We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“coolest hotel in nairobi”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Tribe Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Tribe Hotel
Ranked #9 of 161 Hotels in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence
Michigan
Level Contributor
223 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
“coolest hotel in nairobi”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2011

great, beautiful hotel - very cool vibe
but super expensive
and they are kinda coasting on their cool rep
lots of little maintanence issues in my room
but, the management was quick to make most of them right very quickly

bottom line, for that price, stuff should be darn near perfect
if it's not, then complain soon -- and they will make it right

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank joesindorf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

835 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    465
    254
    78
    20
    18
See reviews for
74
151
59
457
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kisumu, Kenya
Level Contributor
44 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2011

Tribe is superb. It is stylish and comfortable and filled with friendly staff who will welcome you on a return visit. While I slightly prefer the laid-back setting of Fairview, Tribe is a great place in all respects and benefits from being located right next to village market. This is especially convenient when I am there for work and my family comes along, as it gives them easy access to something to do. Breakfast is very good, the rooms are very nicely decorated and comfortable. Location is near the UN and many of the embassies.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Verdel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2011

I stayed 4 nights at Tribe Hotel. The hotel is really lovely. The service is fantastic. I however, find the food a little boring. Will I stay ther again? ... 100% Yes.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OlatunjiA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2011

We stayed three nights at Tribe on our trip to Kenya before taking a flight to Masai Mara.
It is in a great safe location and we had great relaxing family time playing mini golf and bowling. Water Park was not appealing as weather was too cool for water parks. Food was great too and staff very polite.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jorefalo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2011

On the one side it is very hip boutique. Kinda like the African version of SOME Kimptons in America. The room is real small, but very cool. One or two nights is fine, but I stayed 5 days and all I wanted is desk space and less chic-africa. The front desk at check in guy was good the girl looked at me like I stunk. Maybe I did. Anyway, it was a biz trip. The best thing about the hotel was the Concierge. She is Kenyan but lived in Texas. She was fantastic. The food was just ok. The bartenders on the fourth floor were SLOW and Lazy. I was the only person in the wonderful outdoor space and it took him 10 mins to fix my gin and tonic. No kidding. The day before I came and many of the Indian guests were smoking that fruit stuff and I felt like the bartenders did not want me there because it took them 15 min to recognize me and then I ordered an cheese plate that never came. I left in disgust. I travel alot and I'm not a person out to get these folks, but the staff overall at this hotel is very unimpressive. Don't come here for hospitality unless you only need to speak with the Concierge.

Room Tip: Pool Rooms are best, but Loud if there is an event
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank LEADerPhilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TribeHotel, General Manager at Tribe Hotel, responded to this review, July 6, 2011
Dear LEADerPhilly,

Thank you for your review dated July 5, 2011.

I appreciate you taking the time out to write this review and express your comments.

At Tribe, we strive to maintain a benchmark of excellence in every aspect of our offerings. It is constructive criticism like yours that will help us achieve this.

The points you have raised are highly significant. I sincerely appreciate the compliments and will personally look into addressing our shortcomings.

I apologize for the inconsistency in service that you experienced and I would like to assure you that we aim to acknowledge and appreciate each of our guests in every interaction and I am truly sorry that we have fallen short of our own expectations. I have taken this matter up with the departments involved.

I do hope you will give us the opportunity to host you again soon.

Kind Regards,

Mark Somen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chandigarh, India
Level Contributor
24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2011

We were expecting BIG things from the Tribe- it's called the best hotel in all of Nairobi and I feel like it could have been much much better. It was not lacking anywhere in the service department, but the rooms felt a bit strange and I never really got comfortable. It would be ideal as a business hotel, but after three days- it was a bit suffocating. Not quite sure why they have those golden curtains by the rooms on the ground floor-makes it a bit tacky.
I think the food doesn't cut it either. It was all a bit boring, in my opinion.
On a brighter note, the NEST- the rooftop bar is great and we had a wonderful time sitting there just drinking some wine and beer. I would recommend having some bities available at the bar- after all we are paying a bomb to stay there!
One night we got absolutely NO sleep because the generator was on the entire night and it sounded like it was above our room and the AC didnt work and it was pretty awful!
Oh! and the mini bar was empty! Very odd.
The proximity to the village market is good, but I am not sure if I would go back there ,unfortunately.
Everyone working there was very friendly and professional and there were a few goof ups that they fixed in no time.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KismetJewellNakai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TribeHotel, General Manager at Tribe Hotel, responded to this review, July 4, 2011
Dear KismetJewellNakai,

Thank you for your review dated July 3, 2011.

We appreciate your feedback and all the points raised are very valid. I can assure you that I have taken them up with each respective department.

Being a boutique hotel, each of our guest rooms differ in layout and design. I apologize that yours did not live up to your expectations and hopefully when you are back here, you will be more pleased with your room.

As a hotel standard, the complimentary mini bar is fully stocked on the first night only. I do however hope that you enjoyed the other complimentary amenities we offer.

We are currently reconstructing our entire main kitchen, and are therefore operating from our much smaller banquet kitchen, which is why the temporary menu is rather limited. We plan to relaunch our new restaurant in September. I am sure you will be delighted with what is on offer.

I sincerely apologize for any inconvenience the generator caused you. We are actually in the process of acquiring a new one, which regardless of the unpredictable power cuts, will be able to accommodate all our AC units.

I am glad you enjoyed NEST and our service.
Please do not hesitate to contact me directly the next time you are here.

Kind Regards,

Mark Somen
General Manager

.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Londonderry, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
76 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2011

This is the third and final hotel i have stayed at in Nairobi because i dont need to keep looking for a better place to stay. The airport transfer was flawless, the room was awesome, and the free wifi worked great. I was impressed by the quality and style of the room and am looking forward to staying here again.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lthammari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
3.1 mi away
Villa Rosa Kempinski Nairobi
3.7 mi away
Fairmont The Norfolk
Fairmont The Norfolk
#6 of 161 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 933 reviews
10.6 mi away
Hemingways Nairobi
Hemingways Nairobi
#1 of 161 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 455 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Sarova Stanley
Sarova Stanley
#8 of 161 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,088 reviews
2.5 mi away
Sankara Nairobi
Sankara Nairobi
#11 of 161 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 835 reviews
4.5 mi away
Fairview Hotel
Fairview Hotel
#3 of 161 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tribe Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tribe Hotel

Property: Tribe Hotel
Address: Limuru Road | The Village Market, Gigiri, Nairobi 00621, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi > Highridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Nairobi
#6 Spa Hotel in Nairobi
#9 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
#10 Romantic Hotel in Nairobi
#12 Family Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Tribe Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 137
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set apart from the crowded city centre and a modern contrast to a city of colonially-inspired getaways, Tribe Hotel located in the lush suburbs of the city echoes nothing but the ultimate in luxury and tranquility. It’s sleek architecture and crisp lines are sure to set forth a brand new experience in hotel accommodation. Drawing inspiration from its African heritage, the interior of the hotel boasts exquisite art, crafts and furnishings handpicked from the farthest corners of the continent. Each of the 137 rooms is carefully designed to whisk you away from the average mundane hotel room into a world of chic and hip design with an emphasis on detail and luxury. An ideal destination for those craving increased intimacy and comfort with an added dose of personal service. From free high speed internet access, complimentary mini bars, luxury airport transfers, warm welcomes to express check in and check-out facilities, you can be sure that Tribe understands the individual needs of just about any traveler! Adjacent to the hotel is The Village Market, the largest shopping and recreational complex in Eastern Africa, and Nairobi’s premier retail and cultural destination. With over 150 shops and services, set within flowing rivers and waterfalls. It is also home to the weekly Maasai Market which hosts 350 artists for a colorful display of crafts, paintings, beadworks and fabrics every Friday. Bringing a whole new pampering experience to Nairobi is the hotel’s Kaya Spa. Using carefully selected products, Kaya’s uniquely developed treatments are designed to harmonize both the body and mind. The six treatment rooms infuse a sense of tranquility through inspiring design and decor that is sure to contribute to the relaxation and re-invigoration of your entire spa experience. Tribe’s signature restaurant recently launched a brand new menu carefully designed by the Executive Chef and his team. Inspired by the open flame grill, the menu is a tribute to local farmers; paying homage to crisp flavors and fresh, organic ingredients. The Jiko team has also reinvented Tribe’s famous Sunday brunch; the perfectly constructed menu features an extended dessert buffet, unlimited breezy cocktails, amongst an array of other feasts for the entire family. Jiko authentically holds true to the glamour of the hotel while offering guests the delights of whimsy and fantasy through a playful approach to presentation. Located on the lobby level of the hotel, Suite 101, the new pastry offering at Tribe, is a place where you can come at anytime of the day. Using only the finest ingredients, the pastry shop offers an array of hot and cold treats ranging from custom and novelty cakes, decadent French macaroons, designer cupcakes, homemade chocolates and ice creams to bespoke sandwiches made using daily freshly baked bread. Whether it be for some intimate time alone with a tall mug of chai tea latte and a deliciously delectable pastry or a high tea with friends, Suite 101 is definitely a must try for any sweet tooth! Tribe’s serene, charming and charismatic surroundings undoubtedly place it among the most striking, and luxurious boutique properties on the African continent, guaranteeing to meet and exceed the needs of any guest from jet setting celebrities to time constrained business travelers looking to add an urban flair to their Kenya-getaways! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Jovago.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Jetsetter, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Tribe Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tribe The Village Market Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing