We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Design - Not always practical.”
Review of Tribe Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Tribe Hotel
Ranked #8 of 164 Hotels in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Lovely Design - Not always practical.”
Reviewed June 7, 2012

On my first business trip to Africa I stayed for a month in the Tribe Hotel in Nairobi, Kenya. This is a boutique hotel, elegantly designed, with a great deal of impressive African Art scattered throughout, including in the rooms themselves. The service is very attentive and responsive. The restaurant is very nice and surprisingly good value.

The elegant design, however, does make for a few oddities. The rooms were rather small and oddly shaped. There was no room for a separate chair, just a desk and chair and a bench under the window. The bathrooms are shower-only and there is no door, the entrance to the bathroom area entrance bering framed by glass partitions that were a little intimidating to navigate in the middle of the night. The pool area was gorgeous, but the pool was definitely meant for lounging and there was no way the shape allowed to really swim. (The exercise room itself, however, was very nicely equipped!)

The location of the hotel is a bit remote from downtown, though convenient if your business is with the UN or one of the several embassies in the area. It took more than an hour to get from airport to hotel (and in peak periods, make that three hours!) The proximity to the Village Market shopping center significantly expanded eating, entertainment, and shopping options!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Diplokeith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

896 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    502
    272
    81
    23
    18
See reviews for
82
162
60
494
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nairobi, Nairobi Area, Kenya
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2012

My wife and I recently celebrated our 2nd anniversary at tribe hotel. We got to the Hotel earlier than expected so we sat at the beautiful lounge and had a few drinks to pass time. As soon as Lillian (Staff member who had confirmed our reservation) found out that we were around, she came and greeted us - asked if we were satisfied with the service thus far... basically making sure that we felt at home.
When we got to the restaurant, Lilian took us to our table, and made sure that we well looked after throughout our meal. Great Service!!! Beautiful hotel!!!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ngaruiya G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
149 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2012

A big surprise for Africa, was the Tribe Hotel near downtown Nairobi Kenya. Beautifully appointed rooms and suites, first class service, free full breakfast, free mini-bar in room, lovely grounds, free wifi.

I'll be here for two weeks on business.

Room Tip: Stay on the back side overlooking the pool for a quieter stay. Don't stay on the first floor as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 70TucsonTom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, PA
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2012

Stunning design, fantastic roof deck bar, great gym & pool , beautiful art everywhere you look, helpful and caring staff and a modern stylish exquisitely comfortable room. Prices are high but well worth it. A true oasis in the chaos of Nairobi.

Room Tip: Some room seem underground, others have view of parking. Try to get view of pool & forest beyond...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mwsk_h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC Metro
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2012

Many advantages and some disadvantages. I stayed a month...
-Staff is hard working and customer focused.
-Security is present, but it can never be good enough
-Ideal for those with business at the UN or nearby embassies. Travel time is minutes and walking takes ten minutes max. Proximity to UN avoids Nairobi's dreaded rush hour traffic jams made worse when it rains.
-Located next door to one of Nairobi's best shopping malls, with a food court and several nice restaurants and a laundry.
-Fast internet. Back up generators when the electricity fails.
-While many like the "new look" African decor I found it it off-putting.
-Rooms are strangely configured and not guest friendly-- strange shapes, textures and little space for clothes. Lots of glass with sharp edges...

Room Tip: Quieter is better, stay away from the bar and kitchen area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rowca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2012

You have a sprawling mall next to u with upmarket restaurants and the diplomatic enclave along with UNEP regional HQ next door. Located little distant from the airport but what a nice feeling when u get there. Rooms too are top class.
I am from Kenya but many a times suffering from short regional trips like to stay over night in a hotel.
Food is nice the steak is marvelous. Worth it if u have found a good corporate rate.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KanikaNairobi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2012

An ideally located hotel in Nairobi - out of the bustle of the city, but easy enough to access. Great food, good service, friendly staff. The design takes some getting used to - its not your typical East Africa hotel. And that is what is so neat about it.
This was my third visit. And I plan to stay again when next I am in Kenya!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Inamd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
3.1 mi away
Villa Rosa Kempinski Nairobi
3.7 mi away
Fairmont The Norfolk
Fairmont The Norfolk
#10 of 164 in Nairobi
987 reviews
4.5 mi away
Fairview Hotel
Fairview Hotel
#3 of 164 in Nairobi
1,267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Sarova Stanley
Sarova Stanley
#7 of 164 in Nairobi
1,131 reviews
2.5 mi away
Sankara Nairobi
Sankara Nairobi
#11 of 164 in Nairobi
892 reviews
3.0 mi away
DusitD2 Nairobi
DusitD2 Nairobi
#12 of 164 in Nairobi
391 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tribe Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tribe Hotel

Property: Tribe Hotel
Address: Limuru Road | The Village Market, Gigiri, Nairobi 00621, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi > Highridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Nairobi
#6 Spa Hotel in Nairobi
#8 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
#10 Romantic Hotel in Nairobi
#12 Family Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Tribe Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 137
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set apart from the crowded city centre and a modern contrast to a city of colonially-inspired getaways, Tribe Hotel located in the lush suburbs of the city echoes nothing but the ultimate in luxury and tranquility. It’s sleek architecture and crisp lines are sure to set forth a brand new experience in hotel accommodation. Drawing inspiration from its African heritage, the interior of the hotel boasts exquisite art, crafts and furnishings handpicked from the farthest corners of the continent. Each of the 137 rooms is carefully designed to whisk you away from the average mundane hotel room into a world of chic and hip design with an emphasis on detail and luxury. An ideal destination for those craving increased intimacy and comfort with an added dose of personal service. From free high speed internet access, complimentary mini bars, luxury airport transfers, warm welcomes to express check in and check-out facilities, you can be sure that Tribe understands the individual needs of just about any traveler! Adjacent to the hotel is The Village Market, the largest shopping and recreational complex in Eastern Africa, and Nairobi’s premier retail and cultural destination. With over 150 shops and services, set within flowing rivers and waterfalls. It is also home to the weekly Maasai Market which hosts 350 artists for a colorful display of crafts, paintings, beadworks and fabrics every Friday. Bringing a whole new pampering experience to Nairobi is the hotel’s Kaya Spa. Using carefully selected products, Kaya’s uniquely developed treatments are designed to harmonize both the body and mind. The six treatment rooms infuse a sense of tranquility through inspiring design and decor that is sure to contribute to the relaxation and re-invigoration of your entire spa experience. Tribe’s signature restaurant recently launched a brand new menu carefully designed by the Executive Chef and his team. Inspired by the open flame grill, the menu is a tribute to local farmers; paying homage to crisp flavors and fresh, organic ingredients. The Jiko team has also reinvented Tribe’s famous Sunday brunch; the perfectly constructed menu features an extended dessert buffet, unlimited breezy cocktails, amongst an array of other feasts for the entire family. Jiko authentically holds true to the glamour of the hotel while offering guests the delights of whimsy and fantasy through a playful approach to presentation. Located on the lobby level of the hotel, Suite 101, the new pastry offering at Tribe, is a place where you can come at anytime of the day. Using only the finest ingredients, the pastry shop offers an array of hot and cold treats ranging from custom and novelty cakes, decadent French macaroons, designer cupcakes, homemade chocolates and ice creams to bespoke sandwiches made using daily freshly baked bread. Whether it be for some intimate time alone with a tall mug of chai tea latte and a deliciously delectable pastry or a high tea with friends, Suite 101 is definitely a must try for any sweet tooth! Tribe’s serene, charming and charismatic surroundings undoubtedly place it among the most striking, and luxurious boutique properties on the African continent, guaranteeing to meet and exceed the needs of any guest from jet setting celebrities to time constrained business travelers looking to add an urban flair to their Kenya-getaways! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Tribe Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tribe The Village Market Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing