude reception staff, charging a colleagues card for another person's stay, issues arranging our car for meetings everyday and some other small things. After this experience the hotel management apologized and asked us to please stay with them again and they would make it up to us so we just did again this past month.

On this stay I was checking in quite late at night and was reviewing my check in information, I realized we would all likely be needing late checkouts and I was rudely told that we already got free spa treatments. I was quite confused by this. Apparently we were being given free spa treatments to make up for last time. I am not sure how a free spa treatment means I can't have a late checkout but I was tired and went to my room. In my room was my free spa voucher for a treatment which included sitting in a sauna and rubbing mud on yourself (to me this is not a treatment). The next issue was the fact that my colleague had been bitten by a spider while she slept in her bed and upon asking for this situation to be remedied by changing her room or at least spraying the room and removing the bed linens, the person said ok and then when following up, found out it never happened. We asked for her to have a new room and the staff member said I have no rooms, "can't you just sleep in there tonight and we'll change your room tomorrow?" Obviously, that was not a reasonable solution and I had to let her stay in my room. Of course when we tried to go to sleep in my room, there was a spider in my bed as well. Not only are the experiences bad, but the way the staff handles the situations makes them worse. We have decided we have given the Tribe all the chances we can and are not going to stay there again. The two positive things I will say is the spa/salon is excellent and some restaurant staff. It is unfortunate that the Tribe can not get it together because its location is excellent.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephanie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

I've stayed here twice in the last year. Excellent overall accommodation. Great rooms, spa/gym very good. Breakfast buffet has good service and excellent cuisine.. WiFi is so-so, at times a weak signal and poor connectivity. Within 100 meters of a large mall; many restaurants, stores, entertainment. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Al S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

I stayed at this hotel twice this year and will recommend to anyone looking for a quiet, upmarket hotel far from the city center. The interior design is superb, service fantastic and the hotel is at walking distance to the Village Market shopping center. Love it

Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Oulzo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oakland, california
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

Beautiful place. Weak WiFi and the power has been flickering about 6 times per day. Whole hotel goes down then up again. Wouldn't brave the elevators with that risk. Also if someone is disabled its hard to get around with all the stairs. Lots and lots and lots of stairs.

Awesome place for lounging and meeting with friends for drinks. Gorgeous pool. Nice gym. Great decor.

Customer service, staff is slightly incompetent but nothing I haven't experienced throughout my travels. It takes some patience. Like not having my order taken for 30 min. and giving up in the lounge, or the breakfast people taking my omelet order then I watch as they serve it to someone else. I gave up on that too and had cereal instead of insisting. Too much effort on my part to deal with it.

Also - TV reception is shoddy, there is no channel guide and the TV itself is mounted on the wall crooked. What the hell?

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wildtraveler23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
3.1 mi away
Villa Rosa Kempinski Nairobi
3.7 mi away
Fairmont The Norfolk
Fairmont The Norfolk
#3 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 811 reviews
10.6 mi away
Hemingways Nairobi
Hemingways Nairobi
#1 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 349 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Sankara Nairobi
Sankara Nairobi
#9 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 716 reviews
4.2 mi away
Sarova Stanley
Sarova Stanley
#6 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 956 reviews
7.1 mi away
The Boma Nairobi
The Boma Nairobi
#5 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 535 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tribe Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tribe Hotel

Property: Tribe Hotel
Address: Limuru Road | The Village Market, Gigiri, Nairobi 00621, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi > Highridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Nairobi
#6 Spa Hotel in Nairobi
#7 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
#10 Romantic Hotel in Nairobi
#12 Family Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Tribe Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 137
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set apart from the crowded city centre and a modern contrast to a city of colonially-inspired getaways, Tribe Hotel located in the lush suburbs of the city echoes nothing but the ultimate in luxury and tranquility. It’s sleek architecture and crisp lines are sure to set forth a brand new experience in hotel accommodation. Drawing inspiration from its African heritage, the interior of the hotel boasts exquisite art, crafts and furnishings handpicked from the farthest corners of the continent. Each of the 137 rooms is carefully designed to whisk you away from the average mundane hotel room into a world of chic and hip design with an emphasis on detail and luxury. An ideal destination for those craving increased intimacy and comfort with an added dose of personal service. From free high speed internet access, complimentary mini bars, luxury airport transfers, warm welcomes to express check in and check-out facilities, you can be sure that Tribe understands the individual needs of just about any traveler! Adjacent to the hotel is The Village Market, the largest shopping and recreational complex in Eastern Africa, and Nairobi’s premier retail and cultural destination. With over 150 shops and services, set within flowing rivers and waterfalls. It is also home to the weekly Maasai Market which hosts 350 artists for a colorful display of crafts, paintings, beadworks and fabrics every Friday. Bringing a whole new pampering experience to Nairobi is the hotel’s Kaya Spa. Using carefully selected products, Kaya’s uniquely developed treatments are designed to harmonize both the body and mind. The six treatment rooms infuse a sense of tranquility through inspiring design and decor that is sure to contribute to the relaxation and re-invigoration of your entire spa experience. Tribe’s signature restaurant recently launched a brand new menu carefully designed by the Executive Chef and his team. Inspired by the open flame grill, the menu is a tribute to local farmers; paying homage to crisp flavors and fresh, organic ingredients. The Jiko team has also reinvented Tribe’s famous Sunday brunch; the perfectly constructed menu features an extended dessert buffet, unlimited breezy cocktails, amongst an array of other feasts for the entire family. Jiko authentically holds true to the glamour of the hotel while offering guests the delights of whimsy and fantasy through a playful approach to presentation. Located on the lobby level of the hotel, Suite 101, the new pastry offering at Tribe, is a place where you can come at anytime of the day. Using only the finest ingredients, the pastry shop offers an array of hot and cold treats ranging from custom and novelty cakes, decadent French macaroons, designer cupcakes, homemade chocolates and ice creams to bespoke sandwiches made using daily freshly baked bread. Whether it be for some intimate time alone with a tall mug of chai tea latte and a deliciously delectable pastry or a high tea with friends, Suite 101 is definitely a must try for any sweet tooth! Tribe’s serene, charming and charismatic surroundings undoubtedly place it among the most striking, and luxurious boutique properties on the African continent, guaranteeing to meet and exceed the needs of any guest from jet setting celebrities to time constrained business travelers looking to add an urban flair to their Kenya-getaways! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Odigeo, Travelocity, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your Tribe Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tribe The Village Market Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing