We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“A fabulous hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tribe Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Tribe Hotel
Ranked #8 of 156 Hotels in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence
Hants, Uk
Level Contributor
128 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“A fabulous hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

This hotel deserves every one of its five stars. The food is excellent, the accomodation clean and comfortable and the staff are all very polite, attentive and efficient.
A recent two night stay during some time working in Nairobi was superb, I particularly enjoyed having a cold beer or three in the comfortable downstairs bar after a busy day and chatting with the staff.
The pool is a little more designer than is practical for a good swim but it does add to the overall look and feel of the place, just be careful if you decide to dine on the terrace of an evening that you don't take an unexpected dip! There are gym facilities available that are well enough equipped for a good workout and a sauna too
Interior decor is very modern and African/Kenyan themes, there are plenty of areas for seating and meeting inside and a sheltered front security/reception point. The village market that consists of a few shops, bars, takeaways and is a short stroll up some steps and across the car park with a security guard posted on the top gate.
This is a luxury hotel, something of an oasis amongst the backdrop of the rest of Nairobi, the management take guest satisfaction extremely seriously and whilst I had no complaints, I had no doubts that any issues would be resolved quickly.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GreboGuru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

722 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    400
    225
    64
    17
    16
See reviews for
66
124
54
395
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

We stayed at the Tribe in july 2012. We were a group of 14 ( children and growups) We had a exellent stay - and we really enjoyed the hotell , the resturant and the safe enviroment. Close by you have a shopping mail - that have also nice cafe etc. When we come back to Nairobi we will defently stay here again:)

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Car0lineS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, Gauteng, South Africa
Level Contributor
84 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012 via mobile

Stayed on the ground floor close to reception, away from the road and the gym. (in the twenties)

I was advised by my colleagues that this was for the bet as those rooms where noisy.

The food was fantastic, the staff friendly and accommodating. The rooms clean, spacious and in good working order.

I had plenty of hot water in the shower and the rooms were cleaned immaculately every day.

Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Merlin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

I've been going to The Tribe for brunch for 2 years now and I am yet to be disappointed by their Sunday brunch. The menu includes any type of egg your heart desires, an wonderful array of Indian vegetarian dishes, cold cuts, cakes, pastries, waffles, pies, ice-cream, chocolate fondue, fresh fruit and even sushi! On the drinks side they have special cocktails, fresh fruit juice, coffees and herbal tea. This is not the typical buffet that bores the palate, its the kind that leaves you in anticipation for your next visit.

An excellent place for a lazy Sunday morning/afternoon!

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Tara_Nyambura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
172 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012

I'm pleased we did not pay full price for this hotel. Rooms were cramped and the toilet was separated from the bedroom by an ill-fitting shower curtain. Staff were cool and a bit unfriendly. We requested a twin room and were given a double. There was no in room safe and the DVD player did not work. The water would not drain away from the sink and when we reported it - 12 hours later nobody had been to fix it. Breakfast was lovely and the pool area spectacular but it was a case of "all fur and no knickers" full price $360 per night, even at the discounted $260 we paid it was still not good value.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank UkSkigirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
charleston, sc
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

Fantastic massage - excellent attention to detail. Ask for Walter. One of the most skilled masseuses I have had anywhere in the world. Excellent service. Clean, calm surroundings. Lovely artwork. Tea, fruit, and aromatic spa products. Worth the money!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank namaste7564
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santiago, Chile
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

Our family spent a few nights at the hotel and enjoyed our experience mainly because of the excellent service by each of staff in this hotel. They went out of their way to make us comfortable and welcome. The breakfast was a meal the whole family looked forward to before making our way out for sigtseeing. High level of security that was not expected but welcome. The gym has good machines and with a very helpful trainer. Open 24 hours.
We will be back!

Room Tip: Higher ther floor better the views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank D B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
3.1 mi away
Villa Rosa Kempinski Nairobi
3.7 mi away
Fairmont The Norfolk
Fairmont The Norfolk
#4 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 840 reviews
4.2 mi away
Sarova Stanley
Sarova Stanley
#9 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 981 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Sankara Nairobi
Sankara Nairobi
#10 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 740 reviews
10.6 mi away
Hemingways Nairobi
Hemingways Nairobi
#1 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 368 reviews
7.1 mi away
The Boma Nairobi
The Boma Nairobi
#5 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 555 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tribe Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tribe Hotel

Property: Tribe Hotel
Address: Limuru Road | The Village Market, Gigiri, Nairobi 00621, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi > Highridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Nairobi
#5 Spa Hotel in Nairobi
#8 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
#10 Romantic Hotel in Nairobi
#12 Family Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Tribe Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 137
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set apart from the crowded city centre and a modern contrast to a city of colonially-inspired getaways, Tribe Hotel located in the lush suburbs of the city echoes nothing but the ultimate in luxury and tranquility. It’s sleek architecture and crisp lines are sure to set forth a brand new experience in hotel accommodation. Drawing inspiration from its African heritage, the interior of the hotel boasts exquisite art, crafts and furnishings handpicked from the farthest corners of the continent. Each of the 137 rooms is carefully designed to whisk you away from the average mundane hotel room into a world of chic and hip design with an emphasis on detail and luxury. An ideal destination for those craving increased intimacy and comfort with an added dose of personal service. From free high speed internet access, complimentary mini bars, luxury airport transfers, warm welcomes to express check in and check-out facilities, you can be sure that Tribe understands the individual needs of just about any traveler! Adjacent to the hotel is The Village Market, the largest shopping and recreational complex in Eastern Africa, and Nairobi’s premier retail and cultural destination. With over 150 shops and services, set within flowing rivers and waterfalls. It is also home to the weekly Maasai Market which hosts 350 artists for a colorful display of crafts, paintings, beadworks and fabrics every Friday. Bringing a whole new pampering experience to Nairobi is the hotel’s Kaya Spa. Using carefully selected products, Kaya’s uniquely developed treatments are designed to harmonize both the body and mind. The six treatment rooms infuse a sense of tranquility through inspiring design and decor that is sure to contribute to the relaxation and re-invigoration of your entire spa experience. Tribe’s signature restaurant recently launched a brand new menu carefully designed by the Executive Chef and his team. Inspired by the open flame grill, the menu is a tribute to local farmers; paying homage to crisp flavors and fresh, organic ingredients. The Jiko team has also reinvented Tribe’s famous Sunday brunch; the perfectly constructed menu features an extended dessert buffet, unlimited breezy cocktails, amongst an array of other feasts for the entire family. Jiko authentically holds true to the glamour of the hotel while offering guests the delights of whimsy and fantasy through a playful approach to presentation. Located on the lobby level of the hotel, Suite 101, the new pastry offering at Tribe, is a place where you can come at anytime of the day. Using only the finest ingredients, the pastry shop offers an array of hot and cold treats ranging from custom and novelty cakes, decadent French macaroons, designer cupcakes, homemade chocolates and ice creams to bespoke sandwiches made using daily freshly baked bread. Whether it be for some intimate time alone with a tall mug of chai tea latte and a deliciously delectable pastry or a high tea with friends, Suite 101 is definitely a must try for any sweet tooth! Tribe’s serene, charming and charismatic surroundings undoubtedly place it among the most striking, and luxurious boutique properties on the African continent, guaranteeing to meet and exceed the needs of any guest from jet setting celebrities to time constrained business travelers looking to add an urban flair to their Kenya-getaways! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Jovago.com, HotelTravel.com, getaroom.com, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Tribe Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tribe The Village Market Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing