We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“surprising design hotel in Nairobi” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tribe Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Tribe Hotel
Ranked #8 of 156 Hotels in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence
Golden, Colorado
Level Contributor
211 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“surprising design hotel in Nairobi”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2012

Roughly a 40 minute drive from Jomo Kenyatta International Airport, we were impressed the minute we walked in the lobby with comfortable lounge chairs and quirky and modern African art and sculptures. While waiting to be checked in, they served us with a fresh tropical fruit punch which was delicious and very refreshing. The room was decorated in the same modern African theme with a bold red wall on one side and some paintings around. The provide tea and coffee facilities but they have an extra touch with ground coffee and french press, a far cry from the coffee sachets that hotels normally provide.

The bathroom is open plan with the huge tub and sink and the shower/toilet in the enclosed area. The bed is very comfortable with fluffy pillows. I was dying for some rest before the early wake up for the safari the next morning but I guess the walls are a bit thin that I can hear my neighbour turn on the tap, slamming doors and the cars outside.

The hotel is next to the Village Market complex where you can get essentials from Nakumatt or Woolworths but the rest is pretty much standard shopping. It's mostly frequented by expats as the complex is near the diplomatic area where consulates/embassies are located.

Room Tip: try to get a room on the upper floors (they're only four stories high) or away from the lifts
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ex-globetrottingbabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

691 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    381
    215
    63
    16
    16
See reviews for
59
118
54
380
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2012

When we discovered George was the only colorist at this hip, artsy studio, we figured we'd be getting more attention than usual. Understatement of the century. After examining our brassy highlights, he discerned the type of shampoo we used (the wrong kind) and the level of shower pressure we liked (the weak kind), and recommended more color-friendly options. He gently rebuffed our idea of an allover auburn shade, explaining that red fades quickly and requires constant upkeep. Instead, George proposed enhancing the natural russet in our dark hair with more manageable threads of cinnamon. The fiery glints solicited so many compliments, we might just have to get used to being the center of attention..

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KPMG-uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque NM
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2012

We enjoyed a nice evening and drinks at Nest - beautiful spot, great place to hang out an meet friends, nice views. We will be back! the hotel looks great too - didn't have a chance to explore but we will next time.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank simba432
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kinshasa, Democratic Republic of the Congo
Level Contributor
56 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2012

It is perhaps important for readers to know that I live in Africa, but have traveled a lot and stayed in many fantastic hotels. In fact I always do extensive research on tripadvisor before staying at any hotel. My husband and I also own a hotel, so we do know the business and know what it entails to run a hotel in Africa. So, that being said, I have to say that TRIBE is absolutely one of the coolest, most beautiful hotels we have ever stayed in. The attention to detail in the aesthetics of the place is almost excruciating. Every tile, every colour, every fabric has been very carefully chosen to create an artistic and pleasing atmosphere. The staff is friendly and helpful. The food is excellent. But everything pales in comparison to the utter "coolness" of the place. Every stairway, every hallway, the lobby, the lighting, nothing is standard hotel ware. There are areas of the hotel where you feel that you are in a Gallery of African Art. I love this place!
In a place where aesthetic is so important, it is inevitable that there will be some issues of form over function, and that is the case here too. For example, the shape of the sink in the bathrooms, combined with the style of taps means that, if you are not careful, the water will splash right up onto your stomach when you turn on the tap. But if I have a choice of getting my stomach wet or staying at the overpriced, tired and ugly Hilton in town, I choose a wet stomach, thank you very much.
The one other issue that was a bit of a problem when we stayed there was a unpleasant odour coming from the bathtub drain. We solved the problem by stuffing a towel in the drain, but I would hope that they would look at a more permanent solution.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that is not next to the stairway as there is some heavy air conditioning noise coming...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank oneworld19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
172 reviews
100 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2012

Beautiful design by any standards, although some of this is imaginative use of what is quite a small space, in both bedrooms and public areas. But a pleasant contrast to many Nairobi hotels which are very smooth "grand dames" but showing their age. Well equipped and very modern and comfortable, only the internet was not up to scratch. Staff were all well trained and helpful - although this is true in in my experience this is normally the case in good Nairobi hotels. Food was good, very elaborate presentation, the restaurant was packed, looked like many were non residents so a lively scene. Location good for security, shopping at next door mall, but given the currently terrible Nairobi traffic, do check the location is close to where you plan to visit - its a long haul from the international airport. If you want a new hotel for business, the Sankara may be a better choice - not quite as chic but every bit as slick and more affordable.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JonB_SA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Level Contributor
37 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2011

The Tribe is a mix of strong pluses and significant minuses.

The design is carefully thought through - I don't find all of it esthetically pleasing, but I recognise that care was taken; this isn't an anonymous concrete block. It has a beautiful spa with good technicians and relaxation rooms where you're offered juice, tea and fruit. There's a top-notch male reflexologist. International spa prices, or close to.

On both stays, my rooms lacked soundproofing, especially when there was a connecting door, but also when there wasn't. All the room doors close noisily - surely this could be fixed. Some rooms are near the road, with a bit of street noise. Rooms on the ground floor mean you can't leave sliding doors open for air at night.

The shower and toilet are essentially open to the room, with very little privacy; not everyone may be comfortable with that when sharing. Wi-fi was available, but slow and cut out frequently, requiring one to re-register online - tedious. The bed was comfortable, and the heating worked well. Good desk, strong desk light. Hotel information is contained in three separate binders; cute but not helpful.

The first day's room bar was free (apart from alcohol, I think), but the bar was pretty bare. There are tea-and-coffee making facilities with a proper coffee plunger - good tea, sour coffee.

The buffet breakfast is superb. Part of the breakfast area also works as a business meeting space. The bar and lobby are also well configured for meetings. There are two walls of delightfully well-stocked bookshelves in the public areas.

Village Market next door has an excellent coffee shop, Nakumatt supermarket, newsagent, ATMs and food court. On Fridays, Maasai Market sets up in the upstairs covered parking area. Convenient if you're here on business and have limited time to find essentials.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MsQuince
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fayetteville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
46 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2011

Great hotel. Overall it is aesthetically pleasing and the staff could not be any more friendly. Its proximity to the Village Market makes it easy to grab food any time of day should you not choose to enjoy the wonderful food served in the hotel. The roof top bar is also a great place for a few drinks in the wonderful cool evening air. Only drawback is the distance from the airports, but the security, cleanliness and staff more than make up for that.

Room Tip: Ask for an upper floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank frogis3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
3.1 mi away
Villa Rosa Kempinski Nairobi
2.5 mi away
Sankara Nairobi
Sankara Nairobi
#10 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 698 reviews
3.7 mi away
Fairmont The Norfolk
Fairmont The Norfolk
#4 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 791 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.6 mi away
Hemingways Nairobi
Hemingways Nairobi
#1 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 327 reviews
4.2 mi away
Sarova Stanley
Sarova Stanley
#6 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 939 reviews
7.1 mi away
The Boma Nairobi
The Boma Nairobi
#5 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 522 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tribe Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tribe Hotel

Property: Tribe Hotel
Address: Limuru Road | The Village Market, Gigiri, Nairobi 00621, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi > Highridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Nairobi
#6 Spa Hotel in Nairobi
#8 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
#10 Romantic Hotel in Nairobi
#12 Family Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Tribe Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 137
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set apart from the crowded city centre and a modern contrast to a city of colonially-inspired getaways, Tribe Hotel located in the lush suburbs of the city echoes nothing but the ultimate in luxury and tranquility. It’s sleek architecture and crisp lines are sure to set forth a brand new experience in hotel accommodation. Drawing inspiration from its African heritage, the interior of the hotel boasts exquisite art, crafts and furnishings handpicked from the farthest corners of the continent. Each of the 137 rooms is carefully designed to whisk you away from the average mundane hotel room into a world of chic and hip design with an emphasis on detail and luxury. An ideal destination for those craving increased intimacy and comfort with an added dose of personal service. From free high speed internet access, complimentary mini bars, luxury airport transfers, warm welcomes to express check in and check-out facilities, you can be sure that Tribe understands the individual needs of just about any traveler! Adjacent to the hotel is The Village Market, the largest shopping and recreational complex in Eastern Africa, and Nairobi’s premier retail and cultural destination. With over 150 shops and services, set within flowing rivers and waterfalls. It is also home to the weekly Maasai Market which hosts 350 artists for a colorful display of crafts, paintings, beadworks and fabrics every Friday. Bringing a whole new pampering experience to Nairobi is the hotel’s Kaya Spa. Using carefully selected products, Kaya’s uniquely developed treatments are designed to harmonize both the body and mind. The six treatment rooms infuse a sense of tranquility through inspiring design and decor that is sure to contribute to the relaxation and re-invigoration of your entire spa experience. Tribe’s signature restaurant recently launched a brand new menu carefully designed by the Executive Chef and his team. Inspired by the open flame grill, the menu is a tribute to local farmers; paying homage to crisp flavors and fresh, organic ingredients. The Jiko team has also reinvented Tribe’s famous Sunday brunch; the perfectly constructed menu features an extended dessert buffet, unlimited breezy cocktails, amongst an array of other feasts for the entire family. Jiko authentically holds true to the glamour of the hotel while offering guests the delights of whimsy and fantasy through a playful approach to presentation. Located on the lobby level of the hotel, Suite 101, the new pastry offering at Tribe, is a place where you can come at anytime of the day. Using only the finest ingredients, the pastry shop offers an array of hot and cold treats ranging from custom and novelty cakes, decadent French macaroons, designer cupcakes, homemade chocolates and ice creams to bespoke sandwiches made using daily freshly baked bread. Whether it be for some intimate time alone with a tall mug of chai tea latte and a deliciously delectable pastry or a high tea with friends, Suite 101 is definitely a must try for any sweet tooth! Tribe’s serene, charming and charismatic surroundings undoubtedly place it among the most striking, and luxurious boutique properties on the African continent, guaranteeing to meet and exceed the needs of any guest from jet setting celebrities to time constrained business travelers looking to add an urban flair to their Kenya-getaways! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Odigeo, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, getaroom.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Tribe Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tribe The Village Market Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing