We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Great hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tribe Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Tribe Hotel
Ranked #9 of 161 Hotels in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence
Ottawa
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 25, 2012

This was my third stay at the Tribe and I throughly enjoyed it. The architecture is great and the hotel has nice local artwork. The rooms are small but comfortable.

Next to the hotel, there is short safe path to the Village shopping centre where you can find a grocery store, a food court, money exchange and other shops.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gdl_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

752 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    415
    233
    69
    18
    17
See reviews for
68
133
54
411
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 20, 2012

Wow..what a great spot out in the "burbs" of Nairobi near all the embassies. A very unique & lovely spot with a great staff, and outstanding manger & a safe & secure location. There is great local art work throughout the property including your room! Neat mood lighting in the the rather smallish but comfortable rooms. Even little packs of local coffee in the room!Restaurant was great & we especially enjoyed the breakfast buffet daily. Kenya coffee...to die for!Some of the most comfortable beds I have ever slept in and a really nice gym. Take care to remember your working out at altitude though.
Very convenient to have "The Village" shopping area a very short walk away..which includes plety of shopping & dining.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tsull06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2012

I had a lengthy stay at the Tribe Hotel in Nairobi and couldn't have asked for better service and comfort. The hotel is architecturally beautiful and provides several social areas ideal for any occasion. The staff is above and beyond and attentive to your every need. I look forward to a return visit to the Tribe and definitely encourage all travelers to stay here.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rosita27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2012

I have recently been here for dinner and to use the Spa services...both experiences were wonderful and I wouldn't hesitate recommending this hotel to family, friends and colleagues!

The staff are friendly and welcoming!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JerseyGirlF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2012

I discovered this hotel 2 years ago. I have never been an overnight guest but I have been to Jiko restaurant severally and it is wonderful. Kaya Spa is very plush and beautifully designed. Sadly I had a bad experience with their massage done by a certain therapist. The room was cold and the intensity of the massage was much too vigorous. As a result my low-grade illness I had at the time was severely worsened by the effect of the massage on my lymphatic system. When I gave the therapist this feedback she dismissed my case as a "healing reaction." Not! - Immediately afterwards, I was completely down for two days! I still recommend Kaya spa to my friends, just not that particular therapist, and I am a HUGE fan of the Tribe hotel.I truly believe it is one of Kenya's very best and I most thoroughly enjoy going there.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PatriciaWangui06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Braunfels, Texas
Level Contributor
349 reviews
106 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 190 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2012

This was our first trip to Kenya and we decided to stay at the Tribe Hotel 2 nights before our tour began at the Fairmont Nairobi hotel. The location of The Tribe is in a very pretty area of Nairobi near the U.N. compound and the U.S. Embassy. When you first arrive, you pass through a gated area which entrances to a local mall or shopping village. You must then pass through another gate and armed security to get into the hotel parking lot. They take their security very seriously which I was happy to see. All around the hotel, the flowers were in full bloom - everything from bougainvilla to hibiscus and other tropicals. The hotel was very modern and very eclectic - great sitting areas and bars inside and an outdoor bar called the Nest which overlooks the lovely pool. At night the pool and surrounding area is lit beautifully. The room was wonderful and again very eclectic but very comfortable. Many of the guests seemed to be younger than us, but that's not hard to do and many were likely European but I would stay here again in a heartbeat. The concierge contracted for a driver to take us to the Karen Blixen museum and to the Giraffe Center. Our driver was very well educated and interested in our thoughts of his country and wanted to share his knowledge with us which we appreciated. One last thing, we did take advantage of the spa and had massages after our long flights. The spa was beautiful and we felt rejuvenated after an hour of pampering. I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zinniaqueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cranbrook, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2012

After briefly visiting Tribe for drinks in September, I was keen to try it for my latest visit to Nairobi. I must say that staying here was a wise choice - this is my kind of hotel. Comfortable and with all the ameneties one wants on the road...but more importantly, it really captures the modern Nairobi identity, an identity that has moved beyond staid history, and moved beyond the Überpampering found at many of the classic hotels in town. Tribe is the heart of new Nairobi, vibrant, innovative, detail oriented, and fun. The design captures this, and the staff and service exude it at all times. There is no concept of colonial era deference to visitors; instead hotel guests are treated in a helpful and friendly manner that is friendly and genuine. I really appreciated that, almost as much as I appreciated the rainshowers, modern gym with free personal trainer, and great beds.

Finally, a couple of things that also stood out are often pet peeves of mine: charges for bottled water and for internet. At Tribe, you get unlimited bottled water at no charge, and free wifi (among the fastest in town). All in all, nice touches that will bring me back again.

Room Tip: A lot of unique options due to the design...2nd floor wings are quiet (228 is furthest from the elev...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MoritzS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
3.1 mi away
Villa Rosa Kempinski Nairobi
3.7 mi away
Fairmont The Norfolk
Fairmont The Norfolk
#5 of 161 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 881 reviews
4.2 mi away
Sarova Stanley
Sarova Stanley
#8 of 161 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,019 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
DusitD2 Nairobi
DusitD2 Nairobi
#12 of 161 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 336 reviews
10.6 mi away
Hemingways Nairobi
Hemingways Nairobi
#1 of 161 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 399 reviews
2.5 mi away
Sankara Nairobi
Sankara Nairobi
#11 of 161 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 774 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tribe Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tribe Hotel

Property: Tribe Hotel
Address: Limuru Road | The Village Market, Gigiri, Nairobi 00621, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi > Highridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Nairobi
#6 Spa Hotel in Nairobi
#9 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
#10 Romantic Hotel in Nairobi
#12 Family Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Tribe Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 137
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set apart from the crowded city centre and a modern contrast to a city of colonially-inspired getaways, Tribe Hotel located in the lush suburbs of the city echoes nothing but the ultimate in luxury and tranquility. It’s sleek architecture and crisp lines are sure to set forth a brand new experience in hotel accommodation. Drawing inspiration from its African heritage, the interior of the hotel boasts exquisite art, crafts and furnishings handpicked from the farthest corners of the continent. Each of the 137 rooms is carefully designed to whisk you away from the average mundane hotel room into a world of chic and hip design with an emphasis on detail and luxury. An ideal destination for those craving increased intimacy and comfort with an added dose of personal service. From free high speed internet access, complimentary mini bars, luxury airport transfers, warm welcomes to express check in and check-out facilities, you can be sure that Tribe understands the individual needs of just about any traveler! Adjacent to the hotel is The Village Market, the largest shopping and recreational complex in Eastern Africa, and Nairobi’s premier retail and cultural destination. With over 150 shops and services, set within flowing rivers and waterfalls. It is also home to the weekly Maasai Market which hosts 350 artists for a colorful display of crafts, paintings, beadworks and fabrics every Friday. Bringing a whole new pampering experience to Nairobi is the hotel’s Kaya Spa. Using carefully selected products, Kaya’s uniquely developed treatments are designed to harmonize both the body and mind. The six treatment rooms infuse a sense of tranquility through inspiring design and decor that is sure to contribute to the relaxation and re-invigoration of your entire spa experience. Tribe’s signature restaurant recently launched a brand new menu carefully designed by the Executive Chef and his team. Inspired by the open flame grill, the menu is a tribute to local farmers; paying homage to crisp flavors and fresh, organic ingredients. The Jiko team has also reinvented Tribe’s famous Sunday brunch; the perfectly constructed menu features an extended dessert buffet, unlimited breezy cocktails, amongst an array of other feasts for the entire family. Jiko authentically holds true to the glamour of the hotel while offering guests the delights of whimsy and fantasy through a playful approach to presentation. Located on the lobby level of the hotel, Suite 101, the new pastry offering at Tribe, is a place where you can come at anytime of the day. Using only the finest ingredients, the pastry shop offers an array of hot and cold treats ranging from custom and novelty cakes, decadent French macaroons, designer cupcakes, homemade chocolates and ice creams to bespoke sandwiches made using daily freshly baked bread. Whether it be for some intimate time alone with a tall mug of chai tea latte and a deliciously delectable pastry or a high tea with friends, Suite 101 is definitely a must try for any sweet tooth! Tribe’s serene, charming and charismatic surroundings undoubtedly place it among the most striking, and luxurious boutique properties on the African continent, guaranteeing to meet and exceed the needs of any guest from jet setting celebrities to time constrained business travelers looking to add an urban flair to their Kenya-getaways! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Jovago.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Tribe Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tribe The Village Market Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing