We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best hotel in Nairobi, Kenya”
Review of Tribe Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Tribe Hotel
Ranked #8 of 164 Hotels in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence
Phoenix
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Best hotel in Nairobi, Kenya”
Reviewed October 31, 2012

I've been to most every hotel in Nairobi, they are all have some issue (mostly cleanliness & service). This is great business hotel (yes the internet works great) and a great safari transition hotel. Don't stay at the Norfolk or some cheap hotel on the outskirts - demand from your tour operator the Tribe.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelphx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

897 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    502
    273
    81
    23
    18
See reviews for
82
162
60
495
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2012 via mobile

I recently had an overnight at this lovely hotel between flights from Mombasa to Kigali.
When you leave the congested streets of downtiwn Nairobi and walk into this beautiful hotel, it's like an oasis. It is very aesthetically pleasing. The reception desk is customer service oriented and very, very friendly. My check-in was quick and James said it was his duty to give the 'Tribe Experience'.
I was quickly shown to my room and immediately thought there was a mistake. I booked a standard room since my time there was so short but I was suddenly in a two story room with large windows, massive tv and sitting area, bar, guest bathroom and of course the bedroom, bath and jacuzzi tub upstairs. A few minutes later James called and asked if I was pleased with my accommodation. He had given me a complimentary upgrade to the Penthouse Suite. What I found funny, I was reading an in-flight magazine on my flight from Mombasa and found a two page spread of this beautiful room with limited advertising. I noticed it was Tribe and sure enough, it was the room I was given!
Room service is quick and friendly. Dinner at Jiko is divine. The waiters are attentive and always standing by if you have a request. The food is of high quality, generous portions and good selection (more offered on the menu than on the website menu). The wine list is extensive and complements the menu well.
The only reason I gave it an average in location is because the Nairobi traffic. While I realize this is completely out of the responsibility of the hotel, it should be noted if you are a business traveler that you will have to allow more time for travel to the airport. However, It is right next to a major shopping center and you do feel very safe. I still believe a stay at this beautiful hotel is worth it!
Thank you, I really enjoyed my stay.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WorldVanReisender
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centurion, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
180 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2012

If you are working or visiting Gigiri, Nairobi’s “diplomatic district,” and can afford a higher-priced hotel, The Tribe is your best bet. Owned by the same people as the Village Market shopping center next door, and designed by a prominent Nairobi architect, is a stunningly beautiful – with African-modern décor and fittings from around the world (including high quality from China). The room décor is a bit “cold” for my personal taste, but elegant and comfortable. Public areas are beautiful. Staff are very attentive and generally follow through on requests. Check out the security guards compared with other places in East Africa. These folks are serious and professional, not just security theater, a good indicator that this hotel invests in its people.

The Tribe’s biggest weakness has been its restaurant, which has gone through multiple menus and chefs. It seems to be coming right now, although the menu selection still seems a bit limited to me. In any case the Village Market’s proximity gives easy, walking access to several other options – mostly down-market, but one good Italian restaurant.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Phil C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2012

Stayed there for a night and loved every bit about the hotel, receptionist smiling and attending to you attentively. The restaurants are detailed and staff excellent! Jesse and Cynthia were great will definitely recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank smithaddres
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, UK
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2012

We spent 3 nights here at the beginning of our honeymoon. This is a truly excellent hotel. The member of staff who showed us to our room even checked that the TV was working and when the remote needed fixing they swiftly went to get a new one/fix it and returned within minutes. The little touches made this hotel very special to us like a sincere card congratulating us on our wedding along with a bottle of sparkling wine and amazing hand-made chocolates. On our second day a bunch of red roses was waiting in the room too. We both went for massages and were put in a couples treatment room. Without a doubt the best massage I have ever had. There was a wide choice for breakfast and it was of a very high quality. We ate in the hotel one night and this was excellent. The hotel is in the ex-pat area of Nairobi and right next to a shopping centre. We were very impressed with the level of security surrounding the hotel and felt very safe. The only niggle was on checkout an extra $325 had been added onto our bill for what looked like an excursion...granted we did go on some excursions, and I am not sure if this has anything to do with the mistake being made, but these were all booked and paid for through trailfinders before we arrived so we were very disappointed to have to essentially explain ourselves to the manager but it was all sorted out eventually so be sure to take a careful look at your bill on check-out. This is why I have only given 4 stars, otherwise it would have been 5.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FigNewton86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New England
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2012

This is a lovely place. We were only there overnight twice, but the food was good, the service was good and the place is beautiful. The bath towels could be a bit more plush but that is a very small thing to worry about.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank guilford104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2012

I spent a great weekend at the Tribe Hotel. The hotel combines a cool modern vibe with a sense of great comfort. The rooms also reflected this. One of the best nights of sleep I've had at a hotel, and a great space to just relax in. The staff got the balance between friendliness and unobtrusiveness perfectly right. We had dinner at their restaurant, Jiko, one of our nights and the local lamb (which I had) was done perfectly.

Next time I'm in Nairobi, I'll definitely be staying with them again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Henlo V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
3.1 mi away
Villa Rosa Kempinski Nairobi
3.7 mi away
Fairmont The Norfolk
Fairmont The Norfolk
#11 of 164 in Nairobi
991 reviews
4.5 mi away
Fairview Hotel
Fairview Hotel
#3 of 164 in Nairobi
1,269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Sankara Nairobi
Sankara Nairobi
#9 of 164 in Nairobi
893 reviews
3.0 mi away
DusitD2 Nairobi
DusitD2 Nairobi
#12 of 164 in Nairobi
394 reviews
4.2 mi away
Sarova Stanley
Sarova Stanley
#6 of 164 in Nairobi
1,133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tribe Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tribe Hotel

Property: Tribe Hotel
Address: Limuru Road | The Village Market, Gigiri, Nairobi 00621, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi > Highridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Nairobi
#6 Spa Hotel in Nairobi
#8 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
#10 Romantic Hotel in Nairobi
#12 Family Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Tribe Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 137
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set apart from the crowded city centre and a modern contrast to a city of colonially-inspired getaways, Tribe Hotel located in the lush suburbs of the city echoes nothing but the ultimate in luxury and tranquility. It’s sleek architecture and crisp lines are sure to set forth a brand new experience in hotel accommodation. Drawing inspiration from its African heritage, the interior of the hotel boasts exquisite art, crafts and furnishings handpicked from the farthest corners of the continent. Each of the 137 rooms is carefully designed to whisk you away from the average mundane hotel room into a world of chic and hip design with an emphasis on detail and luxury. An ideal destination for those craving increased intimacy and comfort with an added dose of personal service. From free high speed internet access, complimentary mini bars, luxury airport transfers, warm welcomes to express check in and check-out facilities, you can be sure that Tribe understands the individual needs of just about any traveler! Adjacent to the hotel is The Village Market, the largest shopping and recreational complex in Eastern Africa, and Nairobi’s premier retail and cultural destination. With over 150 shops and services, set within flowing rivers and waterfalls. It is also home to the weekly Maasai Market which hosts 350 artists for a colorful display of crafts, paintings, beadworks and fabrics every Friday. Bringing a whole new pampering experience to Nairobi is the hotel’s Kaya Spa. Using carefully selected products, Kaya’s uniquely developed treatments are designed to harmonize both the body and mind. The six treatment rooms infuse a sense of tranquility through inspiring design and decor that is sure to contribute to the relaxation and re-invigoration of your entire spa experience. Tribe’s signature restaurant recently launched a brand new menu carefully designed by the Executive Chef and his team. Inspired by the open flame grill, the menu is a tribute to local farmers; paying homage to crisp flavors and fresh, organic ingredients. The Jiko team has also reinvented Tribe’s famous Sunday brunch; the perfectly constructed menu features an extended dessert buffet, unlimited breezy cocktails, amongst an array of other feasts for the entire family. Jiko authentically holds true to the glamour of the hotel while offering guests the delights of whimsy and fantasy through a playful approach to presentation. Located on the lobby level of the hotel, Suite 101, the new pastry offering at Tribe, is a place where you can come at anytime of the day. Using only the finest ingredients, the pastry shop offers an array of hot and cold treats ranging from custom and novelty cakes, decadent French macaroons, designer cupcakes, homemade chocolates and ice creams to bespoke sandwiches made using daily freshly baked bread. Whether it be for some intimate time alone with a tall mug of chai tea latte and a deliciously delectable pastry or a high tea with friends, Suite 101 is definitely a must try for any sweet tooth! Tribe’s serene, charming and charismatic surroundings undoubtedly place it among the most striking, and luxurious boutique properties on the African continent, guaranteeing to meet and exceed the needs of any guest from jet setting celebrities to time constrained business travelers looking to add an urban flair to their Kenya-getaways! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Tribe Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tribe The Village Market Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing