We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty, buyt frustrating; but not many options” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tribe Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Tribe Hotel
Ranked #8 of 156 Hotels in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence
Ballston
Level Contributor
90 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Pretty, buyt frustrating; but not many options”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

As a boutique hotel, it is beautiful -- the architecture, the decor. No doubt about it. But... I stayed there exactly three years ago. Not much has changed. They even put me in exactly the same room.

The hotel internet. WIFI -- the signal strength is "very low". But, if you bring a cable, or get one from the desk, the service is satisfactory.

I found the service to be just fine at all levels and at all times. The breakfast buffet was good, though not great. Good pours at the bar.

The hotel is several klicks outside of Nairobi and be prepared to be isolated, except for the Village Market. The "shopping mall" is the cat's pajamas to the locals and pretty ho hum to me and my colleague. The hotel prides itself on everything that I hate about it -- niche, boutique hotel, minimalist everything, hyper modern everything. The trouble is, while some of this stuff look really great on the cover of Architectural Digest, it is not functional in real life. There is no bathroom, but there is vanity area at one end of the room. The vanity itself is a low table in green glass; no underneath, no drawers, just space. On top of it sits a porcelain bowl, the sink. It is deep and not very wide. The water comes out of a chrome pipe that comes to the side of the bowel; there is a joystick on top to control water flow. So, every time you want to adjust the water flow, you reach over, outside the sink, and get water all over everything. Not to mention that the little joystick is not finely calibrated, so you tend to get too much or too little of whatever you want whenever you touch it. Oh yes, I looked for 24 hours to find how to close the sink stopper -- no little lever or button or pull -- you have to press on the stopper to close it, then bop it smartly to make it pop open. I really don't like plunging into the scum to open the drain, then maneuvering the joystick to clean off my hand.

One entire end of the room is the john. You enter and to your right is this ugly green vanity table with the big white sink bowl, and to the right of that is a glass wall, with the toilet proudly sitting there to be seen from all across the room. There is no tub, just a shower, with a glass partition that does not stop the shower water from splashing all over the toilet area floor and out into the sink area.

There is no chair except for an ergonomic desk chair; the only way to watch the wall mounted TV is to sit on the bed. The banquette, very uncomfortable, had to serve as the luggage stand. No dresser, just a couple of very small shelves in the closet on which to put your undies and such.

My room overlooked the pool, scene of much noise from time to time. As the window was broken and wouldn't shut properly, it was worse than it had to be. Mind you, they put me in that room three years ago and the window was broken. They put me in the same room on this visit and the window was STILL broken.

Beautiful, but in the rooms, not practical.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rover1313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

691 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    381
    215
    63
    16
    16
See reviews for
59
118
54
380
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

I've been getting massages in hotels around the world for more than 25 years. I have lived in Africa for ten, and I have had massages in most of the hotels I've stayed where they have been available in more than 15 African countries. The Tribe Hotel in Nairobi, Kenya, in my opinion offers the best massages in Africa. I had five massages there by three or four different massage therapists, each of whom was outstanding, superbly trained, and very nice. The Tribe Hotel also offers excellent food, sizable rooms, state-of-the-art room facilities, a small gym, two good bars, a business centre, meeting rooms, has excellent service, is quiet, and is within three minutes' walk of a shopping centre. It's a great hotel and an excellent addition to the hotel options in Nairobi, where I have stayed several times over the past 15 years. Coming back there to stay after jaunts to three other countries on a business trip was almost as good as coming home.

Room Tip: Rooms on the ground floor are the quietest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
51 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013 via mobile

Great boutique hotel in Nairobi, exceptional staff, comfortable ambiance, with a fresh Kenyan feel. Nice swimming pool and gym area. Amazing food, beautifully served and not badly prices.
The rooms have all the comforts, nicely styled, spacious and comfortable sleeping.
Adjacent shopping complex with restaurants, curious shops, banks and supermarkets.
The area of Gigiri is also very quiet and secure, most of the embassies and ambassadors residences are in this area, hence suitable to take a walk around and take in a bit of the neighborhood.

Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank fbenettolo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
32 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

Staying at the Tribe is like staying in a little calm bubble inside of the congested and bustling city of Nairobi. It is very near to the United Nations officies and the Embassy district in Gigiri. The hotel is nicely decorated with a lot of African art works, nice and comfortable rooms and attentive service. Breakfast buffet is good with a mix of continental and African foods. The hotel is located next to the Mall "Village Market" and there is no need to have lunch or dinner at the hotel since there are plenty of good restaurants and cafes within five minutes walk. The gym is nice but small. Only one threadmill so sometimes there is a wait. The pool is also small but the area is nice with a variety of seating arrangements. Internet is free but you need to reconnect too often.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the second floor or higher since the cars arriving at the lobby and the cooking in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Annikika
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amman, Jordan
Level Contributor
388 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

This is by far the best hotel I have stayed in in Africa. From the moment you arrive, the friendliness and professionalism of the staff is just unreal. Everyone greats you with a smile and they all make sure your need are met. I have stayed there several times for both business and tourism trips and they have all been excellent. The facilities at the hotel are amazing as well, the gym was very clean and great equipment as well as an out of this world boxing area. The spa was fantastic and an out of this world experience. The food at the hotel is also great, from the burger to the steak, sushi and pasta, all of which were world class.
Location wise is great depending on what your plans are, Its a bit far from the city center, so traffic can at times be a problem, but right next to the hotel you have the Village Market which is a great mall, and they have an amazing market on Friday which is a must for every visitor.

I can continue to go on forever here, I cant wait to go back and see everyone at Tribe and stay there again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kmiqdadi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

Very good hotel with excellent service. Best security in town with their own compound and a very large standoff. Excellent location is working with the UN and embassies in Gigiri - walking distance. Adjacent to the Village Market which offers convenience for shopping, dining, and entertainment. Rather far from the airport, so plan accordingly as Nairobi traffic can be horrendous.

Quite busy as is popular both with guests and day visitors. Smallish pool which doesn't seem to get much use; it is overlooked by the restaurant, and there are few lounge areas.

Breakfast is not included and is ok, but pricey.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mithlondir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013 via mobile

I read the reviews on this page and wonder whether I stayed at the same hotel. Although a bit far, the location is great. The hotel is located close to a large mall, with some options for restaurants and entertainment.

We stayed for 5 nights, after 2 sleepless nights, due to what sounded like a broken water pump above our room, we asked to change rooms. Both rooms were nicely designed, although on the small side and clean. The breakfast buffet good with many options. The service at the hotel was a hit and miss (I have written a separate review for that) and we sometimes felt that there was biased treatment towards caucasian guests.

The gym was ok with adequate machines however the hotel is lacking a proper pool area, it accommodates 6 lounge chairs at best and it the pool itself its quite small.

Overall I think its quite over priced for what you get.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cheerioshiro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
3.1 mi away
Villa Rosa Kempinski Nairobi
2.5 mi away
Sankara Nairobi
Sankara Nairobi
#10 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 699 reviews
3.7 mi away
Fairmont The Norfolk
Fairmont The Norfolk
#4 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 792 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.6 mi away
Hemingways Nairobi
Hemingways Nairobi
#1 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 329 reviews
4.2 mi away
Sarova Stanley
Sarova Stanley
#6 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 939 reviews
7.1 mi away
The Boma Nairobi
The Boma Nairobi
#5 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 522 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tribe Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tribe Hotel

Property: Tribe Hotel
Address: Limuru Road | The Village Market, Gigiri, Nairobi 00621, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi > Highridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Nairobi
#6 Spa Hotel in Nairobi
#8 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
#10 Romantic Hotel in Nairobi
#12 Family Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Tribe Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 137
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set apart from the crowded city centre and a modern contrast to a city of colonially-inspired getaways, Tribe Hotel located in the lush suburbs of the city echoes nothing but the ultimate in luxury and tranquility. It’s sleek architecture and crisp lines are sure to set forth a brand new experience in hotel accommodation. Drawing inspiration from its African heritage, the interior of the hotel boasts exquisite art, crafts and furnishings handpicked from the farthest corners of the continent. Each of the 137 rooms is carefully designed to whisk you away from the average mundane hotel room into a world of chic and hip design with an emphasis on detail and luxury. An ideal destination for those craving increased intimacy and comfort with an added dose of personal service. From free high speed internet access, complimentary mini bars, luxury airport transfers, warm welcomes to express check in and check-out facilities, you can be sure that Tribe understands the individual needs of just about any traveler! Adjacent to the hotel is The Village Market, the largest shopping and recreational complex in Eastern Africa, and Nairobi’s premier retail and cultural destination. With over 150 shops and services, set within flowing rivers and waterfalls. It is also home to the weekly Maasai Market which hosts 350 artists for a colorful display of crafts, paintings, beadworks and fabrics every Friday. Bringing a whole new pampering experience to Nairobi is the hotel’s Kaya Spa. Using carefully selected products, Kaya’s uniquely developed treatments are designed to harmonize both the body and mind. The six treatment rooms infuse a sense of tranquility through inspiring design and decor that is sure to contribute to the relaxation and re-invigoration of your entire spa experience. Tribe’s signature restaurant recently launched a brand new menu carefully designed by the Executive Chef and his team. Inspired by the open flame grill, the menu is a tribute to local farmers; paying homage to crisp flavors and fresh, organic ingredients. The Jiko team has also reinvented Tribe’s famous Sunday brunch; the perfectly constructed menu features an extended dessert buffet, unlimited breezy cocktails, amongst an array of other feasts for the entire family. Jiko authentically holds true to the glamour of the hotel while offering guests the delights of whimsy and fantasy through a playful approach to presentation. Located on the lobby level of the hotel, Suite 101, the new pastry offering at Tribe, is a place where you can come at anytime of the day. Using only the finest ingredients, the pastry shop offers an array of hot and cold treats ranging from custom and novelty cakes, decadent French macaroons, designer cupcakes, homemade chocolates and ice creams to bespoke sandwiches made using daily freshly baked bread. Whether it be for some intimate time alone with a tall mug of chai tea latte and a deliciously delectable pastry or a high tea with friends, Suite 101 is definitely a must try for any sweet tooth! Tribe’s serene, charming and charismatic surroundings undoubtedly place it among the most striking, and luxurious boutique properties on the African continent, guaranteeing to meet and exceed the needs of any guest from jet setting celebrities to time constrained business travelers looking to add an urban flair to their Kenya-getaways! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Hotwire, Expedia, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Tribe Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tribe The Village Market Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing