We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tribe Hotel
Nearby Hotels
$261
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$72
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$511
$465
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$143
$133
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$149
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$177
$157
Preferred Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$258
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$194
$166
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$200
$188
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$104
$83
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,029)
Filter reviews
1,029 results
Traveler rating
576
317
89
29
18
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
576
317
89
29
18
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsvillage marketkaya spajiko restaurantafrican artboutique hotelshopping mallunited nationsbeautiful hotelfourth floorcommon areasrooftop barmy colleaguebusiness tripnairobi trafficlong flightembassieskenya
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
725 - 730 of 1,029 reviews
Reviewed March 3, 2013

I loved the room,really did.My only concern is the over the top security! The first night the security seemed bothered that i wanted to get through the gate that connects to the Village Market,perhaps the security personnel was having a bad night,but that doesn't excuse the lack of professionalism. Having checked out the next day,but had to return as i left an item in the room,which was safely deposited at the security desk,the security personnel(a different one from the night before) seemed bothered that we needed to get through the gate.Internet signal is very poor,so they definitely need to work on that.Love the architecture and decor.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisa R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2013

As a boutique hotel, it is beautiful -- the architecture, the decor. No doubt about it. But... I stayed there exactly three years ago. Not much has changed. They even put me in exactly the same room.

The hotel internet. WIFI -- the signal strength is "very low". But, if you bring a cable, or get one from the desk, the service is satisfactory.

I found the service to be just fine at all levels and at all times. The breakfast buffet was good, though not great. Good pours at the bar.

The hotel is several klicks outside of Nairobi and be prepared to be isolated, except for the Village Market. The "shopping mall" is the cat's pajamas to the locals and pretty ho hum to me and my colleague. The hotel prides itself on everything that I hate about it -- niche, boutique hotel, minimalist everything, hyper modern everything. The trouble is, while some of this stuff look really great on the cover of Architectural Digest, it is not functional in real life. There is no bathroom, but there is vanity area at one end of the room. The vanity itself is a low table in green glass; no underneath, no drawers, just space. On top of it sits a porcelain bowl, the sink. It is deep and not very wide. The water comes out of a chrome pipe that comes to the side of the bowel; there is a joystick on top to control water flow. So, every time you want to adjust the water flow, you reach over, outside the sink, and get water all over everything. Not to mention that the little joystick is not finely calibrated, so you tend to get too much or too little of whatever you want whenever you touch it. Oh yes, I looked for 24 hours to find how to close the sink stopper -- no little lever or button or pull -- you have to press on the stopper to close it, then bop it smartly to make it pop open. I really don't like plunging into the scum to open the drain, then maneuvering the joystick to clean off my hand.

One entire end of the room is the john. You enter and to your right is this ugly green vanity table with the big white sink bowl, and to the right of that is a glass wall, with the toilet proudly sitting there to be seen from all across the room. There is no tub, just a shower, with a glass partition that does not stop the shower water from splashing all over the toilet area floor and out into the sink area.

There is no chair except for an ergonomic desk chair; the only way to watch the wall mounted TV is to sit on the bed. The banquette, very uncomfortable, had to serve as the luggage stand. No dresser, just a couple of very small shelves in the closet on which to put your undies and such.

My room overlooked the pool, scene of much noise from time to time. As the window was broken and wouldn't shut properly, it was worse than it had to be. Mind you, they put me in that room three years ago and the window was broken. They put me in the same room on this visit and the window was STILL broken.

Beautiful, but in the rooms, not practical.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rover1313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

I've been getting massages in hotels around the world for more than 25 years. I have lived in Africa for ten, and I have had massages in most of the hotels I've stayed where they have been available in more than 15 African countries. The Tribe Hotel in Nairobi, Kenya, in my opinion offers the best massages in Africa. I had five massages there by three or four different massage therapists, each of whom was outstanding, superbly trained, and very nice. The Tribe Hotel also offers excellent food, sizable rooms, state-of-the-art room facilities, a small gym, two good bars, a business centre, meeting rooms, has excellent service, is quiet, and is within three minutes' walk of a shopping centre. It's a great hotel and an excellent addition to the hotel options in Nairobi, where I have stayed several times over the past 15 years. Coming back there to stay after jaunts to three other countries on a business trip was almost as good as coming home.

Room Tip: Rooms on the ground floor are the quietest.
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mary O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2013

Great boutique hotel in Nairobi, exceptional staff, comfortable ambiance, with a fresh Kenyan feel. Nice swimming pool and gym area. Amazing food, beautifully served and not badly prices.
The rooms have all the comforts, nicely styled, spacious and comfortable sleeping.
Adjacent shopping complex with restaurants, curious shops, banks and supermarkets.
The area of Gigiri is also very quiet and secure, most of the embassies and ambassadors residences are in this area, hence suitable to take a walk around and take in a bit of the neighborhood.

Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
1  Thank fbenettolo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2013

Staying at the Tribe is like staying in a little calm bubble inside of the congested and bustling city of Nairobi. It is very near to the United Nations officies and the Embassy district in Gigiri. The hotel is nicely decorated with a lot of African art works, nice and comfortable rooms and attentive service. Breakfast buffet is good with a mix of continental and African foods. The hotel is located next to the Mall "Village Market" and there is no need to have lunch or dinner at the hotel since there are plenty of good restaurants and cafes within five minutes walk. The gym is nice but small. Only one threadmill so sometimes there is a wait. The pool is also small but the area is nice with a variety of seating arrangements. Internet is free but you need to reconnect too often.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the second floor or higher since the cars arriving at the lobby and the cooking in the restaurant can disturbe the rooms on the 1st (ground) floor. Also better to stay in the main building.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Annikika
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews