We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Kaya Spa-Kenya Gold Massage” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tribe Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Tribe Hotel to your Saves list
Tribe Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Limuru Road | The Village Market, Gigiri, Nairobi 00621, Kenya (Highridge)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 156 Hotels in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence
ma
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Kaya Spa-Kenya Gold Massage”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

This was the best Spa treatment i have ever experienced. Well worth the price! My masseuse was very professional, worked every knot in my back, hands and feet. Well worth the price. The aromas were inviting and the rooms were clean and very modern. The massage started off with a coffee scented rub, followed by a shower then a chocolate cream polish , after which i got the best massage. It left me relaxed and glowing. I will def go back.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wakamai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

689 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    380
    214
    63
    16
    16
See reviews for
59
118
54
378
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nairobi
Level Contributor
47 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

The Nest bar and restaurant within the Tribe has a great atmposphere for having a couple of drinks with friends and smoking some shisha.However, I recently noticed that the reception you get-and I have been there several times- depends on the people you are with.I would get a very warm welcome when in the company of my white friends....

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Grace I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York
Level Contributor
47 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

My husband & I spent 1 night at the Tribe Hotel with another couple before continuing on to the Masai Mara. Overall, it was a very nice stay and we would recommend it to anyone visiting Nairobi.

Room/Property - The property was lovely, very modern, clean and nice layout. I am not sure how new it is but it appeared to be very new in terms of design. Our room was great - very clean with fresh white linens, flat screen tv and modern bathroom. The only downside was the room was quite small, and the bathroom separate the bedroom area (and the bed) by a thin sliding wall. Being that we only spent 1 night here to get a good night's sleep and hot shower, this was perfect for that. I can't stress enough also how clean it was - the bedding especially looked/felt brand new.

Food/Beverage - We arrived to late to try any of the main restaurants so had a quick dinner in the bar. The food was ok, but the bar menu for drinks was great with a number of great wine and cocktail options. Unfortunately we couldn't partake in the buffet/included breakfast the morning we left due to timing, but we went down briefly and it looked great. Plenty of options, specialty stations, bright open restaurant, etc. We were sorry we didn't have time to sit down to eat!

Staff - The staff are the main reason we are giving this hotel a "very good" instead of an "excellent" review, however we knew what to expect ahead of time as a result of reading these forums. The staff were fine as a whole, and no one was outright rude, they just didn't seem to care. We were told the rooftop was open until 11:30 for food/drinks, however when we arrived there at 11 the staff told us they were closed. We asked about the hours and were basically told, "we decided to close now". After flying all day were were hungry so retreated to the bar and asked to order off the room service menu. The staff seemed annoyed by this and at first told us no, however after pushing the issue they did accomodate. The morning of check-out also seemed to be a bit disorganized with multiple people checking out at once. I had to ask for my copy of a receipt twice, and the whole process probably took a good 20 minutes (which felt like a long time considering there was only 1 person ahead of me in line).

Security - We were anxious to visit Nairobi due to the heightened security issues, but we felt safe here for our brief stay. Our car was checked both entering/leaving and there was a gate with guards present 24 hours a day to enter/exit the property. It's also quite close to the US embassy, which I guess could either be good or bad in terms of overall security.

I have seen many reviews in terms of the hotel's business capabilities which did not apply to us, however we did see the meeting space off our floor and it looked great. This - with the handful of restaurant/bar options on site (*as long as during operation hours), made it clear to me that this was popular for business travelers and I would agree.

Overall, a nice CLEAN stay!

Room Tip: anything larger than their smallest offered room would be ideal
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank colleen2227
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

As a Kenyan, and a Nairobi resident for that matter, I have to express my pride in being associated with such a great and beautiful Hotel. What with the rooms that take your breathe away, the magnificent lounge, lunch at the swimming pool, the service..... the list is endless. I have attended several workshops there, and dined with friends and family, and I can only say "Najivunia kuwa Mkenya!" - I'm proud to be Kenyan!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Milly S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

I recently held a meeting here and chose this venue due to its location in the embassy quarter of the city and its excellent conferencing facilities. Beautiful and trendy venue with fantastic food and service. Great pool & spa too. Will be booking again for next year.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank will101clifton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Logan, Utah
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

My daughter and I spent a month in Kenya--did orphanage, womens health, safari and had a very wonderful time exploring this country. Our last 3 days were spent at the Tribe Hotel. What an amazing way to end a vacation. 5 star accommodation-3 years old and very trendy. It was well worth the money we spent to finally have a hot shower, bottled water waiting and clean white sheets! Had a large t.v with sitting arean and coffee table. Also, a desk area for work, phone etc. I especially loved the shower---and the fluffy bathrobe!! It was great to have a safe in the room as well. The breakfast was included and it was very, very good food. You can walk 50 steps out the front, up a path with security and open the gate to enter the Village Market. A large, new outdoor mall with many shops to choose from. Also, the Maasai Market comes there once a week for that last minute souvenir you may need to take home. Make sure to try out the Italian Restaurant over there. We left feeling much needed refreshment and rest, ready for that long plan ride back to the states. Taxi ride to airport was 1 1/2 hours during busy traffic time ($3,000 ksh) but normally 40 minutes. Don't miss out staying at this beautiful hotel, you will love it! Would definately go back!! It was nice to stay out of the city center and be in beautiful surroundings--it is also very close to the US embassy. Book it now!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Darci2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

Beautiful hotel with amazing service, great rooms and an awesome lounge on the fourth floor overlooking the pool area! conveniently located next to the shooping center if you need to go shopping for souvenirs.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank np318
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
3.1 mi away
Villa Rosa Kempinski Nairobi
2.5 mi away
Sankara Nairobi
Sankara Nairobi
#10 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 696 reviews
3.7 mi away
Fairmont The Norfolk
Fairmont The Norfolk
#4 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 790 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.6 mi away
Hemingways Nairobi
Hemingways Nairobi
#1 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 325 reviews
4.2 mi away
Sarova Stanley
Sarova Stanley
#6 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 936 reviews
7.1 mi away
The Boma Nairobi
The Boma Nairobi
#5 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 519 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tribe Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tribe Hotel

Property: Tribe Hotel
Address: Limuru Road | The Village Market, Gigiri, Nairobi 00621, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi > Highridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Nairobi
#6 Spa Hotel in Nairobi
#8 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
#10 Romantic Hotel in Nairobi
#12 Family Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Tribe Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 137
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set apart from the crowded city centre and a modern contrast to a city of colonially-inspired getaways, Tribe Hotel located in the lush suburbs of the city echoes nothing but the ultimate in luxury and tranquility. It’s sleek architecture and crisp lines are sure to set forth a brand new experience in hotel accommodation. Drawing inspiration from its African heritage, the interior of the hotel boasts exquisite art, crafts and furnishings handpicked from the farthest corners of the continent. Each of the 137 rooms is carefully designed to whisk you away from the average mundane hotel room into a world of chic and hip design with an emphasis on detail and luxury. An ideal destination for those craving increased intimacy and comfort with an added dose of personal service. From free high speed internet access, complimentary mini bars, luxury airport transfers, warm welcomes to express check in and check-out facilities, you can be sure that Tribe understands the individual needs of just about any traveler! Adjacent to the hotel is The Village Market, the largest shopping and recreational complex in Eastern Africa, and Nairobi’s premier retail and cultural destination. With over 150 shops and services, set within flowing rivers and waterfalls. It is also home to the weekly Maasai Market which hosts 350 artists for a colorful display of crafts, paintings, beadworks and fabrics every Friday. Bringing a whole new pampering experience to Nairobi is the hotel’s Kaya Spa. Using carefully selected products, Kaya’s uniquely developed treatments are designed to harmonize both the body and mind. The six treatment rooms infuse a sense of tranquility through inspiring design and decor that is sure to contribute to the relaxation and re-invigoration of your entire spa experience. Tribe’s signature restaurant recently launched a brand new menu carefully designed by the Executive Chef and his team. Inspired by the open flame grill, the menu is a tribute to local farmers; paying homage to crisp flavors and fresh, organic ingredients. The Jiko team has also reinvented Tribe’s famous Sunday brunch; the perfectly constructed menu features an extended dessert buffet, unlimited breezy cocktails, amongst an array of other feasts for the entire family. Jiko authentically holds true to the glamour of the hotel while offering guests the delights of whimsy and fantasy through a playful approach to presentation. Located on the lobby level of the hotel, Suite 101, the new pastry offering at Tribe, is a place where you can come at anytime of the day. Using only the finest ingredients, the pastry shop offers an array of hot and cold treats ranging from custom and novelty cakes, decadent French macaroons, designer cupcakes, homemade chocolates and ice creams to bespoke sandwiches made using daily freshly baked bread. Whether it be for some intimate time alone with a tall mug of chai tea latte and a deliciously delectable pastry or a high tea with friends, Suite 101 is definitely a must try for any sweet tooth! Tribe’s serene, charming and charismatic surroundings undoubtedly place it among the most striking, and luxurious boutique properties on the African continent, guaranteeing to meet and exceed the needs of any guest from jet setting celebrities to time constrained business travelers looking to add an urban flair to their Kenya-getaways! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Agoda, getaroom.com, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Jetsetter so you can book your Tribe Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tribe The Village Market Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing