We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Boutique Hotel in Nairobi”
Review of Tribe Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Tribe Hotel
Ranked #7 of 170 Hotels in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 29, 2011

During my pre and post safari trip in East Africa, I stayed at the Tribe Hotel in Nairobi, and my experience was exquisite. The tribe staff has exceptional customer service skills, and everyone greeted you with a warm smile. The bar, restaurant, business center and concierge services were stellar.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pacemsi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,000)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

846 - 852 of 1,000 reviews

Reviewed August 21, 2011

We've stayed in the Tribe 17-20/82011.
A couple + 8 yo child, for business . A short trip to Nairobi. In our former visits to the city we use hotels in Karen area- the Giraffe Manor and House of Waine. Since this time we needed to be closer to the Westland area we chose the Tribe.
We the deluxe rooms were fully booked so we coukdn't reseve 2 connected rooms and we stayed in the Business Loft suite. It is a very nice suite with 2 lavels and we used the upper one as a sleeping space for our son.
The first night brought some technical issues such as TV problems, Coffee machine problem and long time of getting our room service order.
The TV could not be fixed till the morning but we were too tired anyway .
The breakfast was rich & testy. the dinning room staff is smiling all the time and ready to provide any request. The General Manager came to apologize about last nights problem and upon our request changed our room to 2 interconnecting rooms which were superb. Great rooms with a beautiful swimming pool view.
The General Manager helped us with some information we were looking for in connection with purpose of our visit to Nairobi. The concierge was so very helpfulordering car each day. She was very sufficent and friendly.
the gym was nice with cardio machine and basic strengh machine and dumbles.,
I would add a bence for chest press.
The hotel is one of the most testy decoreted I've ever seen. with lots of African art, amazing sculptures and fabulous fernitures.
The most important for me beside it's cleaniness and beauty is the hospitality and the friendly face you see everywhere all the time. The reception, the restaurant, the shop, the gym , the maids and the doorman- everyone smiles and ready to assist.
One comment regarding the taxi cabs- If you have to be somewhere take additional 15 minutes for the taxi to arrive, even if you ordered in advance. they are waiting in the parking in Village Market and they will only drive to the front door when the doorman inform them that you are present there.
very satisfied staing in the Tribe and we will defenately come back.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ariela64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2011

This is the second time I have had the privilege of staying at the Tribe and besides the stylish interior decorating and the boutique hotel atmosphere I would like to add the high quality restaurant. The Tribe has introduced a new menu one week ago and we tried the Salmon teriyaki and Caprese salad yesterday. The salmon teriyaki prepared by the Kenyan chef Paul is simply the best I have ever tasted outside Japan. Chef Pau should have his own culinary show soon. A heartfelt thank you to all the wonderful people who make this hotel a welcoming home in Kenya. Keep up the good work!Our stay has been just perfect!

Stayed: July 2011, traveled on business
Thank Bruno B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2011

I stayed at the Tribe in July 2011 and I have to say the hotel is one of the most unique and outstanding hotels I´ve visited around the world.

Being very nicely designed and decorated the Tribe displays it´s vibrant character in lot through the hundreds of carefully selected art pieces placed around the hotel, adding mystique and local feel to the otherwise warm and cosy atmosphere.

From the moment I arrived I felt relaxed and welcome, thanks to the staff, who proved super friendly in every manner and provided quality of service that went above and beyond.

The food, wheather it was breakfast, lunch or dinner, was always first class and not to mention the spa, which is a world of its own.

I can highly recommend the Tribe hotel, and staying there is truly exceptional.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Johann_Thorarinsson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2011

This hotel is sublime. It has the sense of a boutique hotel, with nice ambient musique throughout the hotel, perfect finishing touches, beautiful decor, great beds and rooms, perfect service, very professional staff. And it starts from the beginning: airport pickup is is very fancy Chryslers (the ones that look like Bentleys). I hate buffets, but oh-my-god, is the food good! The buffet is even better than that one in the Continental. Their desserts are gems.

The location is the only bad thing; its far from the center/Westlands, as it caters for the upscale crowd of all embassies and UN that comes in for business in the area (which is close).

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tribaluganda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2011

Everyone wants to experience something exotic in life. Tribe Hotel can offer that rare experience-- without sacrificing luxury.

Wake up to a vigorous workout at Tribe's petite but comprehensive gym with top-of-the-line equipment and even a boxing area, followed by a full buffet breakfast and a refreshing glass of tree tomato juice (which is unique to Kenya). If you are looking for more indulging activities, try the exquisite Kenya Gold treatment, which includes a coffee body scrub and a massage.

The pool area is also great to lounge around during the day, with bar stools built-in the pool. Don't forget to stop by Nest (the outdoor bar) for a cocktail and shisha in the evening as well. It is also next to the Village mall for convenient shopping. The Masai market is open every Friday.

I never expected to see anything like this in Nairobi. The best part was the hotel was decorated with numerous art pieces sourced from all over Africa, giving the overall lodging experience a wonderful tribal flair, just like its namesake.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephpoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2011

I have stayed twice at the TRIBE in Nairobi. For both, business and pleasure it is, especially compared to the more traditional hotels, by far (!!!) the most recommendable palce to stay at in Nairobi!

Both, the food and the rooms are of five star plus quality and are being topped off with an impeccable service.

The TRIBE can compete with international hotels at the hightes level at any time!!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hpbecker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
3.1 mi away
Villa Rosa Kempinski Nairobi
4.5 mi away
Fairview Hotel
Fairview Hotel
#3 of 170 in Nairobi
1,318 reviews
2.5 mi away
Sankara Nairobi
Sankara Nairobi
#5 of 170 in Nairobi
971 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.6 mi away
Hemingways Nairobi
Hemingways Nairobi
#1 of 170 in Nairobi
559 reviews
3.7 mi away
Fairmont The Norfolk
Fairmont The Norfolk
#13 of 170 in Nairobi
1,110 reviews
4.2 mi away
Sarova Stanley
Sarova Stanley
#6 of 170 in Nairobi
1,208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tribe Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tribe Hotel

Address: Limuru Road | The Village Market, Gigiri, Nairobi 00621, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi > Highridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Nairobi
#5 Spa Hotel in Nairobi
#6 Family Hotel in Nairobi
#7 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
#10 Romantic Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range: $209 - $266 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Tribe Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 137
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set apart from the crowded city centre and a modern contrast to a city of colonially-inspired getaways, Tribe Hotel located in the lush suburbs of the city echoes nothing but the ultimate in luxury and tranquility. It’s sleek architecture and crisp lines are sure to set forth a brand new experience in hotel accommodation. Drawing inspiration from its African heritage, the interior of the hotel boasts exquisite art, crafts and furnishings handpicked from the farthest corners of the continent. Each of the 137 rooms is carefully designed to whisk you away from the average mundane hotel room into a world of chic and hip design with an emphasis on detail and luxury. An ideal destination for those craving increased intimacy and comfort with an added dose of personal service. From free high speed internet access, complimentary mini bars, luxury airport transfers, warm welcomes to express check in and check-out facilities, you can be sure that Tribe understands the individual needs of just about any traveler! Adjacent to the hotel is The Village Market, the largest shopping and recreational complex in Eastern Africa, and Nairobi’s premier retail and cultural destination. With over 150 shops and services, set within flowing rivers and waterfalls. It is also home to the weekly Maasai Market which hosts 350 artists for a colorful display of crafts, paintings, beadworks and fabrics every Friday. Bringing a whole new pampering experience to Nairobi is the hotel’s Kaya Spa. Using carefully selected products, Kaya’s uniquely developed treatments are designed to harmonize both the body and mind. The six treatment rooms infuse a sense of tranquility through inspiring design and decor that is sure to contribute to the relaxation and re-invigoration of your entire spa experience. Tribe’s signature restaurant recently launched a brand new menu carefully designed by the Executive Chef and his team. Inspired by the open flame grill, the menu is a tribute to local farmers; paying homage to crisp flavors and fresh, organic ingredients. The Jiko team has also reinvented Tribe’s famous Sunday brunch; the perfectly constructed menu features an extended dessert buffet, unlimited breezy cocktails, amongst an array of other feasts for the entire family. Jiko authentically holds true to the glamour of the hotel while offering guests the delights of whimsy and fantasy through a playful approach to presentation. Located on the lobby level of the hotel, Suite 101, the new pastry offering at Tribe, is a place where you can come at anytime of the day. Using only the finest ingredients, the pastry shop offers an array of hot and cold treats ranging from custom and novelty cakes, decadent French macaroons, designer cupcakes, homemade chocolates and ice creams to bespoke sandwiches made using daily freshly baked bread. Whether it be for some intimate time alone with a tall mug of chai tea latte and a deliciously delectable pastry or a high tea with friends, Suite 101 is definitely a must try for any sweet tooth! Tribe’s serene, charming and charismatic surroundings undoubtedly place it among the most striking, and luxurious boutique properties on the African continent, guaranteeing to meet and exceed the needs of any guest from jet setting celebrities to time constrained business travelers looking to add an urban flair to their Kenya-getaways! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Tribe Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tribe The Village Market Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing