We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Safe Place” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Tribe Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Tribe Hotel
Ranked #8 of 156 Hotels in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence
Djibouti, Djibouti
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Safe Place”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2011

I found the Hotel very safe and I thing this is very important in Nairobi.
I read the reviews and I expected a really good Hotel, instead I found an average place with average service.
Wifi was for free in the hotel. Has ac, hot water clean towels etc.
The rooms were disappointing. In the mini bar was 1 small bottle of coca and on orange juice. The toilet has no door. A bit too modern for me. The bathroom has some missing items, like no toilet brush. Is raining every day in Nairobi but there is no kit for polishing Shoes. They do have a note saying that they can polish the shoes for you.
The room service are very noisy. I do not know how did they manage to slam the doors like this.
There were some nice people at reception and at the door. The staff of the restaurant was also nice. I would not complain for the service but the doors were very noisy and the room is not at high standard, rather average and with some weak points.
I have to say that I did feel very safe and It does matter. I would give 5 stars for this.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank iancu h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

691 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    381
    215
    63
    16
    16
See reviews for
59
118
54
380
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa
Level Contributor
94 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2011

Hands down the best business hotel I've stayed at in Africa. Though it's not cheap, it doesn't ding you for extras: the 24-hour business centre, in-room wifi, fine little fitness centre, concierge service, baggage holding, lending library and an excellent hot and cold buffet breakfast are all included, as are the first round of items from the minibar and nightly chocolates with turndown. While rooms have all the modern conveniences such as a rainshower, a variety of international electrical outlets, room safe and quiet airconditioning, the decor and incredible public artwork place you firmly in Africa, while the courteous, attentive staff remind you you're definitely in hospitable Kenya. Quibbles: my colleagues and I all had toilets that dripped all night and because the tanks are built into the wall, that was beyond our power to fix. There is no top sheet on the bed, only a duvet that was so warm I had to use the air conditioning instead of just opening a window. The lobby could sometimes be noisy till late - try to make sure your room is off the beaten track.

The Kaya spa is a world of its own, great value and very peaceful. Nicest sendoff of all: I checked out quite late, after 3 pm, and they didn't charge me for the extra half-day as I had fully expected.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FrancesOttawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larnaka City, Cyprus
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2011

I had looked it up on the web site and it looked great, but I didn't believe it. Anyway we arrived fine, we were checked in smoothly and the rooms were.......... just as good as expected. They were great.Open plan bathroom/loo which is not a problem to me.
Lovely big bed and great linen. Turn down service at night which was very nice.
All staff were really polite and smiley.
I have been stuck in the middle of nowhere for too long, but I have not forgotten what a good standard of hotel is like, so I had a great stay. Thank you

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank alisonmheyes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waimate, New Zealand
Level Contributor
64 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2011

Hotel was recommended so moved over. What a great decision. Newly appointed and close to the centre of Gigiri so handy to everything. Rooms are very well appointed and free wireless internet available. Menu has variation and very comprehensive. But the jewel in the Crown is the 3 minute walk to the Village Market next door and the comprehensive food court selection. Also some great restaurants and Cafes.

Room Tip: Front side rooms have a bath. 4th floor has a somewhat raucous bar
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Te_Kiteroa_Lodge_NZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mombasa, Kenya
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2011

This is one of the best boutique hotel in East and Central Africa.I got warm reception from the porters from the Taxi,got a welcoming fruit and the check-in process was that fast less than 10 minutes.The room was fabulous and a little heaven in heaven-it was like a small presidential suite.
I loved there dinner and breakfast,swimming pool is amazing.The overall hotel architectural design is very unique.
To sum-up this hotel is value for your money and i will have to go back before the year ends.Not forgetting Oliver from the reception desk was very helpful,Also Vivian from inhouse dining was very prompt when it came to room service.
Keep up the good service.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank shumas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2011

Amazing was pleased with every thing next am gonna take my future wife there ps love it

  • Stayed December 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JUELZ007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoboken, NJ
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2011

After a long flight from NYC we were greeted by the desk clerk with I have" some good news and some bad news regarding your reservation"....I had made the reservation via "Jetsetter "in Dec. of 2010 when the hotel had just openned. I reconfirmed the reservation 5 days before we left and assured that they had my reservation. After our safari driver had left indicating that we would be picked up at 7:00am the next morning, we were told the "bad news" was the hotel did not have a room for us and the "good" news was they had rebooked us at the Southern Sun Mayfair. After arguing with them about their lack of sincerity in the claim that a guest had gotten sick and had stayed in the room reserved for us, and requesting a refund of my money (which they denied)they finally agreed to provide us transport to the other hotel and a return in the morning so we could meet our driver. While the Mayfair was acceptible , it certainly was not the Tribe...I would be concerned about any reservations I had with this hotel and not recommend it for reliability.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank meowroman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TribeHotel, General Manager at Tribe Hotel, responded to this review, October 27, 2011
Dear Meowroman,

Thank you for your review dated October 20, 2011.

Firstly I would like to thank you for taking the time to share your disappointment. Your feedback is highly appreciated and valued greatly
.
I completely understand that all a person would want after a long flight is their hotel guest room; there is no excuse for you to have not had this at Tribe. I am truly concerned about how the matter was handled and I would like to assure you that I am personally looking into it with our Front Office Department.

I am pleased to inform you that we have fully reimbursed Jetsetter for your booking.
Please contact me directly the next time you plan to come to Kenya and I will personally make certain a memorable stay at Tribe!

Kind Regards,

Mark Somen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
3.1 mi away
Villa Rosa Kempinski Nairobi
2.5 mi away
Sankara Nairobi
Sankara Nairobi
#10 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 699 reviews
3.7 mi away
Fairmont The Norfolk
Fairmont The Norfolk
#4 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 791 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.6 mi away
Hemingways Nairobi
Hemingways Nairobi
#1 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 328 reviews
4.2 mi away
Sarova Stanley
Sarova Stanley
#6 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 939 reviews
7.1 mi away
The Boma Nairobi
The Boma Nairobi
#5 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 522 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tribe Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tribe Hotel

Property: Tribe Hotel
Address: Limuru Road | The Village Market, Gigiri, Nairobi 00621, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi > Highridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Nairobi
#6 Spa Hotel in Nairobi
#8 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
#10 Romantic Hotel in Nairobi
#12 Family Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Tribe Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 137
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set apart from the crowded city centre and a modern contrast to a city of colonially-inspired getaways, Tribe Hotel located in the lush suburbs of the city echoes nothing but the ultimate in luxury and tranquility. It’s sleek architecture and crisp lines are sure to set forth a brand new experience in hotel accommodation. Drawing inspiration from its African heritage, the interior of the hotel boasts exquisite art, crafts and furnishings handpicked from the farthest corners of the continent. Each of the 137 rooms is carefully designed to whisk you away from the average mundane hotel room into a world of chic and hip design with an emphasis on detail and luxury. An ideal destination for those craving increased intimacy and comfort with an added dose of personal service. From free high speed internet access, complimentary mini bars, luxury airport transfers, warm welcomes to express check in and check-out facilities, you can be sure that Tribe understands the individual needs of just about any traveler! Adjacent to the hotel is The Village Market, the largest shopping and recreational complex in Eastern Africa, and Nairobi’s premier retail and cultural destination. With over 150 shops and services, set within flowing rivers and waterfalls. It is also home to the weekly Maasai Market which hosts 350 artists for a colorful display of crafts, paintings, beadworks and fabrics every Friday. Bringing a whole new pampering experience to Nairobi is the hotel’s Kaya Spa. Using carefully selected products, Kaya’s uniquely developed treatments are designed to harmonize both the body and mind. The six treatment rooms infuse a sense of tranquility through inspiring design and decor that is sure to contribute to the relaxation and re-invigoration of your entire spa experience. Tribe’s signature restaurant recently launched a brand new menu carefully designed by the Executive Chef and his team. Inspired by the open flame grill, the menu is a tribute to local farmers; paying homage to crisp flavors and fresh, organic ingredients. The Jiko team has also reinvented Tribe’s famous Sunday brunch; the perfectly constructed menu features an extended dessert buffet, unlimited breezy cocktails, amongst an array of other feasts for the entire family. Jiko authentically holds true to the glamour of the hotel while offering guests the delights of whimsy and fantasy through a playful approach to presentation. Located on the lobby level of the hotel, Suite 101, the new pastry offering at Tribe, is a place where you can come at anytime of the day. Using only the finest ingredients, the pastry shop offers an array of hot and cold treats ranging from custom and novelty cakes, decadent French macaroons, designer cupcakes, homemade chocolates and ice creams to bespoke sandwiches made using daily freshly baked bread. Whether it be for some intimate time alone with a tall mug of chai tea latte and a deliciously delectable pastry or a high tea with friends, Suite 101 is definitely a must try for any sweet tooth! Tribe’s serene, charming and charismatic surroundings undoubtedly place it among the most striking, and luxurious boutique properties on the African continent, guaranteeing to meet and exceed the needs of any guest from jet setting celebrities to time constrained business travelers looking to add an urban flair to their Kenya-getaways! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Odigeo, HotelTravel.com, getaroom.com, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Tribe Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tribe The Village Market Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing