We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Beautiful people” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tribe Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Tribe Hotel
Ranked #8 of 156 Hotels in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful people”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013 via mobile

Simply happy with the customer care. Especially with the porters and drivers. Very helpful and genuinely friendly. Architecture is wonderful. A bit of disappointment in the eating area. But generally it was welcoming and wonderful

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank siobhan158
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

719 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    398
    224
    64
    17
    16
See reviews for
65
123
54
395
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nairobi, Nairobi, Kenya
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

I visited tribe hotel in the whole of April 13.welcoming of the guest is waoh,the place is situated next to village market a very cool place without any disturbing noise.security is definitely superb due to their well trained securities.food was soo delicious,accommodation well catered

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 123834
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurgaon, India
Level Contributor
66 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

I stayed at the Tribe Hotel on a business trip in April 13 end. It's a nice hotel in an upmarket locality of Nairobi. The hotel is nicely designed and the service is good. The rooms are a bit small though. The stay of 3 days was nice and delightful. The business conference in the hotel was well organized. A memorable stay.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sidharath_Kapur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

We have stayed at this hotel multiple times for business as it is in a safe area and conveniently located next to Village Market. The staff are exceptional, rooms are immaculate, and the place is always buzzing with interesting people and cool events. The only downside, which I have experienced on every visit is that the rooms are not well insulated from noise so every time someone near your room closes their door it is startling and in the back of the hotel you can hear the traffic. I am a very heavy sleeper and it still disturbs me. The spa is really nice! I recommend Lucyanno for a the perfect mani pedi.

Room Tip: Try to get a room away from the lobby and away from the gym.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank vtg2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurel, Maryland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

I stayed at the Tribe Hotel in Nairobi. The rooms are clean and very attractive, the staff is nice and the restaurant is very good. The security is excellent, and as I was traveling for business, it was the hotel that was recommended by the US Embassy. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kendra V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Providence RI
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

I am using the same yardstick I apply to the rest of the world when I give this hotel a "Very Good" review. It is one of the nicest hotels in Nairobi and Kenya for that matter. The rooms are clean and comfortable and the layout is more like a club than a hotel. The staff is very nice and helpful. What really perplexes me is how they can take all the great stuff going on and create such a useless space out of everything. Outside has various water effects that will make trips across at night downright dangerous. The whole hotel has Wi-fi but I have not found a place yet with a strong signal. The breakfast is disjointed and has a awkward flow. The gym... well lets just say its focus is modern chic not crushing plates. I am not a huge guy and I can empty their racks. They do however have the most bad Larry punching bag room I have ever seen. I hope to see some dignitaries annihilating that bag some day. The prices are high but if you have spent some time in Kenya it is a welcome reprieve from more austere locations.

Room Tip: Try to get a room facing the inside of the compound. There is construction of an office building on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cleaniedini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia
Level Contributor
113 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

Just finishing my 3rd stay, ten nights, at The Tribe. The Tribe is really a boutique hotel with its own very unique character and ambience. I enjoy it alot. First, the building is beautiful with striking architecture and African art all over, including in the rooms. The public areas offer generous and comfortable seating, much of it in a punk style that contrasts with the building. Like most boutique hotels, the rooms ca be slightly small. As some have noted, the bath area is very minimalist Scandanavian. In my room right now I am looking at a gorgeous combination of stone, dark wood, brick, and painted concrete. It's amazing. THe bed is outstanding! The included breakfast is very nice, more European or British than American. Service has been quite good. Their expediter met me at the airport as scheduled, which had not happened on my two previous visits. I do, however, have to agree with the comments that staff, while very nice, rarely seem able to resolve issues on the spot. The pool area is a lovely, multi-level area with food/drink service and sunbathing. There is also a well-regarded spa. Rooms have full amenities with safe and tea/coffee service in-room. Rates are not cheap, but consistent with the city. Overall, The Tribe is a lovely property where you can relax and be comfortable and secure. Could it be better? Yes. But, all in all, I have enjoyed my stay very much. Wold be delighted to return again.

Room Tip: Do note: The Tribe is in northwest Nairobi, totally across town from the airport and not near the CB...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BonVoyage2U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
3.1 mi away
Villa Rosa Kempinski Nairobi
3.7 mi away
Fairmont The Norfolk
Fairmont The Norfolk
#4 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 837 reviews
4.2 mi away
Sarova Stanley
Sarova Stanley
#7 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 978 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Sankara Nairobi
Sankara Nairobi
#9 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 736 reviews
10.6 mi away
Hemingways Nairobi
Hemingways Nairobi
#1 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 369 reviews
7.1 mi away
The Boma Nairobi
The Boma Nairobi
#5 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 550 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tribe Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tribe Hotel

Property: Tribe Hotel
Address: Limuru Road | The Village Market, Gigiri, Nairobi 00621, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi > Highridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Nairobi
#6 Spa Hotel in Nairobi
#8 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
#10 Romantic Hotel in Nairobi
#12 Family Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Tribe Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 137
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set apart from the crowded city centre and a modern contrast to a city of colonially-inspired getaways, Tribe Hotel located in the lush suburbs of the city echoes nothing but the ultimate in luxury and tranquility. It’s sleek architecture and crisp lines are sure to set forth a brand new experience in hotel accommodation. Drawing inspiration from its African heritage, the interior of the hotel boasts exquisite art, crafts and furnishings handpicked from the farthest corners of the continent. Each of the 137 rooms is carefully designed to whisk you away from the average mundane hotel room into a world of chic and hip design with an emphasis on detail and luxury. An ideal destination for those craving increased intimacy and comfort with an added dose of personal service. From free high speed internet access, complimentary mini bars, luxury airport transfers, warm welcomes to express check in and check-out facilities, you can be sure that Tribe understands the individual needs of just about any traveler! Adjacent to the hotel is The Village Market, the largest shopping and recreational complex in Eastern Africa, and Nairobi’s premier retail and cultural destination. With over 150 shops and services, set within flowing rivers and waterfalls. It is also home to the weekly Maasai Market which hosts 350 artists for a colorful display of crafts, paintings, beadworks and fabrics every Friday. Bringing a whole new pampering experience to Nairobi is the hotel’s Kaya Spa. Using carefully selected products, Kaya’s uniquely developed treatments are designed to harmonize both the body and mind. The six treatment rooms infuse a sense of tranquility through inspiring design and decor that is sure to contribute to the relaxation and re-invigoration of your entire spa experience. Tribe’s signature restaurant recently launched a brand new menu carefully designed by the Executive Chef and his team. Inspired by the open flame grill, the menu is a tribute to local farmers; paying homage to crisp flavors and fresh, organic ingredients. The Jiko team has also reinvented Tribe’s famous Sunday brunch; the perfectly constructed menu features an extended dessert buffet, unlimited breezy cocktails, amongst an array of other feasts for the entire family. Jiko authentically holds true to the glamour of the hotel while offering guests the delights of whimsy and fantasy through a playful approach to presentation. Located on the lobby level of the hotel, Suite 101, the new pastry offering at Tribe, is a place where you can come at anytime of the day. Using only the finest ingredients, the pastry shop offers an array of hot and cold treats ranging from custom and novelty cakes, decadent French macaroons, designer cupcakes, homemade chocolates and ice creams to bespoke sandwiches made using daily freshly baked bread. Whether it be for some intimate time alone with a tall mug of chai tea latte and a deliciously delectable pastry or a high tea with friends, Suite 101 is definitely a must try for any sweet tooth! Tribe’s serene, charming and charismatic surroundings undoubtedly place it among the most striking, and luxurious boutique properties on the African continent, guaranteeing to meet and exceed the needs of any guest from jet setting celebrities to time constrained business travelers looking to add an urban flair to their Kenya-getaways! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, HotelTravel.com, getaroom.com, Odigeo, Jovago.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Tribe Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tribe The Village Market Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing